We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are we staying at the same place?”
Review of The Glendeveor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glendeveor
Ranked #8 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Are we staying at the same place?”
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Stayed on a bank holiday weekend and while the location is good (close to centre of Newquay) 'needs serious updating' doesn't cover it! Small rooms with tiny en-suites that are grubby, with cracked paint, faded bedding and horrible decor.

Couldn't understand how we had to spend so much to stay in such a poor quality B&B for the weekend! Realised when we went for a drink that Newquay was packed with stag and hen nights. Horrible.

Going to Cornwall? Stay anywhere but Newquay! Have to stay in Newquay? Good luck - even the Hotel Victoria looked grim, with the big wheel outside it for the weekend.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The accommodation!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fresh_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    119
    33
    6
    10
See reviews for
89
134
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We stayed in the Glendeveor Hotel for 3 nights in May 2008.

Our sea-view double room had a lovely view over Newquay and the sea beyond Newquay. The double room was extremely small though, and we found ourselves moving around in the room with some difficulty. Although the room was small, the en-suite bathroom was much smaller, and really put things into perspective. The en-suite bathroom basically consists of a shower and a toilet built into the space of a double-door built-in clothes wardrobe. The space in the "bathroom" is so limited that the wash basin is situated in the bedroom itself, as there is no space in the "bathroom". The shower suffered from a lack of water pressure, and the shower is very small - I continuously knocked my elbows on the sides of the shower.

We found the bedroom itself to be very clean. We had sufficient towels, even though some needs to be replaced as they are worn. The room had a small colour television, and there was a kettle to make coffee/tea. We struggled to find some space for our luggage, due to the lack of space in the rooms.

That said, I did look into one of the family-sized rooms, and they seemed much more spacious than the double rooms.

The hotel itself is situated on one of the busy main roads through Newquay. The noise from the main road is probably not a problem if you have one of the rear-facing rooms (in which case there is no sea view). However, we found our sea-view room to be quite noisy due to the traffic from the busy road below. The room did have double-glazed windows which effectively keeps the noise out when the windows are shut. The room was quite warm though and we had to open some windows, which also let the noise in from the busy road below. At night time, we had to choose between 1) leaving the windows open to cool the room down, but letting in all the noise which left us unable to sleep, and 2) shutting out the noise by closing the windows and trying to sleep in a warm, humid room.

The breakfasts were OK. We found the portions to be small-ish, and the quality of the food was OK (but not great). Breakfast is served at 8:45am when the bell rings and everyone queues up, like in school. As far as I know it is not possible to have breakfast at an earlier or later time.

One of the previews reviewers described the hotel as "OAP Coach-Tour Heaven", and I have to agree with that. There was a coach tour of pensioners (the youngest being around 50) staying in the hotel at the same time as us (we're barely 30). Although this made for quiet neighbours, it did feel like we were staying in an old-age home. The old-age home feel was reinforced by the dated carpets and the soft-pink shade of paint used on the walls of our room. (I have to add that all the pensioners were very friendly, and probably better behaved than a lot of the younger stag/hen night customers you will find in other Newquay hotels.) The pensioners clearly loved the entertainment put on in the bar every night, with entertainers singing songs from the 60's and previous areas. So, if you're younger than 50, this is probably not the hotel for you, but pensioners should really enjoy the experience.

(Just one word of warning to the pensioners: The hotel has steep stairs to the second and third floors - we often had to wait behind a pensioner trying to negotiate his/her way down the steep stairs. If you are going to stay at this hotel and have difficulty climbing stairs, please ask for a ground floor room.)

Officially the hotel has a 3 star rating, but in my opinion it is overrated and it should be somewhere between 2 and 3 stars. The hotel provides decent enough accommodation if you're travelling on a limited budget. I won't be recommending this hotel to my friends, although I might do so to their grandparents, if they were looking for budget accommodation.

  • Liked — The location - the hotel is very central in Newquay
  • Disliked — The very small room and the even smaller bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trompie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2008

My girlfriend and i stayed for one night and found the hotel to be a wonderful place id highly recommend it to others. Newquay has so many hotels to offer, but the Glendeveor is amazing value for money and all staff are very helpful, the room was very clean and a credit to the owners

  • Liked — Cleanliness and staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astramad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

whatever you do, dont miss Alan with his cornish bingo!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank catflea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

A very friendly staff and extremely accomodating group you'll rarely find. The lower rating is more for the fact that this is a coach-tour paradise hotel. OAPs are the norm and although everyone is wonderful, the tour groups are their primary customers.

Breakfast was fine - not like Mum used to make - and the bar selections were good (not great). The location is fine for getting into town but it wasn't party-town central (although we were told there have been groups that clost the bar down around 4AM, we couldn't see it from the groups we saw).

Everyone we spoke to on the coach tours LOVED this place. That's not our crowd or our "thing", but we had to agree that (after 4 nights) we liked the people but couldn't say we loved the place.

  • Liked — Excellent, friendly and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Our room was a bit of a sauna due to the lack of a decent breeze
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night with my husband and 2 daughters. It was a last minute booking and although when I phoned up the owner could only offer me the same rate I could have got on the internet at £140 for 2 double rooms although steep having checked out the reviews on trip adviser I was prepared to pay that bit more for what sounded like a great place.
My best comments are I am glad we had booked somewhere else for the rest of our stay in Newquay! The rooms were tired and not that clean, the showers didn't work properly they were either scalding hot or a freezing cold trickle. The mould in the bathrooms had been painted over. I wouldn't agree it is in a quiet location - we stayed on Sunday night and the hotel is situated on one of the main roads leading from the night life in Newquay which was evident from shouting in the streets until at least 4.30am! Breakfast was another experience. It is served at 8.45 when the bell rings and everyone lines up - reminded my kids of the school canteen! Unfortunately the food was worse than school dinners. If I had paid cheap B&B rates we would have laughed it off but in my opinion this hotel is grossly overpriced and in need of serious updating.

  • Liked — Close proximity to centre and beaches during the day
  • Disliked — Standard against cost
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsRBridgwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
849 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glendeveor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glendeveor

Property: The Glendeveor
Address: 25 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glendeveor 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us for a warm Cornish welcome. Our spotless 33 room guest house provides excellent value for money, with all the facilities you'd expect from a good quality B&B. In fact plenty of our guests come back year after year. Every room has central heating, a flat screen TV plus free tea and coffee making equipment. Many also feature gorgeous sea views. And we're only a stone's throw from Newquay's famous sandy beaches, great tourist facilities and pretty town centre. And, of course, there are lots of places to buy the famously delicious Cornish pasty! Famously balmy Newquay provides easy access to the entire Cornish road network. Penzance, St Michael's Mount and The Lizard are close by. And the magical Scilly Isles are easily accessible, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Glendeveor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glendeveor Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing