We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of The Chy Bar

The Chy Bar
Ranked #64 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Chy Bar is a modern boutique style Bar in Newquay that offers stylish dining by day and comes alive with a fresh, funky and modern soundtrack at night. The menu boasts a variety of foods from our delicious range of freshly made stone baked pizzas, to our locally sourced and freshly caught seafood dishes not forgetting of course the usual favourites from our scrumptious burger menu. You can also choose from a fine selection of wine, beers, premium spirits and cocktails from our extensive drinks menu. As the evening draws in, Chy Bar transforms into Newquay's premier late bar. The Chy Bar is Newquay's home of house music. With a modern vibrant soundtrack, intimate dancefloor and talented House & Techno DJs, The Chy bar is open 7 nights a week and licenced until 4:30am. The Koola Club is the home of the underground music scene in Newquay, leading the way with fresh local talent, Set over two levels and with a capacity of 400, you'll enjoy this intimate venue
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visit The Chy Bar every time we come to Newquay, it is located in such a great spot, overlooking Fistral Beach, reasonable prices on food and drink. Good range of food on the menu and definitely worth a visit. Staff are friendly and it's a bustly place so very popular.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    43
    13
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab friendly place with amazing views”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have been visiting this place for as long as I can remember, back in the day when it was the Chy an Mor pub - nowadays its pub, club and restaurant and it is still amazing. We generally come for a drink in the daytime when we wandering about Newquay, though sometimes for lunch, never yet in the evenings - apart from early dinner, it's not our thing. The place holds special memories of a dear friend from long ago, who we met while holidaying at a local camp site and who also used to bump into us while drinking here - it has indeed become almost a ritual to "have a guiness for Reg" who was a ridiculously lively old boy for his years. I believe he was in his late 70s when we met, him having been dragged off camping in a tiny two-man tent by his then 17 year old son Jim - see what I mean about being a lively little soul! We met up many times - sadly our dear Reg is no longer with us but it always makes us smile to remember him and it gives us even more of a connection with The Chy. In all reality its just another ridiculous excuse to reminisce in beautiful surroundings, overlooking the sea and for hubby to drink guiness in the day time!! The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble, they will even bring your drinks out to save you struggling with a loaded tray and they always look after your furry friends too, bringing out water for the dog in a colourful plastic seaside bucket and providing dog biscuits - terrific service for a place which come nightfall, turns into one of the hottest clubs in town (so I am led to believe!) Food when we have eaten here is great, well presented and plentiful - we chose burgers last time which were fab. This time I think the nearest we got to food was crisps...lol, well we had come en route from a pasty shop! Oh and I had a choc drizzled rock bun with a hot choc on damp and dreary late afternoon when Phil, still wanted to have yet one more guiness for Reg. Well, I had started on diet coke but the ice had almost frozen me into the cosy clutches of my hoodie by that point as the wind and rain gathered pace as we sat outside under cover watching the sea!! The lovely John recognised us from previous years and looked after us well - we had a couple of nice chats as he served me and we were there so often, he gave us a VIP discount card to use - as if we needed an excuse to return. Very much look forward to returning in the autumn where hopefully the sun will still shine and the view will no doubt be just as stunning and the team will be wonderfully welcoming as always....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent enjoyable luch”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visited for lunch whilst in Newquay. We had our dogs with us and they got great service and made us feel included rather than excluded which is what dog owners usually feel. They bought water for the dogs and even treats on a little plate for them. This was brought over before our lunch even. We had a light lunch there. We sat over looking the beach enjoying the weather. We ordered from the menu but made amendments to the dishes offered - eg no mayo, no tomato. Our orders arrived and were right and delicious. It was reasonably priced and well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly...”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our first stop for drinks after walking my Hubby all along from our hotel. By the time he has reached The Chy he is ready for a cuppa or something stronger after following me on my mobility scooter. Always a warm friendly welcome from John the bar Manager he only sees us twice a year but treats us like locals. And argueably the best view in Newquay to sit and eat, overlooking Towen beach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and good views”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We ate here as a family with two small children at lunch time. The staff we friendly and there were toys and books for the little ones, which was great. The food was nice, freshly made, quality and tasty. Very happy with our lunch. The manager and barmaid were really friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sez8U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chy Bar also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Chy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing