We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watergate Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$149
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$78
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$99
$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$116
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveler rating
1,035
316
102
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
316
102
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving spacebeach hutwatergate bayswim clubcoach houseinfinity poolextreme academyocean roomjamie olivershot tubfront facingoverlooking the beachhotel restaurantthe main hotelfamily hotelschool holidayssea view
Filter
Updating list...
998 - 1,003 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Attended an early breakfast business meeting at the Hotel and can highly recommend as a business venue.
Excellent, well appointed meeting room with a stunning panoramic beach/sea view which can be both distracting and inspirational!
Excellent light breakfast - bacon/egg rolls, pastries, coffee/tea and juice, followed by more coffee and warm nutty cookies - heavenly!
The only slight downside could be parking - its a very busy place so finding a space could be a challenge, but worth it!

Room Tip: Car sharing with business colleagues would be a good tip if using the Watergate as a business venue
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrulyReviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We got married at watergate bay hotel in May 2009 and had the most amazing time: wonderful setting, fantastic service and heavenly rooms. Family and friends stayed at the hotel, too. Haven't stopped recommending the hotel since then. So it was disappointing on a celebratory anniversary meal this end May bank holiday weekend to be greeted with decidedly average waitress service. Waitress who served us barely smiled, and looked, frankly, bored and disinterested in making our dining experience a pleasure. Our main course was cleared at 9.45pm. We waited for the offer of dessert, or menus to peruse. Nothing. When I finally got her attention at 10pm to ask for the dessert menu she went away and came back some minutes later telling me that the kitchen closed at 10pm, although we could see that the lights were still on and staff present. We would have ordered dessert well before 10pm if the option had been offered. She did not apologise for not offering earlier, and she didnt offer to ask the chefs to push us through a speedy dessert. I, being a typical Brit, didn't complain and went to the bar to buy some chocolate bar treats instead. Not quite the same! Sadly this half hearted service marred a rare (we are parents of young children) evening out together, and especially one in our favourite place. The location will always be amazing but no good if you don't hire the right people and train them to make people feel their money is being well spent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsF103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in May, had an excellent time, facilities, whether leisure, bar, restaurant are excellent, really good food and just a perfect place to unwind or go off and explore.

Would I go back, without a doubt but there are couple of things they could do to just to make it even more perfect.

Twice over the weekend in perfect weather we were enjoying lunch and a drink on the terrace - and both times the fresh air was spoilt by a minority of smokers. What a fantastic out door location with a perfect view suddenly spoilt, we weren't the only table to annoyed. Can the non smoking hotel make their perfect area even more perfect by banning it in this area as well.

We also noticed that the service was quite slow in the living space, having to chase up service a couple of times, this wasn't a real issue.

We booked a better room but decided to arrive a day early the hotel had a standard room available and we were more than happy to move, they also made it seamless. However, I didn't feel the difference between room 6 and 7 which was basically just a bath and was un noticeably was justified by the extra cost. especially as the cheaper room had an outdoor area.

Overall I am really pulling out minor issues (apart from the smoking which really should be dealt with) and I have given this hotel a deserved 5.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank onthepiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having stayed in this Hotel numerous times sine the early 1990's we have seen many changes over the years but the Hotel lives up to expectaions every time. The rooms, food, staff & of course the view are all exceptional & the beach is a wonderful stretch of golden sand which is a must to walk on. We always feel ourselves relax & unwind as soon as we step through the Hotel doors & the ambience of the Hotel certainly helps us to do this. All in all a truly wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must if at all possible, especially those in the ocean wing floors 2 & 3
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very cool chilled hotel. Breakfast, Beach Hut, living space (go to the bit near the spa if you want a more chilled out experience) and rooms were all lovely. It's definitely the nicest place to stay in that locality. We had a mixed first impression as we parked in back car park and entered the hotel that way...it's pretty scruffy and we just hoped this wasn't a taste of things to come...it wasn't but that is one thing that could be improved...

Room Tip: We can recommend the Ocean View room...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews