We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcombers Apartments
Ranked #33 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have stayed at Beachcombers 3 times now and each time the experience has got better and better. The modern apartment we stayed in lacked for nothing (including wi-fi now) and the view was just brilliant. The lady at the desk was always helpful. Short walk to the beach meant we could come and go in wetsuits. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BADBANANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 150 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just spent three nights at Beachcomber apartments ,Watergate Bay .The standard of the rooms was very good,clean,tidy, with everything you might need.and the position great 200 yards from the beach and good restaurant s The reception staff were excellent we were able to get into our room at 12 instead of 4pm.also you had your own parking place.Dave Ball

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this 3 night stay (in a sea-view apartment) through "Secret Escapes" at a very reasonable price. We arrived at 4.40 p.m. on 21 May, having learned that the check-in time was after 4 p.m. Unfortunately the office was closed, which was disappointing and annoying. I phoned the number provided and spoke to the manager, who said that I should enter the code given in my booking confirmation letter in the outside safe/mail box, where I would find an envelope with a key. I said that I wasn't aware of any code, and was told by the manager, a little grudgingly, I thought, that she would come down. Then, of course, I found the code, and opened the mail box, which contained an envelope with my name on it. Anyway, the manager came down, and we checked in properly. She was quite helpful from that time on. When you drive several hours to get to your accommodation, it is reasonable to expect that somebody will be there to meet you at the normal check-in time. So that was a negative, but soon forgotten.

Beachcombers is located about 150 metres from the beach, and each sea-view apartment has a partially (but distantly) obstructed, pleasant view of the sea from its outside terrace. We found the apartment to be very well furnished and equipped - it even had underfloor heating. There were a couple of omissions in our case - no bedside lamps and no brush or pad for washing the dishes (apart from the dishwasher) and no dishcloths. A lamp was provided immediately, and I'm sure the other things would have been supplied just as quickly had we mentioned them at the time. The showers had terrific water pressure and plenty of hot water. The one bedroom apartment had comfortable beds and a perfectly OK sofa bed in the living/dining room, all with good linen provided. It was just fine.

There was one important thing missing, however: a telephone. Since there is no network coverage for most mobile phones in Watergate Bay, there is no way to make telephone calls (for restaurant reservations, etc.) from the apartment, which was quite a disadvantage for us. Underfloor heating but no telephone.

Watergate Bay is a surfers' place. Whilst the bay and the coastline are beautiful, there is no real community here. It is not a quaint Cornish village. It is a collection of apartment buildings, along with a hotel and three or four restaurants, including Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen Cornwall", which was fully booked all 3 evenings of our stay. The South West Coast Path is on the doorstep, and not too arduous at all for a mile or so in either direction. Great views.

Would I go again? Probably not. Just because I am not a surfer, and I like to holiday in either in a completely isolated and natural setting or in a beautiful village. But for surfers, these apartments have to be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: It's probably worth paying more for a sea-view room, as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break, in 1 bed sea view apartment. Location is great for Watergate Bay beach just a couple of minutes walk away. Staff were friendly and accomodating, apartment was a good size and perfectly adequate for a short stay. The decor was not really to our taste, a personal thing but felt a bit like sitting in "grannies lounge" , lots of mismatched wooden items , china was poor quality with stained mismatched mugs and odd glasses. Didnt really use the cooker etc as ate out. If staying for longer it would have been good to have a freezer rather than icebox in fridge. Didnt use the tv , but it looked very old and bulky. Wifi was very hit and miss and no mobile phone service . Would have liked a double bed rather than twins which is the only option in 1 bed apartments. Overall it was great value for money and in a stunning location .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justlimin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What can I say perfect location small bay close to newquay. Beautiful beach. Apartments excellent, great value for money. Stayed for 3 nights early may, weather not too good but the scenery made up for that. Rebooked for july

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roboxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend here last week (10th- 13th May), we purchased the apartments through an online deal website the deal also included a Cornish cream tea and dinner at Porth Veor Manor Hotel.
We were all thoroughly impressed with the apartments they were clean, comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped with utensils etc to help you through your stay. We had booked a two apartments and requested that they be next door to each other - through an online agent. Unfortunately when we arrived it became apparent that the two apartments allocated to us were actually separated by two flights of stairs and a courtyard. As the apartments were at full capacity unfortunately this error could not be rectified, however as compensation we did get a discounted breakfast thrown on our last morning - which was delicious. The location is excellent, Watergate Bay is stunning although I can imagine that it does get quite busy during the tourist season! There are plenty of places to eat nearby to suit all budgets although I would say that a car would be essential as Taxi's aren't cheap and most restaurants/pubs/takeaways etc are a ten minute drive away. Without a car you would be limited to the pub next door and Jamie Oliver's 15 restaurant which is fine but may not suit all budgets. You could probably walk to Newquay however I wouldn't recommend doing this at night time as the roads are not well lit. It would probably be difficult for two adults to sleep on the sofa beds they seemed to be a bit flimsy and would probably only do for one night. I would also bear in mind that the car parking spaces are a little tight and you only get one per apartment. There is a pay and display opposite as well.
Reception isn't always manned and the intercom system wasn't working which can be a pain if you are going from apartment to apartment or returning in the evening especially seeing as you are only given one set of keys - but this is only a small issue.
Overall this was fantastic value for money, good quality 'homely apartments in a brilliant location.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs try to book a room towards the front of the accommodation as thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajvinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had 4 day of excellent weather and accommodation. Apartment was at a reasonable price and very clean. Living room was bright with plenty of windows overlooking the sea. This was our 5th visit to the apartments and in a different one each time. All apartments have been excellent.also has free Internet access so you can keep in touch with family. Only down side is that there is no mobile network. You have to go to the beach to get a signal.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. All are excellent locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Waves Apartments
Waves Apartments
#29 of 78 in Newquay
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcombers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Apartments

Address: Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $78 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachcombers Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the hillside with striking views over Watergate Bay, Beachcombers self catering apartments offer a little bit of luxurious beachside living being just 100 yards from the golden sands. There's a choice of two and three bedroom apartments, including Penthouses. All have a balcony or patio and some have sea views. Kitchen and bathroom areas are modern and well catered for and bedding and towels for apartment use are provided. Comfy sofas and chairs and freeview TV pus free WiFi are on hand and there's free parking and storage lockers plus laundry facilities on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcombers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Apartments Hotel Newquay
Beachcombers Apartments Cornwall
Beachcombers Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing