We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watergate Bay Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$209
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$241
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$70
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Great Western Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$94
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveler rating
1,024
315
101
43
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,024
315
101
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving spacebeach hutwatergate bayswim clubcoach houseinfinity poolextreme academyocean roomjamie olivershot tubfront facingoverlooking the beachhotel restaurantthe main hotelfamily hotelschool holidayssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,423 - 1,428 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Very friendly, stylish and clean. Beach hut food excellent, breakfast great and the views from the living space are incredible, especially as the sun goes down.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJamesDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We booked one of the luxury suites to celebrate a special occasion but it did not match up to the quality that one would expect for the price charged.

I have no issue paying £370 per night for a suite, providing it's true value for money. However there was NO "welcome" pack i.e. flowers, fruit or similar (other than 4 small bottles of water in fridge); Limited selection of toiletries; No tissues, cotton wool; No magnifying mirror/make-up mirror; No mini-bar; No "bed-pull-down" service in evenings; No toilet roll holder; Bathroom door only shut if locked - not ideal; rooms are promoted as having satellite TV but choice was in effect very limited. No sports or movie channels etc - something even the most basic hotels offer nowadays; the "sea view" which is promoted as a major feature, was in fact interrupted by the large flat roof of the bar area below and the children's playground; also other guests using the path outside had clear views into the room; not sure why there were 2 empty picture frames in the room. Do guests really bring their own pictures with them? ; Last but by no means least, it amazed me to note that they even charged for newspapers.

Having said that, the level of service, quality of restaurant, breakfast etc were all very good indeed.

It's just that my impression is that by putting a bath in the middle of the room by the windows and installing two plasma televisions, they feel justified in describing the room as a luxury suite. It takes a lot more than that, and certainly it feels to me that most people booking the suite would expect a higher level of attention to the detail.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank steevie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Just returned from a 6 night stay at the hotel we had a super holiday. The hotel itself was modern chic in a beautiful victorian building. We stayed in an ocean view wing room which we were very pleased with albeit on the small side. However the view from the decked balcony went someway to compensate for this.
The hotel public areas were very modern and relaxing. The indoor and outdoor pools were average the indoor being quite small and dark and outdoor small with few loungers.
The staff were friendly especially in the brasserie / reception.
The food was excellent and well presented.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definately return.
NB THE HOTEL WAS OCCUPIED BY PREDOMINENTLY AFFLUENT FAMILIES AND COUPLES !!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CARLJACKIEMILLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

On first impressions, our room was great but on closer inspection, there were hairs in the bath, a constant hum of a generator in the car park and a bed that felt like it was going to collapse when you turned in it. Staff were ok, not overly friendly (bit too cool for school?) and it's very family-orientated so quite a busy and noisy hotel. We had dinner at the Beach Hut - again, very family orientated. The food was good but quite expensive but then you are probably paying a premium for the fantastic views over the beach. Breakfast was a big disappointment - it is practically all self-service. There are waiters but they weren't being very observant - we had to wait 10 mins for someone to take our drinks order and only then they did so because my husband went up to them and asked them to take it. Having to queue up and wait to make your own toast at the toaster was not great - it was a bit too much self-service for our liking and didn't make breakfast pleasurable. All in all, we felt it was expensive for what you get but then the location is really great so maybe that is why.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tottie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

All in all this is a great hotel.
Great location, good stylish chic rooms. Lots of nice attentions to detail; Ipod dock in the room, balcony view of sea etc.
Right by the sea and attached to the Surf Academy/ Jamie Olivers Fifteen restaurant etc
Has a relaxed feel to it. Staff all kitted out in "White Stuff" clothes as uniforms; looks good.
Ate in the Brasserie one night and the food was well priced and beautifully cooked/ presented.

Bar is pricey and doesn't cope that well with lots of punters in one go. Likewise the overall chilled atmosphere and belief that everyone will be so happy there means the front of house staff don't always appear equipped with the skills to deal with the unhappy guest.

Tends to cater for the more well heeled individuals and if this is you: go for it. Very close to Newquay airport so can get down from London quickly. However, more of a London by the sea than a taste of true Cornwall.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nobster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews