We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great get away for a few days”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have just got back from Watergate Bay Hotel and what a stay it was. Our room 52 did not have a sea view however it was a family suite room even though we were only staying as a couple and the room size was ideal. All the facilities in the room were all present and correct from a microwave, fridge, all tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and hair drier. I have actually forgotten my toothbrush and paste and the hotel staff even sorted out a travel set for me. Dinner excellent, Breakfast amazing, Gym, pool and hot hub fantastic. Can't wait to take the family back and enjoy some more chilling.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited Watergate Bay Hotel for dinner with family while on holiday in Newquay. We decided to dine in the bar on our last night on holiday as a treat before we went home and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is in such a lovely location and if the weather was nicer I would have loved to have sat on the balcony. The bar has a very modern decor and is extremely clean. During our meal the staff were very attentive and provided a clean high chair straight away for our daughter.

The food was delicious and portions so generous I could not manage a dessert! You could tell that the food was freshly prepared. I like the blackboard by the bar that shows the specials and cocktail of the day.

My husband and I are definitely going to book a long weekend at the hotel in the future if the service in the hotel is as good as the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxCat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We attended a wedding reception at The Watergate Hotel and stayed there for two nights. As this was to be short stay we booked one of the lower priced rooms (without a sea view) at £190 Dinner B&B for the first night and £155 B&B on the second. Disappointingly this room was very small with insufficient wardrobe space for two persons!! We just about managed for the two nights but if we were to stay longer we would have struggled as there just not enough space for our luggage and clothes!!

The bathroom was adequate and had a large walk in shower which was great. There was no fridge just a tray with a kettle two cups and sachets of tea & coffee. This was disappointing and compares poorly with what is on offer with other quality hotels.

We had breakfast and ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings and the quality of the food on these occasions was excellent.

The hotel enjoys a great position overlooking the beach (the decked terrace is very spacious & comfortable) but Watergate Bay is in my view over developed and has a claustrophobic feel to it. During our stay we visited Newquay but were unimpressed - it has certainly gone downmarket since I was last there many years ago.

In summary we enjoyed our stay (but this was mainly because of the wedding!) but felt that it was expensive. It's probably decent value if you use all the facilities (Pool, Treatment Rooms etc) but if you just want somewhere to sleep for a couple of nights I am sure better value can be obtained elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a few days make sure that you book one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really made to feel welcome. The pool and hot tub are great! Food really nice. Overall really good! I would come again.
Came for a three night Break eating in 3 different restaurants and it's great! They could do with some more car parking! And the electrical box in the room buzzes! But these are minor points

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 4th visit but the first for two and a half years. The hotel continues to improve and to delight.Previously the restaurant whilst pretty good was some way behind 15;no longer ...the food was great and to be honest more enjoyable than Oliver's 15 (which has gone downhill).
Also the investment in the spa area has provided guests with a beautiful room overlooking the sea in which to relax. A really good addition.
Must pay tribute to the front desk girls and staff generally who are really helpful.
Am already looking forward to next year's visit.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 which overlooks the road and can be noisy when they empty the bins etc in the early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here at the end of June for a big family get together. The facilities, food, rooms, views are all excellent.

We stayed in the coach house which was the most spacious holiday accommodation we have ever had. We had two bedrooms, the master was particularly large, a spacious hallway with fridge. Lots of storage space and even a little courtyard which was perfect for hanging our wetsuits.

The wetsuit drying room is a brilliant idea, the shower was so warm and very welcome as the weather was a little cold during our stay.

The pool and spa facilities are all excellent. Drinks are on the pricy side.

Only Two minor negatives: The beach was dirty and we had to step over the same dead seagull for the three days that we were there. There was also empty bottles and random bits of rubbish at the top of the beach which weren't touched during our stay (I believe the beach is privately owned by the hotel?)

The staff are very friendly but are seriously lacking on English skills! Even one of the receptionists wasn't too hot on English.

Would recommend!

Room Tip: Coach house has no sea views but are very spacious for all the clutter that comes with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Watergate Bay Hotel for 3 nights in early September and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel is in a wonderful location with fantastic views across Watergate Bay and only 2 mins you can be on the beach or in the sea. The hotel was busy during our stay and does attract many families but still has a number of areas to chill out and relax. Our room was well maintained with a comfy bed, small desk, TV & DVD player. We stayed in a room with a sea view so we had a small balcony with lovely views along the beach. Breakfasts are served buffet style with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, pastries (the croissants are excellent) and then a variety of hot foods all of which were very tasty (again lovely sausages).

Service at breakfast was very good with tables cleaned quickly and all food replenished regularly. It was equally friendly and helpful at the front desk and throughout other parts of the hotel.

Unfortunately we didn’t have time to eat dinner in the restaurant as we wanted to eat at Fifteen (we had a lovely meal and the restaurant is just across the car park) as well as try some of the lovely restaurants in Padstow.

It is fair to say that the hotel isn’t cheap but given the service, location and the variety of facilities (beach club, swimming pool, spa, gym etc) it’s worth it and we are very much looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing