We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem of a place.”
Review of Ohana

Ohana
Ranked #99 of 244 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $2 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Newquays newest cafe/Restaurant with possibly the best view in town! Open all day everyday for great food and superb coffee.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very pleasant atmosphere in a lovely place with stunning sea views from the patio area.
Service was great, food even better. Breakfast in a bun has never looked or tasted so good! We will definitely call in again for more of the same. Thanks Ohana!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TandG6678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Ohana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 121 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Simply the best food I have found in Newquay. The sea views from the outside patio are stunning as well. Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MalTheBikeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

With all the hype on the reviews we thought we would give Ohana a try as we are fairly local.
The food was pretentious, looked fancy but actually tasted awful and for some of us it was barely edible. I wouldn't mind but it was cheap either
The service was beyond a joke, we waited for ages before our meals came out and nobody came to tell us why it took so long (it wasn't that busy) and it felt like we were more of an inconvenience than welcomed paying customers. If the owners have better things to do perhaps they should go and do it.
The hot drinks arrived cold and there was lipstick on 2 of our cups.
A very disappointing outing and we will be sure to give this place a miss, in fact, we wouldn't return even if it was free!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sschism14, Owner at Ohana, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

I'm very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us, I find it hard to believe if we where quiet you would have been left, as we try very hard to make all of our customers feel welcome.

We're sorry if you felt the wait for food was unacceptable but as we have printed on the front of all of our menus, all our food is cooked fresh, from scratch so the standard wait time is up to 30 minutes, but can be longer in busy periods.
As for the drinks, all the cups are soaked, and then run through a washer so if you did have 2 with lipstick, this is a very surprising fact for us. All our coffee is served at 65-70C which is the temperature recommended by the coffee roasters, if you wished them to be hotter we would have gladly made fresh drinks for you. I wish you had made us aware of thees issues as we would have done everything we could to have resolved them for you. if you feel you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Terrific food, friendly staff and a cool, chilled-out vibe. Oh, and INCREDIBLE coffee. We will definitely return.
A+.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is really cozy, offers breath-taking views especially watching the sun set! The food is absolutely delicious and the service is great, super friendly people! A big plus is that dogs are welcome so after a long beach walk with your four-legged friend it's the perfect place to chill with a cup of tea overlooking the sea and Cornish coastline!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing