We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent stay!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We decided to end a week's camping with a 'luxury' night at Watergate Bay. Once again, we weren't disappointed. The staff and setting and food and accommodation are always superb. Especially exciting this time were the new spa facilities, which are incredible, with an infinity pool with an infinity view worthy to compete with any pool in the world! It was glorious late Summer weather, so the sliding doors were all open and the decking was abundant with groups enjoying the September sunshine sat on comfortable cushioned wicker furniture. And, best of all, my wife and I got to enjoy a Mojito, brought to us by the waiter, whilst sat in the hot tub on the terrace whilst the sun set - a huge treat!! I always recommend this hotel to anyone who wants that slightly more informal atmosphere but still have a quality experience delivered by professional pleasant staff, and if you want to bring the kids and dogs and generally have fun, this is the place to stay! We'll be back after Christmas...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorqHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    292
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
374
679
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in 'better family room' which although quite pricey was lovely - very large and great views. The hotel was so family friendly but still luxurious. The pool was great and outside hot tub perfect! The views from the terraces were gorgeous and we were lucky to have good weather. We ate at the beach hut and fifteen - both brilliant. Will definitely return (soon!).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jloupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed in a standard sea view room on a lovely with balcony looking straight out across the bay. Woke up on Sunday morning with patio door open looking out at the waves rolling in.The room was modern, clean and smart and the view was just fantastic. The staff were efficient and helpful but in an informal and relaxed way. The atmosphere was friendly and there were lots of staff around at all times. The food was great and our waitress was really lovely and could not have done more for us. We checked out on the Sunday morning but it was made very clear we were more than welcome to use the pool and the other facilities for the rest of the day. A really great stay and we definately would look to return with our children at a later date.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyNExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Mixed views on this place - we paid £160 for a room for one night and while the room itself was lovely - nice bed, good bathroom and facilitities the noise of the air conditioning system kept us awake half the night. Also the views were of the bin storage area, bit of the car park and a small courtyard.
Parking is also a bit tricky - the hotel car park has limited spaces and while there is parking on the public car park that is owned by the hotel its a fair hike to the hotel is you're staying round the back as we were.
Breakfast was fine - with a good range of thinks on offer.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overl
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluemoonBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipplepen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

First the good points - the room was smart, food very good and staff friendly. The pool is good and spa treatments were excellent. However, the weekend was marred for us by our experience on the Saturday, specifically whilst having lunch. There was a wedding on, no problem per se, but the post ceremony drinks are held in the lunch area. Therefore, when trying to have a nice lunch, we were literally surrounded by wedding guests. From their perspective, it must also be odd to be having champagne and canapés stood in between people having lunch. The hotel is also heavily geared towards young families so not ideal for a couple looking for a peaceful break. Finally, the pricing is what you would expect for a boutique hotel so a bit over-priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

stayed for 1 night with my sister. both our rooms were excellent. very new modern and all the mod cons.
great big comfortable Bed. lovely sea views.
the breakfast was superb. the staff couldnt do enough for you.
this is a very family orientated hotel with lots of kids running around.
it didnt put me off but it may deter others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location immense. Views tremendous (especially if you can get the new rooms at the rear built at an angle looking down the beach). Rooms so comfortable. Staff perfect. Food excellent. Jamie Oliver's restaurant a short stroll away. A must go to for any specaial wekend.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back next to the cliff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,339 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
992 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing