We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Ideal for long weekends with friends”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Edge14

Designer Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Designer Kitchen
Living space opens out on to the hot tub and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
41 reviews
Designer Kitchen
Living space opens out on to the hot tub and garden
Stylish open plan lounge with floor to ceiling glass door feature
Lounge area with 3D TV
Kitchen with island seating
Chill out room which opens into the garden
Downstairs wet-room with rainforest shower
One of the four bathrooms
Double Bedroom- duck down duvets
Twin room with vanity unit
Room with bunk beds- sleeps four
Designer Bath tub in the master bedroom
Double Bedroom with a designer bath tub en suite
Room with bunk beds- all have vanity units
Well behaved dogs are welcome
1st Floor Floorplan
2nd Floor Floorplan
Ground Floor Floorplan
Only 2 minutes from Great Western Beach (dog friendly beach)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stmoritzg...
Cornwall
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ideal for long weekends with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed here as part of a hen party and it really is in a ideal location being only five minutes walk from town, as a local I never knew such wonderful accommodation was on my doorstep so I will definitely be recommending to others.
The house is very spacious and is equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need to celebrate in style, someone has put a great deal of thought into all the little added extras.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stopover in Newquay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We all had a great time in Newquay. The property is well positioned for access in to Newquay but the neighbouring properties and the occupants were less than perfect! Hot tub was great and some of the photos are a little miss leading. The glazed internal wall is a hazard as is the lack of hand rail and banister. Overall we had a fun time in a fun place which has been refurbished to a great standard and hopefully one day the neighbouring houses will be equally well refurbished.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Specification of the fittings
Liked least: Very noisy neighbours and too many bunk beds for adults
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte...
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house but lacks attention to detal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The house is lovely and generally very clean. The best bit about the house is the design. However there are quite a few negatives some of which were very disappointing. There were no hand towels or soap in any of the bathrooms. There were no tea towels provided. No banister on the stairs. Some of the beds were broken. The house sleeps 22 but there is only room for 10 around the table. The entertainment system was complicated and lacked some wires and extras needed to play the ps3 games. The 3d tv had a lovely picture but no 3d channels worked. Parking outside was full nearly all the time.The wifi password was not what we were told, the user name and password is on the router.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The design
Liked least: Lack of towels, tea towels and soap.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we take all of your points very seriously. I have responded to each of them individually:
- Lack of tea towels, hand towels, soap- part of our changeover is to provide all three of these and on this occasion it seems the cleaners missed every point. I have subsequently spoken to the cleaners and added it to their formal check list so this does not happen again. We are sorry for this inconvenience.
- Some beds were broken- this is the first I have been made aware of this and we will send maintenance down to deal with it immediately. We would have sorted this out on the day if we had been made aware of it. The cleaners reported there were no breakages on the previous changeover.
- Entertainment system complicated- there is a manual left to explain this and this was pointed out on the check in. We will review the manual and look to simplify it to help avoid confusion in the future.
- 'Some wires were missing'- unfortunately some guests do take some things from the house and we have found that adapters/ chargers are usually the first to go. I think this is what has happened in this case as every bit of technical equipment should have been provided. We will check all of the parts and replace any that we think are needed. It's a similar story with the wi-fi code- unfortunately guests can restart the router and end up changing the name/password. I should have double-checked this before I checked you in so apologise for this inconvenience. I am glad you did find the information in the end and were able to use the wifi.
- Parking was full- unfortunately we have no control over this, although there is a residential street and free car park just 2 minutes away from the house (which was pointed out on check-in)as well as the bays outside the house so we were surprised to hear this was a problem.
- No bannister- the design of the staircase is as an open staircase. However, we have reconsidered this design and have a new perspex banister being fitted in early November, unfortunately this is just a few weeks after you came to stay.

We would like to apologise for any disappointment and will use this feedback to make sure our standards are kept even higher in future.

Kindest Regards,
I Fisher
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayo3003
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed here during a Kitesurfing / Surf / SUP course (Total Immersion - Thanks Dom!) and it was the perfect kite / surf house. Beautifully decorated, plenty of space both indoors and outdoors, and a great location. Would stay there again and without a doubt recommend this to my friends if heading down to Newquay for whatever purpose.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Space, attention to detail, cleaniness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and very high standard of the accommodation
Liked least: Although Edge14 is lovely, the price we paid for 3 nights seemed high
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul2562
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Edge 14 is perfect for a large group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

16 of us stayed here for my Stag weekend.
After having problems finding a property that would accept a stag group, we found the ideal place. Edge is set up perfectly for large groups. It was a special, plush pad to stay in and the location couldn't be better - in the town centre and a stones throw from the beach.

Issy also runs a company that can arrange a variety of activities for Stag / Hen groups. We went Coasteering, which I can't recommend highly enough. The guys that run the Coasteering are brilliant, and it was the perfect start to a day & an instant hangover cure!

To list a few things - Edge 14 has a hot tub, BBQ, a lovely master bedroom with free standing bath, large flat screen TV's and loads of hi-tec gadgets to make your stay more enjoyable. Everything is finished to a high quality in the house... it's actually even nicer than the photos!

A massive thanks to Issy and the guys that run the Coasteering, we had a really special weekend.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Giving my friends the tour when they arrived!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJahShak...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

High spec accommodation situated very close to Newquay town centre which was ideal for us and our mix of families. The owners met us when we checked in and gave us some excellent advice on the best restaurants and some great activities for the kids to do. Very highly recommended property!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$320
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing