We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”

Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Ranked #57 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Reviewed October 24, 2006

just come back from a 5 day break in cornwall, stayed at the Tregurrian hotel in watergate bay, its only rated a 1 star but it was clean tidy and food (breakfast) was excellent, staff were ok no problems rooms were good (room 8) small bathroom was only set back, enjoyed the area, visited fifteen jamie olivers place food was excellent well worth the stay, and an excellent location

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tg167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2006

We really wanted to stay at Watergate Bay as it is a quieter part of Newquay and very laid back but we also wanted to go to Fifteen for our first wedding anniversary. Sadly Fifteen was full and the Watergate Bay Hotel was way overpriced for a 3 night trip! We decided to stay at the Tregurrian for the location and had no delusions that it was anything other than basic due to it's 1 star rating - what we found was a little gem (and it's next door to the Watergate Bay Hotel). The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was small but immaculately clean and the breakfast was something else! The pool area was great and a nice change to the beach, the hotel has a pool/games room, bar and sauna/jacuzzi too. The whole of Watergate Bay is a beautiful place and the Phoenix pub which is next door but one do great food and drink. We would definitely go back and are planning our next trip already.

Stayed: July 2006
13  Thank Pinkemma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We decided to get away for the weekend and because we were late had only the bottom end guest houses or top end hotels available. Found this hotel advertised as a hotel with reasonable prices for b&b. Booking was easy via a web-based agency but contacting the hotel for directions etc wasn't. We found out that reception is staffed only for afew minutes each day.

We arrived late and incurred the wrath of th receptionist for not having told her our time of arrival. (we had in an e-mail). Her revenge was not proviiding the sea view we had booked. This led to a shrug of shoulders French-style.

The room was small and basic but adequate for our needs. With a car we were able to get out and about and use the room only to sleep in. I think over the three days we spent less than six hours awake in the room.

Breakfast is at 8.15am and the hotel was full so it was a scrum at the counter. Good choice and being self-service meant you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. Being early my partner and I chose a table in the conservatory part of the dining room. This overlooked the beach and an off-putting swimming pool which appeared to have all sorts of flotsam in it. Then a couple arrived and said we were at their table. Apparently you have to sit at the table corresponding to your room number. We were tucked away at the back of the room - a bit like our bedroom.

Dinner is at 6.15pm! The choice was steak or sea bass at reasonable prices but we ate out

The hotel is right on the beach and probably gets very busy in summer. Newquay is four miles away by either narrow road or coastal path. We had a great early morning walk to Porth and caught a bus back to the hotel for breakfast. Padstow is 11 miles away.

Leaving the hotel we had a run-in with reception again. Plans to leave straight after breakfast was dashed because reception opened at thier convenience.

Hotels had better get the hang of the idea that customers are their reason for being and not an inconvenience. We love Cornwall and are already planning a return visit before the end of summer but although the Tregurrian has a lot going for it until they sort out their attitude we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gwesty_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We have just spent three nights at the Tregurrian Hotel, and for the price we paid £178 for the two of us, it was excellent value. However, don't expect any frills - not even a hairdryer. It is many years since I have stayed in a hotel that doesn't have them - the in-room information said one could be requested at reception but for the three nights we were there both dryers were loaned out.

Also - take your own pillows if you want one more than an inch thick. I did ask for another pillow and did get one but not a pillow slip to go with it.

This is the downside. Now for the good. The food! It is described as a carvery but it was really self service. Each evening there was a fish dish and a meat dish - not a lot of choice but the food was good - meat and fish good - veg not overcooked. In addition there was always soup to start and cheesecake to follow (with Cornish cream), a small cheese board and freshly brewed coffee.

They are having a huge new building which should be ready by June but I can't say this bothered us in any way - although our room was at the front of the hotel.

The best was the bill - it was for about half what we had spent at the bar - we did tell them about it - and even then they had missed off the Sunday paper we had ordered (we paid that in cash) The Saturday paper we had ordered did not arrive - we were offered an alternative which we declined. Bar prices, by the way are very reasonable.

The staff (when you could find them) were lovely, except for the people on reception.

Included were tickets for Helligan and the Eden Project. Don't miss the Eden Project - it is amazing what can be achieved in a disused quarry.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Belindas-Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Maidstone, Kent, UK
18
Reviewed February 13, 2006

The Tregurrian has a perfect setting in watergate bay, one of the most beautiful stretches of beach in Cornwall. It is a hotel with a real feel of Bed and Breakfasts gone by, a cosy bar, regular tables at breakfast and dinner, basic but very clean bedrooms, the staff are friendly and the food is good. The help yourself fry-up in the morning is a particular favourite of ours! There is an excellant pub just down the road (The Pheonix), popular with surfers, which serves fantastic home cooked food. The Garden Breaks that the hotel offer are great value, and include tickets to the Eden Project and Heligan. We have stayed there 3 years running, in March every time, when the weather thas been glorious and the attractions not too busy. And we are returning this year too!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2005

This hotel overlooks the stunning beach at Watergate Bay - but be aware that seaview rooms face onto a busy road opposite the public car park, the hotel is next to a building site, and further along the road is a pub which plays music at full blast throughout the day. Rooms are basic but clean and breakfast is of the pre-cooked, serve yourself variety, so cooked food can be a bit leathery if you eat later in the morning. Service is friendly though somewhat amateurish. Drinks from the bar had been charged to our room, but were removed from our bill without argument when we explained that it was not us who had ordered them.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Beachcombers Apartments
Beachcombers Apartments
#30 of 78 in Newquay
149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kernow Trek Lodge
Kernow Trek Lodge
#4 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay

Address: | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $71 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregurrian Villas are 3 superbly appointed self-catering holiday villas just 100 yards from the sandy beach at Watergate Bay. Accommodation includes two ground floor bedrooms including one double and one twin room with an upstairs kitchen/diner and lounge with a sofa bed. There's a deluxe bathroom plus a separate toilet. The fully equipped kitchen includes a cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and separate freezer compartment, washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and board plus a wide range of kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery. There's a TV and DVD player in one of the bedrooms plus a widescreen TV and DVD player in the lounge. There's free WiFi throughout. The villas are fully centrally heated with double glazing and a smoke alarm system. There's also a safe. Bed linen, towels and tea towels are all provided with beds being fully made up for your arrival. Dogs are welcome in two of the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregurrian Hotel Cornwall
Tregurrian Hotel Apartments
Tregurrian Villas At Watergate Bay Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing