We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Short Weekend Stay 18 - 20 July 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Windward Hotel
Ranked #40 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Short Weekend Stay 18 - 20 July 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked our stay the week before based on the reviews of others on here. We had the last room available and although it was at the back of the Hotel we still had a lovely view over the hills. The room was lovely and clean and we had no problem with the room at all.

Have to say the staff were first class and very amicable, Clare, Stephen, David and of course Sue the owner, thank you for all your tips and advice over the weekend. I should add a very nice touch by the staff was a birthday card awaiting my wife on our return one evening, can only assume the staff cleaning the room had seen the other birthday cards my wife had opened and left on the side and sought to add to them.

Could not fault the cooked breakfast on both days. The view from the breakfast room is very good on the eye as it over looks Porth Bay. Plenty of parking as well. Great weekend for first trip to Cornwall since the mid 80's

Room Tip: Would love to have had a room at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steveracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    77
    24
    13
    16
See reviews for
21
179
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Decor dated, room overlooked the car park above the bar - which played loud, boring music, all for £108 per night! We had to leave at 8am for airport and were told we would be left cereal, yogurt and fruit for breakfast and that early staff would make us fresh tea/coffee - no fruit or drink for us!! The hotel is in a lovely spot and the staff were very good but it needs updating or a price reduction.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My partner and I just had a 3 night break,via group on,to the windward.we thoroughly enjoyed the stay mainly due to Clare,the young lady there who looked after us as though we were her own.because of Clare we shall definitely be returning.the rooms were lovely the bed was so comfortable.we are both disabled and Clare couldn't do enough for us.always greeting us with a smile and a friendly word.lovely breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Pick ground floor if you are disabled as stairs can seem steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Licoriche54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have just returned home from a 3 night stay at this Hotel and cannot fault it at all.We had a sea-view room with a balcony which was amazing, beautiful views of the beach and surrounding countryside.( it was that nice we didn't really need to leave the room).

The staff were a absolute credit to the Hotel ( Clare, Steve and Austin) they were always very pleasant and helpful and really made us feel welcome.

We will certainly be recommending the Windward to our Family and Friends and will definatly be staying ourselves again soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a two night booking, but only stayed for one.
Our bedroom was above the bar, which we thought ok, most small hotels etc close about 23.00, but at 02.30 it was still open and so loud you could hear everything as if you were in the room.
The walls are very thin, but you expect a bit of room noise in small hotels and b&b.
But this was beyond a joke, so we thought, let's move on and lose the money.
The hotel itself, is very nice, its clean, nicely furnished, and our room on the front, had a balcony over looking the cove and beach, so a wonderful sea view, so its a shame that we had this experience, and wouldn't Proberly go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My first impressions of this hotel were not great, the furniture in our room resembled the furniture my nan used to have in her spare room which was second hand and out of fashion already when she bought it in the 1990's. Also the rooms are cooled by ceiling fans which are very noisy to the point that the fan in the room next door kept me awake the first night.

However

All of this fades into nothing when you take into account the amazing people that Sue has working for her, every single person, Sue included, couldn't do enough for us and were always smiling and friendly. Whatever you wanted at any time of day, someone would appear to sort it out for you. Special thanks to Nathan who had to swap our TV for one that worked so my fiance could watch the football.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the hotel have sea views and balconies but they cost more. The view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

What can I say? A brilliant place hosted by fantastic staff!!
From the minute we arrived,we were made to feel at home by Claire,Steven and Sue
Had our complimentary pinks which was huge filled with gorgeous fruit and fresh mint. Our room was lovely ;clean and spacious. Breakfast on both mornings was delicious,beautifully presented and most importantly,hot!
We met such lovely people whilst there, who added to our lovely stay and it ended on a high when Happy birthday by Stevie Wonder was played as I was leaving(it is my birthday)
I cannot recommend it enough...don't miss a treat for 5 star treatment...Will definitely be back
Thank you
Sheena and Daryl xxx

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Whipsiderry Hotel
Whipsiderry Hotel
#16 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#8 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porth Cove
Porth Cove
#30 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windward Hotel

Property: The Windward Hotel
Address: Alexandra Road | Porth Bay, Newquay TR7 3NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windward Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windward enjoys a fantastic location, overlooking the award winning beach at Porth, a mile from Newquay and half a mile from the amazing surfing beach at Watergate Bay. The perfect location for exploring Cornwall, 3 miles from the A30 and only 4 miles from Newquay Airport.We have 10 recently refurbished and fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, finished to a high standard. A non smoking policy throughout but smoking permitted in designated outdoor areas. Plenty of secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Windward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windward Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing