We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martha's Tearoom

Martha's Tearoom
Ranked #3 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

yummy scones with jam and cream and lovely atmosphere. really friendly staff that appeared to be mother and daughter. Always a fan of family run businesses they automatically make you feel so at home!

id defo go back if i was visiting newquay again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    23
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Excellent value for money. 2 lovely home made scones, cream strawberry jam and a pot of tea just £3.95- bargain.
Lovely tea room with nice little touches. Staff very friendly. Will definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kellynEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Tea Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A newly up and running business venture, good homemade food, nicely presented, quaint pleasant traditional atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food...shame about the rudeness of the staff!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visited Martha's tea room last weekend with a group of friends whilst away for the weekend in Newquay after finishing uni. The young woman taking our order was great, however the older woman was very rude and made us feel very unwelcome. I wanted to go elsewhere, but my friends wanted to stay. The food was very nice, however I would not visit again based on the rudeness of that member of staff. In addition to being rude, she was very patronizing (perhaps because we were students?) which was unnecessary. Looking at the previous reviews it seems that this might have been a one off, but it is still unacceptable. Such a shame, as the food was lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachLS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“scones to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a lovely quaint tea room this is. Just off the main street and so lovely. The decor is very tea roomish but lovely and the cream tea was amazing. My husband did not want the normal cream and jam scones so they offered him cream cheese and chutney on cheese scones and he was absolutely thrilled and said that they were amazxng. If you are in Newquay treat yourself to a lovely afternoon tea.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank morebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to Martha's Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing