We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical location and superior apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcombers Apartments
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical location and superior apartments”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My son had his wedding at the Watergate Hotel on 14th September. The Beachcomber apartments seemed the logical place to stay as a 7 day stay at the hotel would have cost a fortune. I booked online for a 2 bed apartment with 2 bathrooms, one en suite, with a sea view. The apartment surpassed my expectations. The views were to die for. It was beautifully fitted out with quality items such as matching blinds and curtains in the huge lounge and the kitchen equipment appeared to be all brand new. The box containing the iron was empty and the hair dryer was old and grubby and when we mentioned it brand new items were provided immediately. The bathrooms were spotless and sparkling and looked brand new. The staff were helpful and friendly. The wedding was perfect and the apartments made the whole trip a holiday to remember. Definitely the best rental experience of all time.

Room Tip: Research as much as possible and look to see what other people say. Given a choice always get the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelcitygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    51
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent 3 days at Beachcomber apartments in August 2013. We stayed in Apartment 31, which had a sea view and large outside patio area. The apartment had one bedroom with two single beds and an en suite toilet. There was also a spacious shower room with toilet and wash basin too. The shower had constant hot water and good pressure. The living area was open plan from the kitchen area too which was equipped with fridge, oven, dishwasher and a good selection of clean crockery and cutlery. Even dishwasher tablets are provided. The main sofa converts to a full double bed which our 15 year old daughter used and found it to be very comfortable. The lounge had tv, dvd etc, which we only used while returning to our apartment etc. Some have said the TV's are old and the apartments look outdated and whilt our TV was not a flat screen, it still looked modern and whilst the decor was a little more old fashioned than say our own house, everything was spotless, comfortable and the apartment was a great base while we toured the area. Watergate bay is a 10 minute drive from Newquay centre. Watergate is very popular with surfers, which we are not, but the bay is huge with plenty of room to sunbathe, walk, fly a kite and of course surf. Dogs are permitted on this beach too. Next door to the apartment is a Pub/Restaurant called The Phoenix. They serve Real Ale, quality food and were a real friendly bunch. They do get busy in the evening, but will accept a booking if you pop your head in and reserve for later. Prices were really good here and the food was quite exceptional. Some evenings they have live entertainment downstairs, but this is quiet acoustic stuff, not loud or raucous. Just a mile up the coast on the way to Newquay, you go through another beach called Porth, this is a really good traditional beach without the surf and the pub there called The Mermaid is another great stop for quality pub grub. We also visited Padstow while here, just 10 miles up the cost and really a first class small fishing port made famous by Rick Stein and his Restaurants. We also went to St Austell Brewery again approx 10 miles away. Great to tour and they have a Bar Restaurant called Hick's Bar which serve really good food and it is suitable for all ages. In conclusion, a great location, quality accommodation and i'd stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Sea View are worth the extra, because they have either a balcony or patio area with tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkWellingborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Coming from the US we found this place through a web search and were thoroughly delighted with our apartment. We had an inner unit on the first floor overlooking a courtyard. Two bedrooms, one with a double bed, the other with two twin beds. There was also a sofa bed in the living room. Furniture was good, basic but comfortable. Kitchen had an array of cooking utensils, enough to make a meal, and plenty of cutlery, plates and glasses. Full size oven and cooker and micro, and dishwasher, but fridge was tiny under cabinet type with no freezer.

Under the TV, which has a good array of channels, were a selection of board games including scrabble and monopoly.

We spent a four day weekend, the beach is phenomenal and our timing was great as the temps were in the high 80f's, 30c. Each apartment comes with a parking space which is needed as watergate gets busy during the day and parking is at a minimum. There are some local restaurants and bars, as wells a J Oliver's place, but we didn't go to them.

Some minor flaws included some worn cookware, not enough towels, no tea towels or washing up sponge. net curtains would have been nice to have too as the only way to cool the place down is to open the windows, but then your neighbor has a view in so make sure the curtains are closed.

Laundry service is also available and we took advantage of having the staff do our laundry.

Overall we had a great time and would certainly consider returning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcon1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited Beachcombers for three night break. Can't fault the apartment- clean, spacious,well equipped and loved the balcony- felt like we were staying abroad. Next door was The Phoenix, a pub/ restaurant with outdoor sitting, lovely setting and food was great, huge portions and reasonably priced.- £8 for a burger meal, £14 for tender steak. The apartment are only two minutes from the beach, which is great particularly if you want to pop down for a quick bodyboard then back for a shower! Want to return again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have stayed at Beachcombers 3 times now and each time the experience has got better and better. The modern apartment we stayed in lacked for nothing (including wi-fi now) and the view was just brilliant. The lady at the desk was always helpful. Short walk to the beach meant we could come and go in wetsuits. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BADBANANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Just spent three nights at Beachcomber apartments ,Watergate Bay .The standard of the rooms was very good,clean,tidy, with everything you might need.and the position great 200 yards from the beach and good restaurant s The reception staff were excellent we were able to get into our room at 12 instead of 4pm.also you had your own parking place.Dave Ball

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this 3 night stay (in a sea-view apartment) through "Secret Escapes" at a very reasonable price. We arrived at 4.40 p.m. on 21 May, having learned that the check-in time was after 4 p.m. Unfortunately the office was closed, which was disappointing and annoying. I phoned the number provided and spoke to the manager, who said that I should enter the code given in my booking confirmation letter in the outside safe/mail box, where I would find an envelope with a key. I said that I wasn't aware of any code, and was told by the manager, a little grudgingly, I thought, that she would come down. Then, of course, I found the code, and opened the mail box, which contained an envelope with my name on it. Anyway, the manager came down, and we checked in properly. She was quite helpful from that time on. When you drive several hours to get to your accommodation, it is reasonable to expect that somebody will be there to meet you at the normal check-in time. So that was a negative, but soon forgotten.

Beachcombers is located about 150 metres from the beach, and each sea-view apartment has a partially (but distantly) obstructed, pleasant view of the sea from its outside terrace. We found the apartment to be very well furnished and equipped - it even had underfloor heating. There were a couple of omissions in our case - no bedside lamps and no brush or pad for washing the dishes (apart from the dishwasher) and no dishcloths. A lamp was provided immediately, and I'm sure the other things would have been supplied just as quickly had we mentioned them at the time. The showers had terrific water pressure and plenty of hot water. The one bedroom apartment had comfortable beds and a perfectly OK sofa bed in the living/dining room, all with good linen provided. It was just fine.

There was one important thing missing, however: a telephone. Since there is no network coverage for most mobile phones in Watergate Bay, there is no way to make telephone calls (for restaurant reservations, etc.) from the apartment, which was quite a disadvantage for us. Underfloor heating but no telephone.

Watergate Bay is a surfers' place. Whilst the bay and the coastline are beautiful, there is no real community here. It is not a quaint Cornish village. It is a collection of apartment buildings, along with a hotel and three or four restaurants, including Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen Cornwall", which was fully booked all 3 evenings of our stay. The South West Coast Path is on the doorstep, and not too arduous at all for a mile or so in either direction. Great views.

Would I go again? Probably not. Just because I am not a surfer, and I like to holiday in either in a completely isolated and natural setting or in a beautiful village. But for surfers, these apartments have to be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: It's probably worth paying more for a sea-view room, as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 78 in Newquay
376 reviews
2.9 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcombers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Apartments

Property: Beachcombers Apartments
Address: Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachcombers Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcombers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Apartments Hotel Newquay
Beachcombers Apartments Cornwall
Beachcombers Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing