We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way”
Review of Lewinnick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewinnick Lodge
Ranked #12 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Lewinnick Lodge has been a favourite place of mine for about 12 years and its always the first place we head to when we arrive in Cornwall for our twice yearly trips. When I discovered during a break earlier in the year that they were adding rooms, I just had to book! I've just returned from a three night break over new year and I'm delighted to say it didn't disappoint. There was a slight mix up with our room on arrival, I had booked the sunset room but was allocated the sunrise room, with views over to the headland and Fistral. This actually worked out better for us as the views were simply stunning, and the room was gorgeous. I had been concerned that the room over the bar would have been noisy, I needn't have worried as you couldn't hear a thing. The room has been completed to the highest standards and the bed is one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. There's a big walk in shower and free standing bath - all open plan. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room, no milk though, which we thought a little odd - I'm sure you could get it from the bar but when I work early on the first morning and wanted to make a cup of tea I found I couldn't. Lovely shortbread biscuits in a jar replenished daily too. Housekeeping are very on the ball, every morning whilst we were at breakfast they cleaned our room and were gone again by the time we returned. Excellent service. The staff at Lewinnick are always excellent and this visit was no exception, our room mix up was dealt with politely and professionally (despite the fact I was very annoyed and tired after a long and unpleasant journey!). We booked a table in the restaurant for a family meal for New Year's Eve and that was lovely. The food and service were great and we all had a brilliant time. We've got many happy family memories of time spent in Lewinnick and this stay added to our collection - especially as my sister and her boyfriend got engaged on the deck at midnight! I can't wait to go back and can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
146
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the lodge to get some peace and quiet over Christmas. The roaring sea and gusty winds only served to make me feel extra cosy in my room and made it tranquil believe it or not. To watch the light change on Fistral beach as the sun comes up is wonderful. Gorgeous bed ... Great breakfast ... Fabulous views. If I had to voice any criticism it would be the noisy doors up and down the hall which don't shut quietly but could easily be remedied and the air conditioning/heating system which seemed to randomly go on and off despite being told it was switched off. Overall these two points were minor compared to the whole experience. I would love to stay again ......

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peace&Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Perfect location with beautiful views. We stayed in room 4 for two nights and its just fantastic. The bed was like heaven, felt like sleeping in a huge cloud. Breakfast and evening meals were really lovely. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Far West of Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lewinnick Lodge has one of the finest locations that Cornwall or the UK has to offer being set alone on Pentire Headland looking out over the rolling sea towards Fistral beach at Newquay. Restaurant is bright, modern and clean as is the bar and outside decking is ideal for summer evenings. We stayed the night too and the newly built room was superb. Food is excellent for a non foody like me and I'm sure is up to and beyond most peoples expextations as it is reasonably priced too. Breakfast also lovely. Views from our room were breathtaking and the room was very well equiped for a special stay. Hope to come back many times again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWillberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had known the Lewinnick for some years as a great pub and restaurant wiith exceptional views from the outdoor areas (a large wooden terrace and a lower level garden) before it added a layer and started to offer rooms as well. We decided to try it out last year, spending the bit extra needed to get the room above the terrace with th outstanding view of the sea. Well worth it. The room was large and superbly appointed. There were the tow of us, plus our 8 year old plus the dog (with a dog bed supplied by the hotel!). We were also shown some other rooms and could see they were of a very high standard too. Clean, modern and beautifully appointed. Downstairs, there is a pub that also does bar food and a separate restaurant area with windows all round for slightly more up market meals. The location could not be finer. Great walk over the headland and down to Crantock beach on the other side. Simply stunning views from the hotel and the terrace area. Very pleasant staff. It's not cheap, but it's good value for what you get and one should be expected to pay for this sort of privilege. If you love Cornwall, you should treat yourself. . .

Room Tip: Take the room above the terrace even if it costs a bit more. And book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Yorkshre
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was our 50th wedding Anniversary and I wanted to book somewhere special, Cornwall figured highly in our past with many happy holiday spent with our children in the sixies and seventies so I selected a hotel featured on Trip Advisor and after seeing the photos on line I booked and we travelled two days later. After arrival and checking in for six nights and seeing the spectacular veiws from the picture windows along with the equally exceptional accomodation, I had no hesitation in extending our stay to 10 nights. Well impressed, we have booked again for February 2013. The veiws from the windows take in the Atlantic Ocean with all its moods from calm to white caps and breakers. The Rocks and incoming tide is breathtaking. The Room was basically a suite with a brilliant walk in wet floor shower, a big bathtub, major super king bed, breakfast bar and good wardrobe hanging space.
The restaurant was good with a wide choice of food and super breakfasts, along with a great bar area, Plasma TV screens, once again all overlooking the ocean.
Staff where spot on, Karina, our Receptionist/Host was very accomodating and helped out with any queries on localities. Karina also went personally and organised the flowers to be presented to my wife at our well prepared anniversary dinner, Laura was very good to us in the restaraunt.
Big plus for us was the hotel houskeeping which was, once again exceptional.Well done to the ladies!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel with its great location to anyone wanting a first class break in Cornwall. Newquay is a stones throw away, Bedruthan steps, Watergate Bay, Padstow,Mevagissy, Perranporth and St Ives all within easy reach and lets not forget Penzance and to anyone that doesnt know it check out Minnack Theatre carved in the cliff side just down from Penzance. Brilliant, our American cousins will love it all!
Thank You to all the staff at Lewinnick for making our 50th Wedding Anniversay such a special one and to any one reading this we chose to have the break on such a special occasion on our own, a second honeymoon, peace and quiet and a well earned rest is what we wanted and that is exactly what we got!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room for the veiws and veiw as you wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Visited here for lunch on a windy rainy day. It was lovely, the food was fresh and delicious and the best turamisu ever! Our visit here really made up for the weather. The staff were nice and friendly and at £45 for 2 people for 2 courses including drinks was good value and a nice treat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChristineEliz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewinnick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewinnick Lodge

Property: Lewinnick Lodge
Address: Pentire Headland, Newquay TR7 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lewinnick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique bed and breakfast hotel- Newquay, Cornwall The quintessence of boutique coastal-chic, each in a bespoke palette of neutral Farrow & Ball showcasing the fabulous sea and headland views: our eleven stylish rooms have an understated glamour that offers contemporary cool and saltwater allure. Our coastal bolthole is the perfect destination in Cornwall for a glorious getaway and is a honeymoon haven for those wanting sensational sea views, secluded romance and beachside luxury. Accommodation close to Newquay at its best! Designed by Guy Bostock our rooms have a fresh and modern feel that is a world away from traditional. Our attention to detail sets us apart: think homemade biscuits with your morning coffee in bed and all the mod cons, so should you need to keep up to date with the outside world you can. Each room features a flat screen TV with on demand movies and free wifi plus DAB radio and Bluetooth speakers. The fabulous open plan bathrooms in the Sunrise/sunset and ocean doubles are equipped with power showers and free standing slipper baths. In the headland double and superior partial sea view rooms you have a private ensuite with either a shower or a bath with shower attachment. The family room has a bath with a shower. All rooms come with bathrobes for pottering and hairdryers. Hair straighteners are available on request. With luxury organic products in ensuite bathrooms, local artwork and beautiful original pieces, our rooms are seriously special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lewinnick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewinnick Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing