We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, fantastic atmosphere & Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahuna

Kahuna
Ranked #5 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Kahuna is ran by husband & wife team Ryan & Kelly Mather. Informal dining in a tropical modern Asian setting. Thoughtfully created with holiday vibes in mind. Pan Asian inspired food packed full of flavours. Local & international drinks, spirits & carefully chosen wines to complement our menu. Grab a rare opportunity to taste the famous Cloudy bay Te Koko. Perfectly balanced to work in harmony with our flavours. Or Gewurtztraminer Verdelho, a mix of two grapes creating a beautifully smooth finishing wine. Sit back & relax while we take care if you. If you are in a rush please be sure to inform us & we will do our best to speed things up for you! Typically our freshly cooked dishes take around 20-30 mins to arrive at your table. Please book ahead to avoid didsapointment. Remember we can now take larger parties due to our bigger premises!
Cornwall
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fantastic atmosphere & Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Finally managed to get to dine at Little Kahuna, had quite a few meals at the previous location but this was the first time here.

Went with a friend, we were greeted with a warm welcome from Kelly on arrival and shown straight to our table, the place was full and everyone was clearly enjoying themselves. The menu was fantastic and we struggled to decide what to have, what we did choose we both loved and the service was great too!

We knew other people who were in there for a meal and they were all raving about their meal when they left and said they would be going back again soon.!

Would highly recommend and cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pookypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    118
    27
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Popped into Little Kahuna late afternoon asked if we wanted a lunch we said fine if its not too late no problem they said there were 3 adults and 2 children.Food and service excellent will call again next time we are in town, and not too expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
1 review
“A must go to restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went there recently for my boyfriends birthday & had a fantastic evening. We originally booked the table for 4 but they let us add on at the last minute. The food was at their usual high standard as was the service & atmosphere. You really can't go wrong here, yes it is small but for me that is so much nicer than been in a big place where you can't hear yourself let alone anyone else!! Also brilliant value. :))))

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I loved this cute little restaurant! It seemed similar in size to a large lounge, but I didn't feel like I was squeezed in. It is cosy and easy on the eye and I never felt like I was so close to others that they could hear my conversations or vice versa. I had the duck pancakes to start on the suggestion of our waitress and they were delicious! I had the ribs for my main course and they were great too. They looked good as the chips came out in their own little basket, but were a bit of a pain to eat. As for pudding, try the ice creams, they are amazing! Excellent service too. Our waitress was brilliant throughout.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“YUM YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013


Super juicy mussels, rich sauce, buttery garlic bread. Starter done. Flaky, tender sea bass, luminous vegetables, beautiful poise and balance. Main course done. Rhubarb creme brule. Amazing. Now for a cheese plate and another bottle of prosecco. Perfect mothers day meal.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caseyabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahuna also viewed

 

Been to Kahuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing