We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - great value Wayfarer menu”

The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We purchase food locally and cook fresh in our kitchens each day. We have a popular Sunday Roast each Sunday, as it is freshly cooked roast potatoes, parsnips, carrots, Yorkshire pudding, cauliflower cheese, green vegetables and melt in the mouth meat, plus vegetarian and vegan options, it's usually very busy. We also offer a takeaway Sunday roast, call and collect. Friday night is Burger Night where we serve the Dolphin Gourmet Burgers, that too has become extremely popular, the menus are on our website and we offer online booking. The restaurant itself is a 75 seater restaurant with a nice friendly bar and lots of sofas dotted around the bar. It's been under new ownership since November 2016 and has been receiving rave reviews and sometimes sold out on Sundays with over 160 meals served. The Dolphin is the oldest trading restaurant in the beautiful Cornish town of Newquay and is a traditional yet vibrant venue, with friendly staff and a strong focus on sustainable and ethical practice. All produce is fresh and is locally and responsibly sourced, allowing for an exciting and dynamic food menu that appeals to people of all tastes. The lounge bar provides a relaxing area to enjoy well maintained draught lagers, ales and ciders, a carefully chosen range of wines and spirits. Serving from our Main Menu items such as Tapas, Seafood and Grill as well as our hugely popular Sunday Roasts, where we offer a takeaway roast on Sunday (from 26 November 2016) to meet the overbooked demand. The Dolphin is situated near to the Harbour in the centre of the town, just a minute from the beach and is surrounded by absolutely gorgeous beaches famous for their golden sands and world-class surf conditions on the North Cornwall coast. Adjacent to the restaurant is a pay and display car park whilst street parking is also available within a few minutes walk. Sainsburys also operate a time limited (1.5 hours at the time of writing) car parking facility, it is an automated time register driving in and driving out so allow a few extra minutes to get back to your car and exit their car park.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent - great value Wayfarer menu”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We didn't plan to visit The Dolphin, but the place we had booked didn't have a record of our booking and only had a limited menu on offer... they recommended The Dolphin to us.

The Dolphin is a bit old fashioned inside but has nice side views of the sea and the town.

We opted for their 'Wayfarer' menu - a special set menu which is available at certain times of the day. The portions are a bit smaller than the standard sized meals, but the meals were quite big anyway!

The fish and chips for main were superb - light and crispy batter and perfectly cooked fish. The highlight for me was the strawberry cheesecake for dessert... it arrived in an individual portioned bowl and was unbaked (it had a similar consistency to Angel Delight) with a biscuit base and pieces of strawberry. Probably one of the best cheesecakes I have ever had... it was very light, so the perfect end to the meal.

Definitely worth a visit, but I'd avoid paying for the full price menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littleferrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, the feedback is very much appreciated. We are passionate about serving fresh locally and responsibly sourced produce and we are very glad that we could offer an option suitable for you. Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    58
    17
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Too expensive for what it is”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Reviews said that this was a good restaurant. I'm not sure. Food
Was overpriced for what it was. Starters were good. Mains were not. Staff were friendly but only told us about the 40 minute wait for food when we had ordered. Would of been nice to know when we had walked in. Overall a little disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate recieving feedback. We are very sorry to read that you found your visit disappointing and we would like to work with you to ensure that you are satisfied with the outcome. We have contacted you via the TripAdvisor's message system with our email address and would very much appreciate you emailling me to discuss this further. Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful and Delicious”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent our first Anniversary in Newquay and had our welcome meal after a long hot journey at the Dolphin, the food was SO delicious that we ate there both nights! For anyone wanting recommendations the scallops in bacon was amazing and they do a mean (and massive) Sunday roast. The staff are a completely lovely bunch and made us so welcome, we plan to visit again very soon and bring lots of friends!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words, we are super happy that you enjoyed yourself and that you had a nice anniversary! We look forward to seeing you here again :) Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic local food and excellent service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

When searching online for restaurants in Newquay to eat out on a Saturday night I was shocked we could not find anything which wasn’t a cafe, chain, Indian or Mexican. There was no local restaurants advertised selling local food in the centre of Newquay town centre.

My boyfriend and I decided to go for a walk and hope we found somewhere when we stumbled across a sign next to a door with a stair case staying the Dolphin please come in under new management.

On first impressions of the Dolphin the decor was a little off putting and very dated I am not going to lie it could do with a refurbishment, something a little more high quality dining and blues to fit with the sea and name the Dolphin. HOWEVER, the warm welcome from the attentive staff quickly made you forget the furnishings.

We were seated in a booth and quickly staff were serving us drinks and taking our order. The menu had everything we were after in terms of variety and local Cornish produce: meats, mussels and fish dishes. We had the white bait and mussels to start followed by two Cornish steaks. The food was delicious! The chef clearly takes pride in their food as the presentation was very good, I would say the wine menu needs extending as I am a rose fan and the rose was too sweat for my liking, but considering they had only been open one week at the time we visited, I could not believe how efficient they were. The staff need some serious praise for their friendly attitude and attentive service, nothing was ever too much.

I would strongly recommend this place to locals and people going down to Cornwall for a holiday and wishing to taste the local food. I will most certainly be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eloise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello there, thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here, we are very proud and passionate about our dishes and we are glad that came across to you. Thank you for the feedback on the wine list, we are in the process of extending the list as we completely agree that more rose wine should be included (and more bubbles too!). We had a little re-vamp when we took the place over to make it less cluttered and clean but we are planning further work during the winter months to update it more to our taste without losing the homely feeling and traditional style that the Dolphin is known for. Hopefully next time you are in town you will be able to see our handiwork :) Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best mussels ever!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled across this restaurant accidentally while myself and my husband were looking for something to eat and I'm glad we did. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious! I had mussels to start which were the best I have ever had. My husband had whitebate which was also lovely. Our sirloin main was huge and cooked to perfection. It was so filling that we could fit in dessert ! Would recommend anyone to go while in Newquay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to read feedback from our customers. High praise indeed for the mussels, we are so happy that you enjoyed them! It's so nice for us to be able to pass on well deserved praise to our staff, who are all genuinely lovely people and often check our TripAdvisor page themselves. We look forward to seeing you again :) Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing