We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I book a couple of nights here after stopping in for coffee in the summer and loving the atmosphere of the place. We had a fantastic stay, the staff we extremely helpful and friendly and we were even offered to use the swim club for free on the day we were checking out, we stayed in the coach house and were very pleasantly surprised with the room size.

We will definitely be returning to this marvellous hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katieeeppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    293
    98
    41
    29
See reviews for
378
690
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a fab hotel with stunning views, dog friendly, very helpful staff, gorgeous rooms, lovely breakfast, we had an amazing stay! Nothing was too much trouble! Will definitely be visiting again! Excellent all round hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have just returned from a short break in Cornwall and stayed here for 3 nights with our 5 month old son. We were only meant to be staying for 2 nights but liked it so much that we asked to stay another night.
I cannot fault the service. We were warmly welcomed and even though we were early our room was ready for us. The reception staff were always very helpful and answered any query as quickly as possible. We stayed in one of the 'best sea view' rooms and it was great, spotlessly clean and lovely decor. The freestanding bath in the room that you could lie in and look over the bay was amazing. When we booked I had requested that we were allocated a room on the second floor (based on other reviews on here) and we were given a room on the second floor. We moved rooms for the third night but only to the one next door which was equally as nice. The housekeeping staff moved all of our luggage for us and couldn't have been more helpful. We ordered room service one night and the service was quick and friendly. It was also refreshing to find out that there wasn't an additional charge on top of the normal menu price for room service.
There are some negative comments on here regarding children at the hotel. The hotel is a family hotel and the staff were all great with our baby. There were some children there who were mainly pre-school age. They were all well behaved (for little children!) and I didn't notice any disinterested parents anywhere. We stayed midweek so I can't comment on school holidays or weekends.
The infinity pool is a lovely place to watch the sunset in the evening as is the outdoor hot tub. There are family swim times and adult only swim times too. We took our baby swimming a couple of times. On the second occasion we were made to feel slightly uncomfortable by a couple of the other adults using the pool even though it was still during the family swim session. That was a shame as we were quiet and made a big effort to keep out of their way so we didn't disturb them.
The food (quality and choice) and service at breakfast was great. It was in the Living Space too.
All in all we had a lovely break and highly recommend this hotel. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIZZI_LIZZI79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hethersett, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

lovely hotel and excellent staff drinks a little dear but what do you expect in uk .Entertainment well plenty to do and join in with if you want pool and spa with nice local beach and nearby walks,Plenty to see locally mostly within a 20-30 minutes drive
Years ago stayed in self catering flats which are a high standard and of course you can use all hotel facilities and dine at the hotel if you wish

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 day Taste of the Bay - this is the third visit but the first since the new spa opened. Watergate Bay is a gorgeous getaway in beautiful relaxed surroundings. Yes there are lots of children in the hotel, but this is the seaside so what do you expect?! However what made this trip was the newly opened spa which is amazing. I had two hours of treatments - massage, body scrub and manicure. All of a good standard in lovely treatment rooms. The lounge area of the spa is fabulous - views to die for, lots of sofas, rugs to wrap yourself up in and a roaring fire. I could have spent the whole 3 days there and actually got up early every day so I could use the pool and then have a cup of tea afterwards by the fire. Only a few small gripes: no drinking water in the rooms and the evening meal in the hotel restaurant was very dull, which is odd as the bar food in the hotel lounge is good - imaginative and tasty - are there separate kitchens? I always leave Watergate Bay feeling very relaxed, with the memory of having had a real break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbaramayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Booked our trip to watergate bay as a romantic long weekend for my husband's birthday.

We had a good stay- the surrounding area is great, my issue with the hotel was that some things were amazing and others weren't great- it just wasn't consistent with the standard I had expected (having seen it recently reviewed in Elle and the Evening Standard)

Highs..
The views from the pool/lounge area
Situation on the beach, near Jamie Oliver's Fifteen, close to Padstow
Gorgeous decor in newly refurbed areas
Comfortable bedroom, clean new bathroom
Amazing Friday night 2 piece band.. 2 talented guys, not cheesy hotel fare!
Relaxed informal atmosphere, friendly staff
Choice of background music throughout hotel

Lows..
May have done more to accommodate request for sea view
No provision for breakfast in bed- even when calling to request- very unusual!
Pool area could really have benefitted by additional facilities- the newly done infinity pool is amazing but sauna or steam room would have done much to add value to the experience
I have never stayed in a hotel with so many children.. They were everywhere at all times.. The hotel rates are not cheap.. And screaming kids at breakfast, in the pool and lounge areas did much to take away from the luxury/relaxation I had hoped for

After 3 days of wondering where all the children had come from, only at check out did I realise a notice advertising 'kids go free at low season'

Whilst this is great news for young families, had I known in advance, I would not have booked as a romantic break

Whilst the stay was nice, I wouldn't strongly recommend to friends.. Unless they are taking their kids with them

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sara1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has both great points and, in my view, some points to address.

I'll start with the good points. The decor is perfect for the location. The beach / New England style is lovely. The bedrooms are stunning and very comfortable. All that you need is supplied. The food is also brilliant. We had snacks in the bar and ate in the restaurant, both were very good. The pool and downstairs bar / lounge were the highlight for me though, watching the sunset over Newquay by a nice fire was wonderful.

So now for the bad. In one word, children. To be fair, the nuisance they cause is a direct result of wealthy disinterested parents failing to engage with their children. They are left to run around the restaurants whilst ma and pa read the papers, spend time on their ipads or find another way to ignore them. This is not discouraged by the hotel. Staff told us that as they advertise themselves as a family hotel, there is nothing they can do.

In short therefore, if screaming kids are not for you, ensure you don't come here over the weekend or during school holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellierow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing