We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Angleterre
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I really liked this hotel a lot! From the moment we walked into reception to the moment we left we couldn't have had a better weekend. I was on a girls weekend, it was a friends 'big birthday' and we weren't disappointed. The staff and hotel were A*, the breakfast was extremely good, dinner was eaten both nights at the restaurants on the doorstep of the hotel. I will definately go back

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sistersasone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    293
    97
    41
    28
See reviews for
376
689
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed her for two nights as part of a wedding party. The location is stunning, tucked in to the bay looking out over the beach. We had a sea-facing room, and the view was great, with a small balcony, table and chairs. The room was light and airy, with a ‘New England’ feel to the style and decoration, with pale colours, natural fabrics and light wood. The room wasn’t particularly big but had everything you would need (hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee, TV, free wifi, and good bathroom products).
The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly. The hotel feels quite large, and there is a swimming pool and spa downstairs as well as comfy area to relax in which is out of the way of the rest of the hotel.
We ate in the Living Space, and the food was excellent. The room were the wedding ceremony was held was just right for a small wedding, with views out to sea. The Living Space (bar area) is large with a big terrace which you can also sit out on. The breakfasts were standard continental and full English offerings, but were really good quality and were always well stocked. The only meal we ate in the restaurant was the wedding breakfast, but that was really good. The hotel has other places to eat, and there is a Jamie Oliver restaurant next door. They also offer surfing lessons on the beach by the hotel. Parking is in short supply directly outside the hotel entrance, but the large public car park next door allows free parking if you’re staying at the hotel. The hotel is about ten minutes away from Newquay by taxi (about £8). This would be a good base for exploring this part of Cornwall, and I would highly recommend this hotel if you’ve got a bit of extra cash to spend – the rooms aren’t the cheapest you’ll find in the area but the quality is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We called in at the Watergate Bay Hotel and needed to use the wifi so stopped for lunch at the Living Space, overlooking the beach. We had a salmon fennel and new potato salad and it was really delicious! The service was great and friendly, furniture and ambiance lovely and relaxed and the meal was good value.

Have stayed at the Watergate Bay a long time ago and our visit reminded what a lovely place it was. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerefordAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful setting. Lovely rooms. Service was a little slow in the restaurant. Very busy and a few too many kids for my liking but it was the Summer. A bit Chelsea set by the sea. Would return but not in peak season. Would be glorious in the Winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigadick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from watching my daughter get married. Such a wonderful venue with great views over the sea behind the ceremony. Room was excellent and the wedding team made a good job of decorating it with our bunting and pompoms. Food was out of the world for the canapes, wedding breakfast (really good home cured gradvalax as starter) and cute pasties at the evening do. The pool and downstairs lounge were both very relaxing and there is a super compact cardio room. Our ocean view bedroom was freshly renovated and gave just about enough room for us to spread out. The more expensive rooms are more expansive even featuring a bath in the bay window. The cliff top location meant it was rather bracing in late September so it was not the weather too sunbathe on the terraces. Breakfast was self-service so no problems with portion control.
All in all had a wonderful (there said it again) 4 nights with a great crowd of people.
Great venue for a wedding.
Only one big drawback is the distance to Cornwall from the Midlands if you don't like driving now that there are no flights to Watergate.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an Ocean View in the old part of the hotel budget permitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having just spent a couple of nights at Watergate bay, i wanted to share what an amazing hotel this really is..

The setting is beautiful, granted we did have two days of lovely weather but nevertheless it is a gorgeous beach and a fabulous hotel.

The spa area is really lovely and the hot tub over looking the bay is a really nice touch (if you can brave the cold)

We ate in the living area and at the beach hut and both meals were great, the settings as well were lovely, i cannot wait to get back!

If you have a dog, this is the perfect hotel, the staff were so friendly and accomodating, the rooms were lovely and everything was spotlessly clean.

I really cannot praise Watergate bay enough, i will certainly be returning, sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

just had a lovely stay only stayed 1 night as we were touring cornwall staying in st ives and padstow as well .lovely room overlooking the sea was great opening the doors and listening to the surf .had a meal in the hotel very good .and a meal in fifteen even better .wold definatetly go again maybe for longer next time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetteplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing