We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent quality and value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Rest Cafe

Harbour Rest Cafe
Ranked #16 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Diner, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Harbour Rest cafe is a relaxed and friendly location to meet friends for a coffee, drop by after a day at the beach, or start your day with one of our delicious breakfasts. Located at the top of the Harbour in Newquay, we'd like to welcome you to our small cafe with a big heart We specialise in Homemade speciality burgers, Seafood, Homemade cakes, Cream teas, Cornish Pasty and Breakfasts. We serve a range of hot and cold drinks, and have a drinks licence.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are a regular to Newquay and have had many a breakfast in this little cafe. We always get a warm welcome from the owners and the food is always good, hot and cooked to order, never had a bad breakfast yet!

Do try the homemade cakes....I can certainly recommend the Chocolate cake, it was lovely, one of the best I have tasted (although I did take away....couldn't fit it in straight after the breakfast)

This little cafe is tucked away, and is located at the top of the road leading to Newquay Harbour, you must go in to appreciate this little gem of a cafe....

Well behaved dogs are welcome and its a great place to go after an early morning walk on the beach, especially when the weather isnt so great.

I keep going back so the food must be good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    36
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Quaint, So Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a gem of a cafe and a tribute to Newquay. We stopped here on the off chance to dodge the rain when visiting last week (feb half term). We were greeted with smiles and hello's from the staff and we found a seat.

We sat down and our drinks orders were taking whilst we looked at the menu. We all had our lunch from a vast selection of sandwiches, hot meals, jacket potatoes, baguettes and of course cream teas!. This was one of the best meals that l have ever had from a cafe!

We visited another three times in the week that we were there, just sitting drinking tea watching the time go by. Can also recommend their bacon and egg sandwich! Thick door stop bread, Superb bacon and a lovely runny egg.. just how l love it :)

They offer a superb selection of handmade cakes and tray bakes which l can also recommend.

You need to visit this cafe if you visit Newquay! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited here on its first day of opening for the 2014 season. It looked like a lean to on the side of someone's house but clearly looks aren't everything. The cafe was clean, warm and inviting. The food was hot and freshly cooked. The sandwiches were doorsteps on proper bread and the cakes homemade....just as it should be. Definitely worth a visit if your in the area and excellent value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestfoss, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good full breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Loved the atmosphere as it was laid back and no frills. Great food, but horrible artifical milkshakes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhimsicalTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Cream Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Whilst taking a few days break in Newquay we encountered a small cafe overlooking the bay.On first impressions it looked like a small beach hut.We peered inside and found a quaint little cafe with pretty table cloths. We ordered a cream tea for two and when it arrived we were impressed with the presentation.The scones were homemade and very chunky. The dishes of clotted cream were garnished with slices of fresh strawberries and there was ample supply of delicious strawberry jam. It was a delicious treat and I would recommend this establishment to anyone visiting the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Rest Cafe also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Rest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing