We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards are slipping”
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
South Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Standards are slipping”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been traveling with Daish's for some years now, and the standards at the Barrowfield are slipping badly. The Daish's brochure states "book early for the best seats and best rooms". We booked this holiday 11 months in advance so that we could get a walk in shower, both of us have walking difficulties and can not use a bath, it was also clearly stated on our booking confirmation. We got 3rd floor with a bath!!! Doesn't this contravene advertising / trading standards. However, after complaining, we did get moved to another room. Our alternative room was a good size, but needed some serious attention. Radiator badly stained and chipped paint, old screw holes still showing in walls, flaking ceiling in the bathroom, thread bear carpet. Again, 11 months prior booking you would expect a much better room. Dining room was "ok". Again some flaking paint on the ceiling in places. Service was very slow, you had to wait until it was your turn on the waitress's numbered rota. Sometimes we waited 20 minutes between courses. Food was adequate. Entertainment was poor to average. Supposed to finish at 11:00pm, all finished between 10:40pm and 10:50pm. Bar service was a little slow as one of the staff kept disappearing and leaving one guy on his own to cope. Bar prices are a little on the expensive side. On our list of Daish's, the Barrowfield was 2nd. Sadly, it has now slipped to 4th behind I.O.W., Eastbourne and Bournemouth. Will 2014 be any better????

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    324
    110
    35
    22
See reviews for
139
504
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travelled with Daishs from Leicester on 23.08.13 For 7 nights. On of our party of three was in a wheelchair and because we had asked for a walk in shower we were put on the third floor.
Could not fault our rooms , one single and one double. We overheard guests on other floors complaining about theirs.
The breakfasts were very good but the evening meals were only just adequate , more attention needs to be paid to the quality and quantity of the offered vegetables because on most if not all occasions they were very poor.
The staff however are a credit to the hotel.
Overall though we enjoyed our time there and met some geat people and will probably try another Daish's hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the third floor had a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LEE029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been going to the Barrowfield for the past 6 years at least once a year. During this time the staff have not really changed and are always ready to help. The hotel has had a facelift and many of the rooms have been updated. The only issue it has no air conditioning and get really warm and sticky in the main season. The food is basic but very good the pool is lovely and the hotel is situated out of the main town which is great and you do not hear any noise.

Room Tip: ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Returned home 18th August from "The Barrowfield", this was my second visit to this great hotel, I would like to say a Huge Thank you to Richard(Hotel Manager) Paul (Restaurant Manager) and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Big thanks for the treatment of my Daughter (Donna, who was celebrating her birthday). Hoping to see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Firstly, suggest that everyone disregards a report dated 2007, since the hotel is now in new ownership and has been renovated. Operated by Daish's hotels and coaches, our group of 36 stayed 5 nights and were well looked after. The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of meals, served by pleasant and hard working staff. The manager, Richard, was a larger than life character, and always happy. Our room was large and well appointed, although the mattress could have been better. The excursions offered by the hotel are resonably priced at £8 each, although local buses cover the area, but some of the routes are somewhat devious. An indoor pool is available.

Room Tip: Rooms are on three floors, with some on the ground floor. A small lift is available to all. In very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0bJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we travelled with Daish,s to their hotel in Newquay and had the most fantastic time,staff were happy smiling and could not do enough for you.Our coach driver Steve was brilliant and nothing as too much trouble.The hotel was clean comfortable and the meals were well presented and varied.Cant wait to go next year .Thank you to all Daish,s staff.Our stay was from 13th-18th Aug.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We travelled self drive, on arrival we were greeted by professional very friendly reception staff. Room on the third floor, large with two windows although weather was extremely hot we requested a fan which was no trouble. Room serviced every day, clean towels whenever needed, extra pillows etc readily available on request. Our room was always fresh, clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant was very good, you help yourself to cereals and fruit plus yoghurt, this if followed by a full English breakfast. You choose and place your order for your evening meal at breakfast, plenty of choice, including a fish option every night also a vegetarian option, they were more than happy to accommodate any special dietary requirements, lovely salads available on request. Our waitress was very helpful, nothing was to much trouble. Coffee shop open every lunch time, serving baguettes, sandwiches, etc. The hotel has a very nice indoor pool, outside area with tables and chairs, lovely ballroom and entertainment every night, which is varied. During our stay there were day trips available, which were reasonably priced, with some lovely destinations, with very professional, knowledgeable drivers. The hotel is situated a very short walk from the sea and a 10 minute walk from the town. There are bus stops right near the hotel where you can easily get to most places of interest. Richard the manager and all the staff at the barrowfield are extremely helpful and we found nothing was to much trouble for them. We had a lovely holiday and will definitely be going back. All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 833Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Property: Barrowfield Hotel
Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing