We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper Village Pub with Real Home Made Pub Grub”

The Pheasant Inn Public House
Ranked #67 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Proper Village Pub with Real Home Made Pub Grub”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a proper old country pub which is much larger inside than it looks from the road and has a good size car park behind. If you are looking for real pub grub at sensible prices rather than the modern trend for gastro pubs this pub is well worth a visit.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and the beer is good. There is a good size dining area at the front and we were seated and served quickly but not rushed. As well as the full a la carte menu they also have specials nights. Monday was Pie Night with a choice of pies for £8.95 and Friday was Steak Night with 2 steaks for £20.

We went on a Monday so both opted for Pie. What a platter, the pie and veg filled the plate and your choice of potatoes or chips was served on another dish. In my opinion this was real pub grub at it's best and exceptional value for money. Real home made food that really hit the spot. Only downside was that after our main course we were so full we had no room to try their deserts

Next time we are in the area we will certainly be going back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisborough Green, West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pub”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited this pub twice. My brother had his wedding reception there and we returned for an evening meal. The food was very good, staff very friendly and an attentive landlord. Good beer! The pub is in a very pretty village, there is ample parking, a small but very pretty garden with superb views.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family came here on my birthday as everywhere else was busy, this was going back in novemeber, and loved it! We forgot about it till my mums birthday which was very recently, we was greeted and seated very quickly then orded drinks. me and my dad both orderd steak which was soo tender and cooked to perfection! And the portions was generous! The waitress was pleasent and knew what was she was doing ( this is rare nowadays as a waitress myself) we loved it that much we go as much as we can and going this weekend! Thanks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosesvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“call me biased !!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ok so it,s our local ,but we are lucky to have such a great pub so close. The roast on Sunday is a real treat and we often go here rather than cook, just help yourself to their great veg with lots of choice.Tim recently took the pub over from a previous great longstanding landlord and I would say thankfully he has changed nothing .Steak night is also great value which we love.A great pub continues keep it up!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The Pheasant has always been a great 'proper pub', and we were interested to see if it still continued this tradition under new management. The answer is a resounding 'Yes'! If anything, the food is even better. Don't expect modern decor, or ridiculous prices - its still a pub - thank goodness!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquiTCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn Public House also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing