We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watergate Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Enjoying a nice spot away from Newquay this old building has been extended to maximise the sea views and now has a wonderful pool overlooking the sea.
We went in winter so spent a lot of time chilling out indoors. The indoor decor and the rooms are really nice and there are lovely big sofas to chill out.
We ate in the restaurant a couple of times as well as breakfast and the food was always of a good standard.
All in all a really nice winter break and we would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlSensible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    279
    95
    40
    27
See reviews for
359
655
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stunning hotel right on the beech with Jamie Oliver's 15 restaurant a matter of 50 metre away.

A lovely airy hotel with great spa and lounge area and a stunning position overlooking Watergate Bay. The Hotel is dog friendly which I was concerned about (as we are dogless) but it didn't make any difference. Both dogs and owners were very well behaved!

The room was spacious, bright and very comfortable. The staff are an absolute delight. My only gripe was the staff in the lounge bar were not the quickest at processing orders for drinks and food, but with such lovely views, there was plenty to keep you content whilst you waited.

We visited in January but surprised the hotel was 70% occupied, which was just about right, more than enough room in bar, pool, car park etc. However in height of season in might get a little more crammed.

However I could still live with that to get that wonderful Cornish chill out feeling in smart fun luxury.

Just can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

An excellent hotel in a beautiful bay setting in Cornwall. Service was really top-notch. One word of caution ( well a few) is that some adults may find it a bit too child and dog friendly. The food was very good, and the breakfast buffet particularly so.

Room Tip: pay a bit more and go for #21
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StAlbansBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lovely hotel, brilliant location and plenty to keep everyone happy. Great facilities including kids area, gorgeous swim club and beautiful open spaces with breathtaking views to chill out and fill up on delicious food! (Amazing frozen blueberry yoghurt - never tasted anything like it!) Room was a bit on the dark side but clean, well presented and fantastic having a separate room for kids. Was apprehensive about listening service but worked brilliantly and allowed us to enjoy relaxing evenings in the bar and restaurants - food was excellent. Total hit all round, loved the beach location and will definitely go back for another holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

we were a family of 5 Travelling with our puppy. There are particular rooms where you can stay with a dog we had two interconnecting ocean view rooms. previously we have had a family room but with 2 teenagers the bunk beds were snug and the second bathroom in two separate rooms is really welcome. The rooms are fresh, modern and comfortable. We had one standard room and one better room. the better room was slightly bigger so 3 of us slept in here, there was also a separate shower and larger bath otherwise the facilities and toiletries were the same. The toiletries were from their spa and plentiful in large bottles, a reasonable hair dryer is also provided as well as DVD player, iPod dock, ironing board and tea, coffee, hot chocolates etc however there are no biscuits, no fridge or fresh milk. We really missed a fridge for keeping our water bottles in for night and some wine for pre dinner getting ready drinks. The family room did come with a fridge and mini kitchen and we missed this facility (or at least a fridge). it was cold during our stay but the heatin was efficient, I didn't see any air conditioning unit for summer. we stayed 3 nights and the first night I found the buzzing from an electrical box in the room really disturbing. however I didn't seem to hear this on the following nights.

we booked one night half board and this was our best evening for food, the choice, presentation and taste was excellent. We tried to book a further night but if you do not pre book half board it costs £28 pp. The restaurant is very relaxed, not dressy but has a nice ambiance in the evening. he restaurant is also used for breakfast, a little bit busy, buffet style simple breakfast food is served. It would have been nice to have a fully served option or a change of menu for time to time. on our third day we decided to go to 15 for breakfast. The cost of breakfast is reasonable, the views are beautiful and the open kitchen was interesting to watch, definitely recommended. The food we had in the lounge was variable. The menu does not change so options can be limited. the steak sandwich was really chewy so much so that we gave it to the dog. Other food was ordinary and a few dishes really nice like feta and squash salad. The beach hut was nice probably over priced but enjoyable. Overall I would have liked some more specials on the menus that were not fish and a bit more spice/ vegetarian options. We visited padstow 20 mins drive and visited rick steins chip shop which was nice for a short trip out otherwise we spent a lot of time at watergate bay itself.

Other facilities like the pool and changing areas were great, I had a facial which was excellent and sent me to sleep. The lounge areas were informal and comfortable. I had a couple of cocktails which were not great but the wines that we tried were all nice. you can spend time on the beach, in the hot tub etc. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Kids clubs were a mixed bag as when we discovered them they were great but finding out about them was difficult. the games room next to the lounge which was normally quiet was not where kids activities took place these were in separate rooms behinds the stairs which we did not discover for two days. When we did find them and walked in during a cupcake decorating workshop it was excellent but I am still unclear what had to be pre booked and what activities were for particular ages. There were two clubs under 8s and over 8s the under 8s seemed busy but the over 8s was less transparent you had to book for the evening but could walk in during the day. The schedule said things like beach games AM but did not say what time etc. In the evenings there were films but the film was not advertised in advance etc so kids could choose whether to go. However although the organisation/ information was not good once we had signed my daughter in for the evening she loved it they played wii watched a movie and had hot chocolate with marshmallows, sweets and hot dogs. There was also a kids tea for £8.50 this was good for young ones and buffet style. one thing I found annoying was that the pool tables balls, table football and table tennis bats had to be collected from reception for a deposit. As I wasn't carrying cash this was an inconvenience and made spontaneous games difficult. I realise some things may go missing but in the grand scheme of things a bit more trust would make it feel more homely and encourage guests to use these facilities.

I would return to watergate bay and would next time find out much more about the kids club schedule and activities at the outset and book half board in advance. The area and the hotel are both beautiful.

Room Tip: Family room for young children includes kitchen facility, otherwise interconnecting rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Watergate Bay Hotel is simply stunning, large, airy and modern with a contemporary feel to it . We called in for light refreshments and what a great choice it was to do so.. The staff in the bar were very pleasant and the apple juice I was served was absolutely divine. The bar and it's dining area are large and airy with a mixture of seating from stools, sofa's and armchairs and one table was set into an amazing shelfing unit which had board games like Scrabble on it's shelves. We were very fortunate on our visit that the weather was sunny and that we were able to sit outside and it was just beautiful, a large decked area with wicker and wooden furniture that offered absolutely stunning views from it's glass surrounds of the amazing beach and the immediate area. We were kindly shown around by a member of staff and the hotel has treatment rooms and a beautiful infinity pool of which they are rightly very proud of. . Across the car park is Jamie Oliver's 15 restaurant and on the beach front the Venus cafe and The Beach Hut. Cannot wait to go back and experience again what this beautiful hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flicks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just got back from a couple of days away from this hotel and it was wonderful.
There were 6 adults and 6 children and we were very well looked after. The kids club was great and the children were will cared for with lots to do.

It was the first time I had used a baby listening service and I felt she was safe while I was having dinner. Staff were amazing, the waiter who served us dinner and breakfast was top class and the hotel itself was very comfortable. Well done Watergate will be coming back in the not too distance future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watergate Bay Hotel gives you all the great things you'd find in a mountain resort - on a beach! It's an awesome mix of adrenalin sports, gorgeous accommodation, great places to eat and drink, inspiring people and a relaxed vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing