We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Crab Sandwich.”
Review of Fern Pit Cafe

Fern Pit Cafe
Ranked #29 of 249 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Beach side Cliff top Cafe with views across the Gannel River to Crantock beach. Indoor and outdoor seating. Dog friendly. Eat in or takeaway. Daily specials including Lobster and Crab caught by our own boats and kept in tanks on site at the Boathouse. Which is where you can walk across the bridge or take a short ferry ride to the beach down the steps from the cafe. We offer a full English breakfast as well as a range of healthy options like avocado on toast and projuice smoothies. FatRock barrista coffee and Roddas cream teas alongside all our home made cakes.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My Wife and i popped in for lunch, You can not get a fresher, Tastier, Crab Sandwich anywhere, These people catch there own crabs, We sat outside overlooking the Gannel valley and Crantock Beach eating our lovely Crab Sandwich,Service was Friendly and fairly quick but here again Food is prepared to order which is why it is so fresh, Another place to return to when we are back in Crantock, Fern pit is also Dog friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidaywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

Enjoyed tasty Crab Sandwiches and Cappuchinos in the sunshine overlooking Gannel Valley and Crantock Beach. Food as good as it has been for 30 years but it used to have a lovely friendly atmosphere when talking to the staff.

Thank greekfanatic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have been visiting the Fern Pit for over 25 years but today we visited and had our usual crab sandwich but what a disappointment. Had to wait ages and when it did arrive it was very poor the bread was just basic sliced bread and that was stale we really would expect more for £7.25

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernPit, Manager at Fern Pit Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Firstly thank you for your 25 years of custom. We are however very sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received this year. We do take comments and criticism seriously as it helps to improve our service. It is however unfortunate you did not bring this to our attention while you were here so we could at least attempt to resolve the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This wonderful family run Cafe is a real gem, set overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock Beach it is a delightful place to visit and enjoy their range of food. Eat indoors or out and there is an excellent Children's room where the youngsters can play once they have had their fill.

The Crab Sandwiches must rate alongside the best anywhere in the country. Freshly caught by the Cafes own fishing boats they could not be any fresher and they are simply prepared so that you get the taste of the Crab rather than the dressing as in some places.

I highly recommend this Cafe. We visit there each time we go to Cornwall, superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1010peter1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great walking stop on a sunny day as the views over Crantock beach and the Gannet Estuary are beautiful. Sandwiches and cheesy chips are a must have!

Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fern Pit Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fern Pit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing