We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you visit here for lunch!”
Review of St Mawgan Tea Room

St Mawgan Tea Room
Ranked #3 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Traditional Tea Room and award winning garden, Village Stores, Post Office,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make sure you visit here for lunch!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came across this tea room by accident after visiting the nearby Japanese gardens. We did think we had gone to the wrong place when we walked into the post office though! There was only wheelchair access into the conservatory, but it was a lovely place to sit and have our lunch underneath the vines. The staff were lovely and helpful as they made room for the wheelchair and swapped the bread that came with one of the salads for gluten free bread without any hesitation. The scone I had was delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must for lunch.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Four & a half of us popped in here after it was recommended to us.we sat in the conservatory but there was lovely garden to sit in to.Staff made us feel very welcome.Food was very tasty and good value for money.would definitely recommend the ploughman's with the mango & ginger chutney.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shedkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best cream tea!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am a big fan of cornish cream teas and I had thought the bedruthan steps cafe served the best cream tea in the area but I was mistaken.
Having first tried them as part of a welcome gift in a holiday cottage in St Mawgan the week before my wedding I quickly realised they were to die for but had to resist scoffing the whole tray due to my imminent wedding but the day after the wedding I treated myself to two!
Since the wedding we have returned to the cafe as I cannot get enough of these beautifully baked scones which would put Mary Berrys scones to shame.
I would love the recipe but I am sure it will be a top secret.
The cafe has a lovely outdoor eating area and is very tranquil & picturesque.
This is a gem of a cafe with a great menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place. service is five star. xxxxx”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we were visiting the japanese gardens around lunchtime, and decided to have something to eat, we first went into the pub next door to the tea rooms - but were horrified by the prices and service. so we popped in here - thank goodness, what a wonderful find, we entered through the store, and were welcomed so nicely, we ordered a savoury cream tea, a panini and two kids picnic plates, they said there would be a bit of a wait - and yet I dont think we waited long at all, the service was absolutley fantastic, ( a lovely scottish lady) they made us so welcome, I cannot recommend this place enough. we'll be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and setting”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Beautiful cream tea, and other foods. Rustic sandwich and bacon melt were amazing. Great service in an idyllic setting xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjane522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Mawgan Tea Room also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to St Mawgan Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing