We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel; Very Family Friendly.”
Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I had stayed at this hotel 8 years ago in August 2004 - when we had only just met - as late 20 somethings. We had a decent stay then as I remember, perhaps just feeling a little on the fringe of things as most other guests were familys and it was clear the hotel back then was very family orientated (definitely in the old school tradition). So 8 years later, now married, with a 6 year old son, and deep into my 30's, we had a yearning to return to the North Cornwall coast once again.
I was delighted to find that the Kenton Hotel had availability for our summer break, although this did turn to some trepidation when I checked this very site afterwards. Because I was really surprised in all honesty to find some terrible reviews on here and even some of the good reviews sounded more like propaganda. We've never written a review of any place we've ever stayed at before, but we vowed to write a review for this hotel, however things turned out.
I should now come to the point and say that we found this hotel excellent in almost every respect and this makes those poor reviews even harder to understand? Like I said, we had no real problems with the hotel back in 2004, but it is clear that almost everything has improved since then. Our room was great, with fantastic views over the coast, and it was kept spotlessly clean every day. The staff (it's family run) were all warm and friendly and would go out of their way to ensure you were contented and comfortable during your stay. The hotel itself was also clean and tidy, and just as importantly, has genuine character. We found the food very good and the bar prices were more than reasonable.
A word on the food: This is a family run hotel (definitely not a B&B for the record), who enjoy looking after other familys and couples, and the food is decent and plentiful and probably hovering around the '2-3 star' quality. People have to get their expectations right; you shouldn't come here - having paid 2-3 star money (again, very reasonable tarifs here), and then expect posh nosh, 5 star cooking etc. That is just not what this hotel is about. We knew what we had paid for and the three of us looked forward to our evening meal (which is optional) every day of our stay.
To sum up then, we just could not fault this hotel after a week here. Friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of our room were the most important things for us and the hotel really shone in these respects. Quality of the food and reasonable costings were also very important, and our expectations were more than met. And it goes without saying that the location of this hotel is totally without fault; beautiful views on to a beautiful coastline, in a beautiful county. You can walk in a matter of minutes to Whipsiderry bay and Porth beach, and the famous Watergate bay is only a 15 minute walk (4 minute drive) away. The town of Newquay and it's beaches are only a 10 minute drive away and you are in the very heartlands of the UK Surfing Scene if that is your thing. And if it isn't, there are loads of excellent activities in other parts of Cornwall that are all within driving distance and loads of stuff that is family orientated.
Above all else you can enjoy the Kenton Hotel itself, where I found it very easy to relax in the warm surroundings, and I would definitely stay here again and would never hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thanks for a lovely summer holiday.

Mark, Suzanne and Zachary. August 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markmiller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your return visit with Zack and look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from yet another superb break at the Kenton Hotel in Porth...
With excellent views from this 'family-run' hotel, just a few miles away from the popular resort of Newquay, this quiet location is a perfect retreat from the noisy clubs/bars in the town.

On arrival, we were cheerfully greeted by Norman, his wife, Mavis and their Daughter, Laura who all work extremely hard to make everyone welcome...
This was our third visit to the 'Kenton Hotel' over several years and we have never yet been able to fault it...
Keep up the good work! See you all, as soon as we can...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your review, it was nice to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have visited the Kenton Hotel several times over the last few years and it has never failed to live up to its claim that it is a friendly, family run hotel. I have stayed in many of their rooms and they have always been clean, tidy and serviced every day. The food is always well prepared and any particular requests dealt with. Those are the basic requirements of any hotel. Add on the family atmosphere when the owners unobtruslively mingle with their guests and it becomes a most welcoming and relaxing place to stay. The fact that I sometimes recognise other guests prove that i'm not the only one paying return visits!
I haven't even mentioned the location - facing the sea, close to a lovely beach and with some lovely cliff walks - it is ideally situated for most visitors needs

Room Tip: Try and book a sea facing room for some wonderful sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you so much for you lovely review, it was nice to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

we have again chosen the Kenton Hotel for our tennis tour to Newquay--as always we were treated in the best possible way. All the family go out of their way to ensure that all guests have a good time. Food is very good and the views from the front rooms could not be better anywhere.The rooms are kept in an excellent fashion clean and welcoming i have nothing bur praise for this hotel and as well as our tennis tour i am intending to book again for a relaxing break later in the year,

Room Tip: see if a front room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rock1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, it's nice to know that you have had a good stay with us and we look forward to meeting you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

the kenton hotel is a very friendly family run hotel,,situated in a great spot seaviews are amazing,,food is great,,rooms are spotless and clean,, beds changed every day ,,well worth every penny,, great rates,,they also do great deals,, we go there at least 3 times a year,,we wouldnt stay anywhere else in cornwall,its a great atmosphere they make you feel very welcome and part of the family and best of all they will do anything for you,,

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room if possible amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The rooms are vile little rooms, dirty. They are the type of rooms that when you wake up you feel dirty where the bed sheets are so old. I have loads of bites all over me from the room, bed bugs. There is no ventilation and they don't let you eat in your rooms. No clean towels. The shower room was so small it was like tying to fit the worlds tallest man into a mini and it takes an hour for the water to heat up. I would describe the room as a old child's bedroom in a derolicked house even a prison cell is better that. The walls were so thin you could here the people snoring and doing the dirty next door. There are only 4 parking spaces for 20 rooms. There is also no disabled access what so ever!! The facilities like the tv were so old and small. We booked the hotel thinking we had a double room and got there to find a twin room with the two scabby little frail beds one of the matteresses had a wee stain on it.

The family. Well, they are rude and the man doesn't like you going out at night. They do give you a key but sit up for you to get home. He would rather you sit there in the rubbish bar and watch him play guitar. He had a rude sense of humor and kept asking for tips. He kept eyeing up my girlfriend and made her feel really uncomfortable.

They charged us £60 per night and I feel like it was the biggest waste of money. I would of been better camping. Cleaner anyway.

A taxi driver told me he had such bad reviews of the hotel and said we had chosen the worst hotel in the area and he was bloody right. I wish I had taken some pictures to show you however I never want to be reminded of it again. The highlight of the hotel was when I left.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

We are sorry if something upset this guest to the extent they felt it necessary to put such an unkind, untrue review on for us, and are especially shocked at the language used towards the end, but can assure you that the facts seem to be very distorted.

The room booked by this person was a small twin bedded room awaiting refurbishment, as such this was fully explained to the person on the telephone before booking and a reduced room rate was quoted in view of this, upon arrival the guest asked to see the room before paying for it and when shown it said it was fine and they were happy to stay!!!

I am not sure where they got bitten, but all our beds have recently been replaced as part of some ongoing upgrading of all bedrooms, and all our newly purchased lined is changed on a daily basis so bed bugs are simply not a possibility!

Unfortunatly during this guests stay they had the do not disturb sign on the door the whole time so we were unable to access the room at any time to provide fresh linen or towels etc.

We had a packed hotel all weekend and lots of very friendly people, who enjoyed their stay some have even re-booked for later in the year, so we must be doing something rite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Extremely welcoming and accommodating to our needs. We went to a wedding party and arrived back at the hotel at about 12.30. We were given a key to get back in. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliaob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank-you for your comments, I am glad you had a nice stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.7 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $70 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing