We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, family run hotel”
Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Friendly staff, clean hotel and room, good breakfast & evening meal, lovely weather!
We all enjoyed our week long stay in the Kenton Hotel - the day started with a good breakfast and then out for a bit of relaxing on a local beach and body-boarding/swimming in the sea. Back to the hotel about 5:15pm for showers (which were hot enough) before our 6:30pm evening meal. Afterwards, a quick walk on the cliffs opposite or into Newquay for a walk around the shops (Newquay is about a 5 minute drive away and we always found a parking space). Back to the hotel about 9pm to enjoy a few drinks in the bar. The owners/family would be relaxing in the bar too and were happy to play you at darts, pool and cribbage. Finally to bed about midnight!
To summarise:-
Room was clean and tidy and checked everyday.
Beds and pillows were clean and comfy.
The dining room had lovely sea views. Meals were served with a smile and some jokey banter!
Nice/comfy TV room - oldest son enjoyed watching football on the big TV.
We all enjoyed a few games of darts, pool and cards in the bar.
It was really enjoyable to sit and chat to the owners/family and other guests in the bar, sun lounge and dining room.
Plenty of car parking to the front of the Hotel as well as in the Hotel's car park. We were happy to leave our car in front of the hotel as was safe enough as off of the main road.
There was a washing line at the back of the hotel to dry any swimmers or wetsuits.
Our dog and the other 2 dogs staying at the same time caused no problems to other guests. They all laid down quietly in the bar in the evening and no dog were allowed in the dining room.
The local beaches are fantastic especially Watergate Beach (only about 2 or 3 miles away, about a 5 minute drive away).

The hotel and location suited our family's requirements.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have lovely sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, it is very rewarding to know that all our hard work is worth the effort. I know you can't please all of the people all of the time but we do try anyway without much luck on some occasions it would seem. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a 3 night stay here over a weekend after reading ok reviews. Oh how did we regret it. It advertised a car park, however it could only hold about two cars and we were told that we may be asked to move it each day. The hotel smelt but I thought that was down it being a old building. Then we saw the room, a lot of dust on the skirting and headboards. Coffee mug stains on the side tables, curtains coming away, no net curtains, shower gel half used and horrible brown stains on the duvet. Bed not properly made either. It was obvious that someone had just left this room and then they checked us in without cleaning it. Disgusting. When we told the reception we were leaving she didn't argue or hesitate to give our money back. The receptionist was very nice, only good thing about the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank chrissiexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I am sorry you are not happy, not sure where all these nasty comments have come from to be honest, the photo's taken are very misleading and not quite as they look, not sure that one or two have even been taken in this hotel. You were given a full refund as your behavior was very suspicious, and we preferred that you left. We have had many lovely, friendly very happy customers this year, and find all your comments to be untrue and misleading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Found this hotel in a brochure on accommodation in Cornwall booked on route over the phone for that night .Slightly more expensive than the B&Bs we stayed in on our trip round Cornwall .The room was small and basic but ok the stairways could do with some smartening up .Breakfast was basic to .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I am sorry you were not overly happy, We never have claimed the be a 5 star hotel, we are indeed a small family run 2 star hotel which offers a homely friendly environment. if just booking a one night stay at the last minute you will always pay the highest price in any establishment and being a last minute booking may find that you are getting the very last room available which may not be the best room in the hotel that others have booked in advance and paid extra for. We serve a choice of full English breakfast, veggie breakfast or porridge with a selection of cereals, fruit, toast with jams and marmalade and choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate or herbal teas which I feel is a standard breakfast for a 2 star hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the views from the bedroom was great. However, the decor is very tired, carpets back in the 80s, and it smelt. Why, cos the majority of people staying have dogs, one or maybe two would have been acceptable but there were loads. Not a mention about dogs being welcomed when booking this hotel, but to find out it is compulsory - I think we were the only couple there without a dog. In the evening the bar ran out of beer and no replacement barrel was put on - Cans only - £2.65 for a can of Tetley? as I had no choice I cant believe I paid this price. Breakfast was fine - although you have to be seated where told - doesn't matter if you are there first or not, if you had a sea view from the bedroom you weren't allowed to sit by the dining room window. The bed was concave and felt like sleeping on a large muffin. The duvet only just reached the edge of the bed with no overhang so when two people were underneath it was far from adequate. Overall NOT impressed, whole place could do with a good clean and lick of paint - definitely not one to rebook - unless you have a dog.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackielstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do heavily advertise as being a dog friendly hotel in many places and even have photo's of our own dog on all websites and adverts, so I am very surprised that you were not aware that we are a dog friendly hotel. Whilst we make every effort to only allow a maximum of 3 dogs at any one time within the hotel on occasions people do just turn up with dogs without having informed us that they plan to bring a dog with them, in such instances are we to tell people they will have to leave when they are already here??
Unfortunately the Tetleys barrel did finish unexpectedly late in the evening and we did not have another in stock to replace it, so we offered a can at a much reduced price or an alternative drink, which is obviously your choice and not obligatory! The bed in the room you stayed in is a new bed purchased in the last 2 months with soft cushion top which was clearly not to your liking.
We do allocate tables in the dinning room to make sure that everyone gets a table, ie as you often see in cafes there will be several couples sat on large family tables leaving the small tables for 2 empty so that if a family come in they have no where to sit. As we have 4 rooms on the back of the hotel we do try to make sure that if they can't see the sea from their room they can at least see it from their table in the dinning room, if people ask for a sea view in the restaurant we will move tables so long as there are not already people sitting on them which on this occasion there were, so again am I to tell people they have to move because you would like to sit there.
We are a family run hotel and all work very hard to try and please everyone, after working with the general public for 15 years we should however accept the fact that some people will never be happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break at the Kenton. We had a very nice time and found the hotel's location perfect for what we were looking for, that being, outside of Newquay and very close indeed to the magnificent scenery, beaches. walks.
The breakfast is well cooked, filing and a good way to start the day. There is a bar at the hotel which seemed to be popular but we were out mostly and used the small selection of pubs in the surrounding area's. Parking is provided free at the back in the hotel car park.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because our room was at the rear and small but we were rarely there so it was not too much of a worry, the plus point being that the rear rooms get the best seats in the dining room with the amazing views.
I feel the hotel is well priced and I would stay there again if visiting the part of Cornwall.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Made welcome again, great food, great view and great company. True to their statement of "Kev will do it".. Kev didn't say no to anyone weather good.... Will be back on next visit to Cornwall......we even got to see dolphins

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroldewhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thanks for your company again, it was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are a couple who stayed for 3 nights with our 18 and 16 year old daughters. Got 2 double rooms. Breakfast included.

Breakfast - our daughters stuffed themselves and us older more health conscious mostly went for the juice, fruit and cereals. No complaints.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel.

Rooms smallish but we expected that. Clean. Beds good. Fantastic view out the front. Telly a bit dodgy sometimes. WIFI free - and it worked! (Better than some mega expensive hotels we have stayed at in Woolacombe for example).

We wanted somewhere on the outskirts of Newquay to base ourselves to explore Cornwall for a few days. Eden Project, St Ives, Padstow, Marazion etc. and it was perfect for that.

We briefly visited the centre of Newquay and marvelled at the tattoos, foul language and drunkenness. The men were almost as bad.

The pub on the beach at the bottom of the hill is OK. In a 1970's sort of fry and chips way. The Tapas place opposite is actually really good and good value for money.

We enjoyed drinks later in the bar and me and the girls had a great time playing darts.

Owners were friendly and relaxed (and I loved his guitar!)

The Kenton Hotel - great - and ideally situated to get away from Newquay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thanks for your comments. It is always nice to see that we are actually doing something right and people are enjoying their stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.5 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
955 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $71 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing