We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best roast in Cornwall, better than my moms!”

The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 250 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We purchase food locally and cook fresh in our kitchens each day. We have a popular Sunday Roast each Sunday, as it is freshly cooked roast potatoes, parsnips, carrots, Yorkshire pudding, cauliflower cheese, green vegetables and melt in the mouth meat, plus vegetarian and vegan options, it's usually very busy. We also offer a takeaway Sunday roast, call and collect. Friday night is Burger Night where we serve the Dolphin Gourmet Burgers, that too has become extremely popular, the menus are on our website and we offer online booking. The restaurant itself is a 75 seater restaurant with a nice friendly bar and lots of sofas dotted around the bar. It's been under new ownership since November 2016 and has been receiving rave reviews and sometimes sold out on Sundays with over 160 meals served. The Dolphin is the oldest trading restaurant in the beautiful Cornish town of Newquay and is a traditional yet vibrant venue, with friendly staff and a strong focus on sustainable and ethical practice. All produce is fresh and is locally and responsibly sourced, allowing for an exciting and dynamic food menu that appeals to people of all tastes. The lounge bar provides a relaxing area to enjoy well maintained draught lagers, ales and ciders, a carefully chosen range of wines and spirits. Serving from our Main Menu items such as Tapas, Seafood and Grill as well as our hugely popular Sunday Roasts, where we offer a takeaway roast on Sunday (from 26 November 2016) to meet the overbooked demand. The Dolphin is situated near to the Harbour in the centre of the town, just a minute from the beach and is surrounded by absolutely gorgeous beaches famous for their golden sands and world-class surf conditions on the North Cornwall coast. Adjacent to the restaurant is a pay and display car park whilst street parking is also available within a few minutes walk. Sainsburys also operate a time limited (1.5 hours at the time of writing) car parking facility, it is an automated time register driving in and driving out so allow a few extra minutes to get back to your car and exit their car park.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had two different roast dinners, turkey and veggie.
Both of us were overwhelmed by the portion and quality of the obvious home cooked food. Amazing tasting throughout.
New chef and owner so get in here before it goes crazy. It's old fashioned decor but staff were welcoming and food was easily the best I've had in a long time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewquayMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We are so happy you enjoyed it (although I hope your mum doesn't use trip advisor) that is high praise indeed and we are very grateful to you for sharing it. The decor is something we are working on slowly, we are hoping to update it over the winter, for now we are settling with keeping it simple and clean. Watch this space! ;) Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 329 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Superb quality food, big portions, excellent service. A new venture which deserves to do well. Newquay needs restaurants of this quality. Would recommend to anyone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewquayJankelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review Jan, it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon :) Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having now been to this restaurant to eat on three occasions since it has been taken over by new management I thought I should leave a review. This hidden gem is well worth a visit, the food is by far some of the best in Cornwall, let alone Newquay and the bar area is very traditional in style with a lovely atmosphere that is hard to find anywhere else in the town.
I would personally recommend the seafood chowder although I have also tried both the Lamb shank and this evening, scallops. All of these meals have been of outstanding quality in both taste and appearance, it is evident the kitchen staff take pride in what they serve.
The waiting staff and bar staff are friendly and helpful and have always been as accommodating as possible with everything.
The Dolphin is well worth a visit and I am sure, like me, you will continue to go back for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review Shanna and your kind words. We are really pleased that you like it here and it is always an absolute joy to serve you and Simon. Thank you for continuing to dine with us, we look forward to seeing you again :) Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Well, where do I begin? Words elude me. The food was divine, the ambience enchanting and the service impeccable. Out of pure luck we found this hidden gem and it was like winning the lottery of life. My advice, dine here and feel like a winner. Epic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your epic review and your very kind words! You made us all laugh out loud with this very sweet review and we were all very very happy that we could all make your experience so enjoyable. Thank you for making my smiley staff even more smiley :) Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant by chance when trying to find somewhere to eat. I'm so glad we did! Great little restaurant, with really good service and lovely food, would highly recommend the mushroom burger and the lamb burger! It was also great to drink some local beer! I was told that new management had not long taken it over and there was a relatively new menu. We were really impressed and would love to come back one day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marmalade26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated to have feedback from our customers. We are constantly striving to improve as much as we can which is hopefully shown in the new updated menu. So if you come back there will be plenty more to try! :) If you ever want to check out our menus online, they're up on the website. Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
 

Been to The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing