We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Daish's??”
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a 7day/6 night stay at The Barrowfields. Very good journey down and even better return journey (West Midlands). Arrival: Very efficient. Bags offloaded from coach and delivered to rooms within 15 minutes. Reception very quick and efficient, keys were waiting for collection. Room: Quite big and very clean. Room service was very good throughout. Down points were that some of the sealant around the shower tray needs replacing as there are signs of mould. Also some of the tile grouting needs replacing. You have to run the hot tap for approx 10/15 minutes to get hot water before you can wash or shower. We were told by reception that the water has to come all the way from the basement up to our floor (second). How long does the people on the third floor have to wait? This must waste thousands of gallons of water every week, and if the hotel is on a meter you and I are paying for that. Restaurant: A good choice of meals (you have to order dinner at breakfast). Quick and efficient. Well presented. Quite tasty. Try the fish dishes, these were superb. Bar: Again quick service, never much of a queue, pint of John Smiths bitter is £3.00, a bit on the expensive side. Entertainment: Nobody of outstanding note, all were average. Location: Reasonably good. 15 minutes walk to town centre although there is a bus stop on both sides of the road with Truro, Falmouth, Padstow etc all within easy reach. Even the local Tractor Train stops almost outside the hotel, £5 for an all day ticket (no bus passes accepted), but you can get off or on anywhere and rejoin later. Old outdated lift, broke down several times, people stuck for some time. We understand a new one is to be fitted in January. We have now been to all of Daish's hotels and this one is equal top with I.O.W. Well done to everybody.

Room Tip: All rooms are well presented, but until the lift is replaced, ask for a ground / 1st floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
There are newer reviews for Barrowfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 929 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

we had fantastic time,Richard the manager came on the coach on our arrival at the hotel and introduced himself and was always on hand when needed, as all staff were. the cleaner lady was very nice and said just say if you need anything . the room did need little decorating but other wise it was all good. the lift need to be looked at as very dated and small. the only thing i have to have moan about was when we were dropped off back home , a couple were supposed to of had a taxi waiting to take her home booked by the hotel company, but it was not there and after a 10 hour journey, that must really put the dampers on the holiday . the lady ask the driver of the coach if he would contact them but he said there office was closed. and he was out of time. all people on the coach were lovely happy and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloria524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Choose this hotel off the Internet. Thought it was an adult only break. Apparently only out of season. That wasn't the only surprise, the first room we were shown was truly awful, holes in the walls and ceiling. Furniture very tatty, I've seen better at the local tip. Sliding door was kept shut with a piece of wood!!!! The second room was only slightly better. We were told it was that or nothing. We had to ask for a fan as the room was extremely hot. The view was overlooking the local car park. Not the sea view we asked for. Very regimented meal time, waitress didn't like veering from menu, not much choice again take or leave it attitude. The upside was we met some very nice people there. Not to far from great beach, long walk down but worth it. Hotel overall dated wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolSue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on Saturday 8th September and found the hotel to be very friendly.
Food was great and restaurant staff were excellent. Rooms were comfortable but need
refurbishing. My daughter and son in law had their wedding reception there 25 years ago and
not very much had changed. The lift needs improving. Didn't use the swimming pool but it
looked very inviting. There are lovely walks around and the town is a short walk away. The
only real fault we had that annoys us was for the four days we were there we had four different
drivers. Entertainment was very good some of the singers were a bit loud but overall was great

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the lift
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockyl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had a great time here with my 12 year old grandson and my parents.Great entertainment friendly staff ok food.This is a good hotel for Grandparents to go with there Grandchildren leave Mum and Dad at home,the children can enjoy the swimming pool [no deep end] and the pool room at night.Drinks are reasonably priced,trips can be taken from the hotel or local busses across the road,also a Tesco express round teh corner and a doctors surgery next door,have stayed here three times now my Grandson loves it.Hairdressers and beauty rooms on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you want seperate room within the room for children
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suefergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had a fantastic break at The Barrowfield Hotel with Daish`s.
We had a very spacious room, with plenty of storage space and comfortable beds. Excellent shower and all kept very clean. Not a brilliant view in 206, especially with a balcony but we didn`t spend much time in there.
The entertainment was different every night and was quite good. We enjoyed Ronnie and Steve`s nights the best. Pity the bar closed at 11pm!
The meats and fish we very good quality and the meals were very enjoyable. Cereals, yoghurts etc., were self-service at breakfast but the rest of your meals were served at your table. Thank you to our waiter, Marley, who was very efficient and remembered my Husband`s coffee each morning!
Our only disappointment was we didn`t get to Port Isaac as there are only limited seats.
Thanks to Manager Richard and all staff for a very pleasant holiday. Thank you also to the coach drivers Lin and Craig for a very pleasant journey.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I booked 3 night/4 day holiday thro Daish's for 2 adults (both 38) & a 10 year old, triple room, Tue 21st Aug - Fri 24 Aug 2012. Paid £248 no coach we took our car from Bristol. I have previously stayed at Daish's hotels in Torquay & Shanklin, I.O.W (both were great). From the outside this hotel looks pretty great, it's near the beach and Tesco express on the corner. The car park is small there were 2 spaces left when we arrived around 4pm. Our room No 110 overlooked the front of hotel with small balcony. The room was a huge disappointment, upon opening the door there was a nasty fusty smell, the room was very small, 1 double & 1 single bed. The furniture was all chipped & scuffed and looked like cheap white 1980's M.F.I, wallpaper peeling and paint all flaking off (see photo's). The window handle in the room was broke and hanging off so we couldn't close the window at all, we reported this and was told it would be fixed in the morning but it was never fixed. The bathroom door handle/knob was so small and everytime you tried to open the door, the handle came off in your hand. This happened to me several times from the inside which meant I was stuck in the bathroom until someone pushed open the door. The door knob had clearly been screwed into the door several times hence all the holes! The carpet was stained and the bathroom window had 2 huge cracks in it and no handle so couldn't be closed. It really does look like you stepped back in time to the 1980's.

Breakfast is 8.30am-9.00am & dinner 6.30pm. We were a party of 3 so had to share a table with another party of 3. On the first night you are showed to your table then you remain at the same table for the rest of your stay. We were told a table number and a waitress showed us to a table with guests already sat there then told us to wait while she sorted out the mistake, we were stood in the restaurant looking like idiots. The food was average, help yourself to cereals, fruit, yogurt for breakfast then choice of cooked breakfast. Dinner there was a choice of starters, main & dessert. Our table cloth was only changed once even if there are stains and my partners wine glass was dirty left from day before with O.J remains. One evening our waitress left us with turkey but forgot to bring out the potatoes and veg. The toast is crazy, it's always cold, burnt & chewy. In the morning you have to let them know what you want to eat that evening which I didn't like. After dinner you have to go out to the foyer/lounge and self serve tea and coffee where there is limited seating, but it is served to your table at breakfast time.

Back to the room, we couldn't get to sleep as people gathered to smoke outside of hotel at all hours, we could could hear them chatting, car doors slamming, revving engines, delivery trucks arrive really early in the morning and on our last night the fire alarm was activated at 4.30am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! then there were loads of doors banging etc. and the seaguls were annoying (not hotels fault just nature and we expected this) just not all the other disturbances. Not being able to close the window made the noise levels worse. We also ran out of toilet paper and had to get our own from reception. My partner asked at reception if we could move to a refurbished room and was told nearly all the rooms are now refurbished which shocked me, surely room 110 has not had a refurb! On a plus side the beds were comfortable and the pillows were fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The inside swimming pool was pretty empty, you are not allowed to leave children under 15 unsupervised and it gets extremely hot sat by pool so my advice is join in and take a dip. My daughter cut her foot very badly on bottom of pool, staff said the bottom of pool is very sharp but there is no signs to warn you but other children also got cut and some wear socks in pool. The jacuzzi did not work. The sign says pull cord, wait for blower to stop then pull cord again to activate. We asked staff who said you have to keep it empty while you do this which we did, the blower never stopped and several of us tried to get it to work but it was definitely broken which is a shame. There is a communal changing room only and the shower room has no lock. The pool area closes at 8:30pm.

The evening entertainment was something else, now i understand the average guest is in the more advanced years (over 70) but the quiz was mental, name the T.V theme tune from the 1950's/1960's!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and don't get me started on the Rod Stewart look a like. Although a lot of the guests are O.A.P's there were families with young children and I think the entertainment should reflect this and cater for all guests. We played the odd game of bingo and played pool (50p a game). There were a few unruly kids in the entertainment/bar area running around, nearly knocking over your drinks and parents clearly not around or supervising them, I had to walk away as we came close to disciplining them ourselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also the bar did not sale crisps for the kids so i had to walk to tesco to get mine a bag as she was bored to death with the entertainment, I don't blame her.

We didn't go on holiday for the hotel entertainment but to chill, relax and see the sights so the poor entertainment did not bother us that much. We also didn't spend much time in our room and Newquay is so beautiful, The Harbour and Fistral Beach are a must. If you are looking for a cheap get away with basic food included then this hotel fits the bill. You can easily walk to town and Fistral Beach (about 1.5 miles) if you are fit and able. We are not over critical people but like to give honest reviews and advice. I would definitely return to Newquay but probably would not stay at The Barrowfield again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 110 unless you are deaf or have ear plugs
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HelenBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $103 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing