We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kahuna

Kahuna
Ranked #5 of 231 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Kahuna is ran by husband & wife team Ryan & Kelly Mather. Informal dining in a tropical modern Asian setting. Thoughtfully created with holiday vibes in mind. Pan Asian inspired food packed full of flavours. Local & international drinks, spirits & carefully chosen wines to complement our menu. Grab a rare opportunity to taste the famous Cloudy bay Te Koko. Perfectly balanced to work in harmony with our flavours. Or Gewurtztraminer Verdelho, a mix of two grapes creating a beautifully smooth finishing wine. Sit back & relax while we take care if you. If you are in a rush please be sure to inform us & we will do our best to speed things up for you! Typically our freshly cooked dishes take around 20-30 mins to arrive at your table. Please book ahead to avoid didsapointment. Remember we can now take larger parties due to our bigger premises!
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you don't try this place you don't know what you have missed. The food is amazing and prices are reasonable. Being a local I go here as often as I can and I am never disappointed. Thanks Ryan and Kelly all your hard work is appreciated

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank maidincornwall52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    121
    27
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose lil kahuna for boy anniversary meal tonight. It was perfect, lovely atmosphere, cosy yet spacious. You know a place is going to be great when all the music is on your own iPod. The food was beautiful, full of flavour, good size portions. If we weren't so full we would eat the whole meal again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricky_vix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I dont where all the 5 star reviews came from”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate there on 14th we didn't book but got squeezed in, we both had the burger, we were only the 2nd couple in but had to wait a bit, the burger was a little dry, there wasn't much cheese in it, the bread Bap was a small cheap one. The chips and coleslaw were nice though. I wouldn't eat here again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grahameb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food and quirky ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Little Kahuna and it's deserving of it's no 1 spot in Newquay as we tried the top 4 during our stay. We'd recommend the delicious oriental beef and the tasty mussels in a lovely creamy wine sauce for starters. I had the tempura pollock and chips for my main and the fish and light batter were very good. I could have done with a bit more salad as my husband had a generous amount with his burger which he also enjoyed. Reasonably priced too. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eirwen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fantastically presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited here for lunch based on its tripadvisor recommendation and were not disappointed. I had the beef burger and my wife the sticky ribs. The dishes were extremely tasty and looked great.

The restaurant lives up to its name and really is little! Theres only something like 6-7 tables and so as a tip i'd recommend booking - particularly in the evening - we just walked in but it was early and the place filed up while we were there.

We'd definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimesReaderUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahuna also viewed

 

Been to Kahuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing