We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, breath-taking and faultless.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is our fourth visit this year to this fabulous hotel. Everything is perfect. The rooms are spacious, clean airy and bright. The dining room has a lovely choice and is served beautifully, The pool is amazing,this morning was breath-taking looking out over the whole bay as you swim.Not to mention the staff who are pleasant, helpful and polite. Once again I have planned my next visit before I have checked out.

Room Tip: We have tried 4 rooms all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatergateBay, Director at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We're delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and thank you for the review, we really appreciate your comments.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit

With best wishes

Judi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had an amazing time! Recommended to us by two separate friends, we found the hotel staff to be very friendly and attentive. The room had a great sea view and is ideally located with lovely views.

The restaurants were good and offered excellent food. Breakfast buffet was plentiful, and the leisure cafe was a great place to relax with a coffee.

We had a good swim in the pool and ventured out in the cold to the hot tub which was lovely. We had a good few walks on the beach which can be extensive when the tide is out.

Overall we loved the hotel, and wouldn't hesitate in returning in the future. We came home feeling extremely relaxed, which was exactly what we were hoping for.

Room Tip: Pay the extra if you can for an ocean view.....well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandPSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatergateBay, Director at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, we really appreciate your comments.

I hope we'll be able to welcome you back before too long.

With best wishes

Judi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

As with other recent reviewers we stayed here for the 3-night Taste of the Bay experience, which was recommended to us. Our room was absolutely lovely, being in the round turret on the end of the hotel. We had paid a small supplement for a partial sea view and that is exactly what we got, with one of the windows overlooking the bay. Here, however, is my first small criticism - there was only one comfortable chair in the room in which to sit and look at the view. There was plenty of space for another, or even a small sofa, but the only other chair was of the hard plastic variety, most uncomfortable.
The room was extremely clean with a modern decor and the bathroom was beautifully fitted out. Small criticism number 2 is that the bathroom was uncomfortably hot, day and night. It was not possible to adjust this at all, although it was possible to adjust the temperature in the bedroom.

There was tea and coffee making facilities with a good range of products available. Small criticism number 3 is that the tray containing the kettle etc was actually located inside the wardrobe on a sliding tray. This took up a lot of the hanging space and in fact the wardrobe in our room (number 7) was very bad. It was built into a corner of the room and had small double doors. The width of these gave access to the kettle and a couple of shelves underneath, the safe, which was on a shelf above the kettle and less than a foot of hanging rail. There were more shelves further into the wardrobe, but the only way to access these was to fight your way through the hanging items, and even then I had to use a torch to find the item I wanted! The only other storage in the room is 4 very shallow drawers - fine for undies etc, but no good for even 1 jumper. Another door giving access to this end of the wardrobe would have made all the difference.
Quite honestly, apart from the above, I cannot fault anything else about the hotel. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, the food that we had there was delicious and beautifully presented, with definitely the best chips (the chunky ones available as a side order in the restaurant only) that we have ever tasted. As another reviewer has said, we would have been quite happy to eat in the restaurant every night, even though we did enjoy our other dining experiences.
I had a massage in the spa, which was extremely good, and we spent a lot of time in the seating area down there as it was relatively peaceful (there were a lot of young children in the hotel at the beginning of our stay and as we were there for an unwind we found this to be a bit of a haven.)
The buffet style breakfast suited us well as we have different ideas of what makes a good breakfast, but both tastes were well and truly catered for. Unruly children were a bit of a problem, I noticed parents allowing children to stand up on the bench seats on more than one occasion, but the staff were unerringly patient and simply brushed all the seats before someone else sat down.
All in all a very pleasant stay, one that we will repeat I am sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorthingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatergateBay, Operations Director at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us, we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Such detailed feedback is really helpful and the team and I will review your comments to see what we can do to address the points you raise.

With best wishes
Judi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights at the watergate bay hotel and it was quite simply the most amazing experience. The food was exquisite and staff were excellent especially Joseph who was one of the duty managers, he was informative, professional and went out of his way to ensure our stay was nothing but the best! I don't usually write reviews for hotels but thought this deserved a special mention. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Wa1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatergateBay, Operations Director at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for writing such a complimentary review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With best wishes

Judi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at The Watergate Bay Hotel on their 'Taste of the Bay' package, which is a three night B & B stay with meals at the Hotel, the Beach Hut and Jamie Olivers "fifteen restaurant" included.
The Hotel has undergone some refurb since we last stayed there and now includes a lovely 25m infinity swimming pool. There is also a new small gym area, treatment rooms and outside spa with fantastic views over the bay.
We stayed in the ocean complex, overlooking the bay, the room was immaculate and clean.
The breakfasts are a buffet style with plenty of selection. If I am being overly critical, some of the children were not supervised when getting their breakfast which resulted in food and drink being spilt and looking untidy.(not the hotels fault, I blame the parents)
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them.
The evening meal at the hotel was 5* - it beat the meal at Jamie Olivers restaurant by miles, and it was a shame our taste of the bay experience did not include 3 meals at the hotels own restaurant.
All in all a pleasant experience, even though a little pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Just had the best stay in Watergate Bay Hotel. Cracking resort, rooms superb and the staff all very helpful. Weather was excellent and the views awesome.
The food was of the highest quality and Fifteen was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ge0666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Got married at this hotel 19th October 2012. I arrived on the thursday late afternoon and stayed until the Sunday.
Hotel is beautiful, clean & tidy and very very welcoming.
The staff are excellent, so friendly and helpful. The food in all three places was superb and our wedding ceremony was perfect!
We had a seaview room which was big and airy with patio doors and a balcony, my mum stayed in one of the coach house rooms and again the room was so beautilf and clean an tidy.
We had friends travel from all over to spend our day with us, a few of them had small children and we all very impressed with the kitchen areas.
The pool and snug area over looking the beach was beautiful!
To be honest the whole hotel for us was out of this world and we will return as soon as we possibly can.
Thank you watergate bay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,633 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing