We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough”
Review of Kahuna

Kahuna
Ranked #4 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Kahuna is ran by husband & wife team Ryan & Kelly Mather. Informal dining in a tropical modern Asian setting. Thoughtfully created with holiday vibes in mind. Pan Asian inspired food packed full of flavours. Local & international drinks, spirits & carefully chosen wines to complement our menu. Sit back & relax while we take care if you. If you are in a rush please be sure to inform us & we will do our best to speed things up for you! Typically our freshly cooked dishes take around 20-30 mins to arrive at your table. Please book ahead to avoid didsapointment. Remember we can now take larger parties up to 12 people, due to our larger premises! We are open evenings only 5.30pm till Late. To make a reservation please use our booking system through our website as our phone line is usually busy with takeaway orders. PLEASE NOTE - If you don't recieve a conformation email when booking through our website, you haven't made a reservation.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A diamond in the rough”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Don't let it's location and size fool you, this is a great little restaurant with no airs of pretentiousness.

The menu is tight and the food is big on flavour. As others have mentioned the monkfish scampi is superb, and the ribs were the finest I've ever had. The OH enjoyed the seabass and squid immensely.

The service was top drawer as well, it's not hard to get right but so many get it wrong.

Book a table though, we popped in and were told it was a 20 minute wait. Just enough time for a quick ale in the pub(wetherspoon style chain bar) over the road so we didn't mind too much.

I doubt we'll be back in Newquay, but if we are, a visit to Little Kahuna will be on the cards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    137
    30
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice little find.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

You'll need to book as Little Kahuna is quite a small restaurant. We were lucky to get in on a Friday night. The restaurant is quite simply decorated with the emphasis very much on the food. The menu is varied with well known dishes from around the globe and a few with a Cornish twist. The food was all hot, very fresh and well presented. We ate Duck Spring Rolls and Monkfish Scampi which were both great. Our mains were Pad Thai and Nasi Goreng which were also very good. If you are in the area give them a call and book yourself a table. The Ribs, Seabass, Mussels all looked very good too. The service was great and we'll be back. In the future perhaps we'll see a Bigger Kahuna?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichClarkImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etwall, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We were luckly to get a table at Little Kahuna tonight as we didn't book. The food was fabulous, I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. The monkfish scampi was really 1st class as were our main courses of the Bouillabaisse which had piles of mussels, squid, prawns, monkfish, green beans, new potatoes, crostini’s & gorgeous basil aioli. The Nasi goreng with tiger prawns was also wonderful. The service from start to finish was excellent, complements to all involved in this gem if a restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“" FANTASTIC FOOD "”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ate at the little Kahuna, it was an excellent place to eat... we visited it twice while on holiday last week in Newquay we booked at short notice & then booked again for Saturday night.I had the best Mussels & sticky ribs that I have ever had amazing! my husband had pan fried sea bass which was beautifully presented .We tried the Cornish sparkling wine which was really nice but we are Champagne drinkers really and the owner got us a bottle of Moet Chandon in for Saturday evening which we enjoyed with the mussels & Monk fish scampi starters, & I did have the sea bass!! What an amazing meal , Loved the pannacotta & ice cream...The service was great.. the lady owner was very friendly and nothing was any trouble to her. We will be going back again on our next visit....Many thanks to the Little Kahuna for making our holiday so memorable .... best FOOD in Newquay by far.Denise & Dave from West Yorkshire xx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denpsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to Little Kahuna because of the high ratings, and we weren't disappointed. The tempura vegetables were lovely and light (although I didn't like broccoli), and the bouillabaisse was full of different kinds of fish and shellfish, and very spicy. My husband's green thai curry was superb, and we finished off with green tea. The restaurant is small but the waitress was lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 933Vivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahuna also viewed

 

Been to Kahuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing