We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay”
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here from the 1st to 6th August, really enjoyed it. The staff were excellent also the room and food. Our room was 319 and had a sea view.

No complaints about the hotel but if you have a bit of trouble walking don't expect to go on any of Newquay's beaches,they are very steep, get on one of the buses and go to Padstow, Porth Beach, Perranporth and Mawgan Porth. Even sit on the benches over the road which looks out to see and just enjoy.

Will definately go back, another great holiday with Daish's

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lynne76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
There are newer reviews for Barrowfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 929 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel with two young children, I dont usually write reviews but felt I had to because the staff all try very hard to make sure everyune is happy and looked after. The food and service is great, the rooms are a little bit dated but clean and comfortable.
The hotel is in a good location in the quiet part of town perfect for families would return again!

Room Tip: Family room was good because had a seperate bedroom for the kids with balcony room 120!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank happyholidays1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from 6 days at the Barrowfield. We are very impressed with the quality of service throughout the hotel. All of the staff bar none were very pleasant and polite, food was varied and hot and very palateable, rooms were spotlessly clean and the bar staff were so efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there thanks to Richard and the staff... you should be proud of them all Richard.... Our thanks once again. We will be back later on in the year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jgp175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Spent four nights here with my sister-in-law, we travelled with Dsiah's and everything from the coach itself and the driver to the checking in and delivery of our suitcases to our room (the staff did not even wait for a tip) The food and the service was very good especially considering the large number of people to be served. Our room did not have a view but it was very clean and comfortable with lovely soft towels, plenty of hot water and the tea making facilities were replenished daily.We were both very impressed, the best coach holiday we have been on, our first with Daish's but we will be going with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brigand43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

i stay ere for at least 6 wks an i ;loved the hotel an the staff was amazing i had company from reception girls every nite an the restuarant manager even offer to bring up my breaky as i like to lay in , i wud nev complain bout this hotel i loved the food an its rates was in shock with the great value i was in the big hotel the witches was film in an check out wen my husband went to work as children wer not even allowed to eat same time as us the barrow field wer more than helpful x

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pugeyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I cannot fault my stay at this hotel the room a twin room on third floor was clean, shower clean though the pressure was somewhat lacking. Was very hot so be warned but could be ajusted to suit. Heated Indoor swiming brilliant nice and warm as you entered, the water just a good. The Jacuzzi not so special same with the sauna but still nice they are there to use, I and a few friends did just that.
The important things like the food, I think the food at breakfast and the evening were excellent enough to start your day off, and in the evening a lovely meal too. We had two bottles of wine each evening nothing special I though it was good value, and prices in the bar were comparable to most other local bars.
The staff were helpful and polite nothing was to much trouble for them I have nothing but praise for them all and hope to have a return trip back to The Barrowfield Hotel
Thank you all there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank aufermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This hotel is the base for great budget coach holidays. It offers an ideal location, close to the beach, town and local buses. The advantages of the hotel are good food, friendly helpful staff, great evening entertainment, lovely swimming pool. I can't say it was perfect as my room suffered from overheating and noise from the central heating system, but I know this only affected some rooms. It also has the squeakiest bedroom floors I've ever encountered. However I can for give them the disadvantages as in every other way the offer a fantastic holiday at a bargain price. I certainly hope to return to see more of Cornwall.

Room Tip: Check for noisy central heating
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jazzcatjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $103 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing