We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be number one!!”

The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: British, Grill, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We purchase food locally and cook fresh in our kitchens each day. We have a popular Sunday Roast each Sunday, as it is freshly cooked roast potatoes, parsnips, carrots, Yorkshire pudding, cauliflower cheese, green vegetables and melt in the mouth meat, plus vegetarian and vegan options, it's usually very busy. We also offer a takeaway Sunday roast, call and collect. Friday night is Burger Night where we serve the Dolphin Gourmet Burgers, that too has become extremely popular, the menus are on our website and we offer online booking. The restaurant itself is a 75 seater restaurant with a nice friendly bar and lots of sofas dotted around the bar. It's been under new ownership since November 2016 and has been receiving rave reviews and sometimes sold out on Sundays with over 160 meals served. The Dolphin is the oldest trading restaurant in the beautiful Cornish town of Newquay and is a traditional yet vibrant venue, with friendly staff and a strong focus on sustainable and ethical practice. All produce is fresh and is locally and responsibly sourced, allowing for an exciting and dynamic food menu that appeals to people of all tastes. The lounge bar provides a relaxing area to enjoy well maintained draught lagers, ales and ciders, a carefully chosen range of wines and spirits. Serving from our Main Menu items such as Tapas, Seafood and Grill as well as our hugely popular Sunday Roasts, where we offer a takeaway roast on Sunday (from 26 November 2016) to meet the overbooked demand. The Dolphin is situated near to the Harbour in the centre of the town, just a minute from the beach and is surrounded by absolutely gorgeous beaches famous for their golden sands and world-class surf conditions on the North Cornwall coast. Adjacent to the restaurant is a pay and display car park whilst street parking is also available within a few minutes walk. Sainsburys also operate a time limited (1.5 hours at the time of writing) car parking facility, it is an automated time register driving in and driving out so allow a few extra minutes to get back to your car and exit their car park.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Should be number one!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went here last year and have recommended it to everyone I have spoken to about Newquay. Visited with my grandparents and my grandfather said it was the best meal he had ever had!!. Wise words for someone been on the planet for 60 years!! Cannot wait to visit again this year with my friend. Be seeing you soon!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    57
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best venue in the Quay of New!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

GO HERE!!!!! Most amazing food I've ever eaten - FANTASTIC cocktails & the service from the beautiful lady - I believe her name is Bex was impeccable! New Years went off in this killer place! Highly recommend it we WILL be returning on our next trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful little find. ”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Just happened to pop in on New years eve with the hope of getting a table and was told we could have one in 30 minutes. The welcome was very friendly and the bar/ restaurant was really nice, comfy sofas in the bar area were a treat after the meal. The menu was good and the food was superp. Keep up the good work. Thanks to the sister on visit from Australia for the jaeger bombs.

Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Find”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We came on a very wet weekend to very good food and a excellent reception the selection and choice of food and wine was excellent. The only thing is the portions are so big and could not finish the meal. But hospitality and the care to detail so pleasing. Will go again when we are down that way again
Mike Viki.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Came here with friends and family wanting a relaxed evening and good food. Completely ticked all the boxes. Lovely food, great atmosphere and lovely staff. Try the cocktails, a must have. Best and biggest scallops we've ever had, and lamb shank is so tender it falls apart and melts in your mouth. Thank u guys. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing