We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen

The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #35 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a great meal at the new restaurant the Breaks in Cornwall. The squid starter was delicious and perfectly cooked. The seabass very enjoyable and the sticky toffee pudding truly delicious. The service was great and I'd easily recommend this restaurant to my friends and family. Worth hunting out!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    63
    19
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my partner on may 30th to celebrate my 30th birthday, when I rang up to book the restaurant I let them know it would be my birthday and they decorated the table with a happy birthday banner and had happy birthday confetti on the table which made me feel very special. From as soon as we walked in until we left neither myself or my partner can find any faults. The waitresses were lovely and friendly. The food was gorgeous and fresh. Then to top it all off we witnessed a stunning sunset over the sea with morcheeba playing in the restaurant to set the mood. Everyone needs to visit this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kickassfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

After having been to The Breaks for a bite to eat last week we were excited about taking our friends there. To start with we were sat at a table by the door which was constantly opened and closed so it was freezing, the people who previously owned the restaurant used to lock it and use the other door for this reason. But we were told that wasn't possible and after complaining were moved to another table. Then our friends two starters were cold, these were exchanged for fresh ones. The mains that me and my friend ordered that sounded lovely in writing were actually bland and boring. The 'Thai broth' that was advertised was actually a tiny bit of sauce that was neither here nor there. The main thing was that when the bill came nothing was taken off or offered for the cold meals. Our waitress was actually amazing so it was a shame but we didn't tip. Massive potential but disappointing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Watch the sun go down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nicely situated on beach. Good service. Mostly seafood.ery nice
A good place to end the day watching the sun go down.
Probably need to book ahead.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank supergran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place but something went terribly wrong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, we were a large group (24 people) and told we could order from the menu on the night. Unfortunately they struggled to cope, after taking orders and serving (most of) the starters they then realised they had run out of steak, so quick alternatives had to be made. Not too much of a problem but with some starters appearing after the rest had finished and the extra garlic bread not arriving until the end (and only after numerous requests) I would say there was a distinct lack of communication between the kitchen and front staff. However, the worst was to come the following day when a number of our group had become ill, appearing to be those who had eaten the same selection of dish. My own selection had be fine and I would have marked it as very good but with people going ill I cannot justify giving a rating for only mine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Breaks Tolcarne Beach Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing