We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and stunning views!”
Review of Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro - CLOSED

Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and stunning views!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This little gem is such a pleasant surprise when you first stumble upon it, nestling into the cliffs overlooking one of Newquay's best beaches. We usually pop in for a latte and yummy cake after a bracing walk along the sand and never fail to be impressed by the amazing views. If it's chilly you can relax in the pleasantly laid back atmosphere indoors, but on a summer evening head for the veranda to fully appreciate the Cornish coastal magic!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 81SB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    71
    25
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhurried service with stunning views”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Overlooking Fistral Beach, Bodhi's is a relaxed cafe that serves good quality, good value food. If you're looking for haute cuisine, you've come to the wrong place but if you're after great views and good home cooking then this Newquay nugget will serve you well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kadee_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spur of the moment visit - thought we were going to have a couple of coffees to warm up on a cold day and enjoy the stunning view. But when we saw they had some local beers ended up having a a couple of beers and a snack. Started off by sitting indoors and enjoying the view but was so good ended up sitting outside on the terrace enjoying the absolutely superb and uninterrupted views of Fistral beach enjoying the sound of the waves and watching the incredible surfing. Very friendly staff. We had not long eaten somewhere else but the menu here looked really good and we'll be back to enjoy some food again when next in the area. Great place to relax and soak up the views and atmosphere enjoying some local produce too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slw1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice snacks!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food is served well by friendly staff and the portions are good.I thought it was a fair price and the view out of the window is great too.I thought the place was a little cold but I did visit on a freezing day so it was hard to keep warm anyway that day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drecklydreckly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely venue for a first date!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A beautiful day out with lots of walking, when Paul Thompson my date suggested The Beach hut at Watergate Bay for lunch we didn't realise that we needed to reserve a table, this restaurant was very busy. However, the second choice was Bodhi's cafe and Bistro, we arrived and enjoyed a latte coffee overlooking Fistral Beach and the great waves! The owners Andrea and Andrew Brion who seved us a very adaptable menu and catered for my dietary needs as I have ceoliac disease! We had a Bodhi Burger and chunky chips and mixed salad, and a cajun chicken breast and chips and a mixed salad, able to eat both, we shared both, obviously for me without the bun! We were left to enjoy each other's company, as the cafe bistro was quieter and more peaceful for a first date and definately worth a vist.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sexych1c75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing