We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory but noisy!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porth Beach Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the static caravans, which was clean and well equipped. The beach is very close by and the site is well positioned for exploring North Cornwall.

However, the website states that it is a "quiet and relaxing" site, which was one of the reasons we booked, but it was far from quiet! The site was very noisy at night-times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CME1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to review our site. At this time of year we are extremely busy, so we do have night wardens on all night who do keep noise levels down. If you have any problems in future please contact them straight away or see a member of staff during the day and we will be more than happy to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    31
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
75
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights at this campsite. Right next to the beach (a beach that doesn't allow dogs however) short walk from town. Lots of toilets / showers etc, didn't have to queue at all.
Only 2 points that meant marks were reduced:
1) showers could be grubby at times, try were cleaned daily but I think people rent considerate enough to rinse down the floor when they are done, campsite can't really accept the blame for that. Also, it was difficult to keep clothes dry, as not really anywhere suitable to put them.
2) grumpiest female receptionist on our arrival! Not the best fort impression after a LONG drive an your dirt interaction when arriving to your holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCliffLodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised with the location of the site, after nearly booking elsewhere we couldn't stop saying how happy we were that we changed our minds! Right next to the beach with a small shop and pub just 100yrds away! Toilets and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen and well equipped - the basin cubicles were also a nice added extra for doing make-up, hair etc. I would like to suggest that maybe some more hooks are put into the shower cubicles or maybe a shelf higher up to avoid clothes getting wet? Had no problems with noise at all and the pitch was a good size. It was nice to know that there were not going to be big single gender groups on site (was a concern due to the weekend of Boardmasters) and everyone was so friendly! Only a short walk to Newquay (15-20mins) with lush views also. Will definitely come again! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Our first full camping trip as a family of four, two teen age boys aged 15 and 17. First thing this site does get booked up early so you need to plan in advance, we got lucky as there had been a cancellation and we managed to get 10 days here. As mentioned only being a novice camper I was worried about toilet facilities and noise from neighbours at night, well toilets were fantastic. Clean and plenty of showers all with benches for your clothes, there is also a few cubicles where you could shave and clean your teeth in private. There is the local radio on in the day time and at night I found the toilets were pleasantly warm. The pitches are all flat and I did not feel too closed in even though the site was virtually full. Now noise which was my second worry was ok, yes people are socialising whilst cooking and having the odd glass of wine, we did and in fact could not believe how much we cooked on site, drank and played cards or backgammon etc but after 22.00 hrs most people respected each other and kept the noise down. The other thing is we were outnumbered by tourers so that helps with noise. in fact if you do play up you will be off before you know it, one thing if you do like it quiet steer clear of the toilets as it can be noisy in the early evening as the children do seem to congregate there. There again I'm sure certain people will thrive specially if you have a young family but give this some thought. My only gripe is the 10.00 am departure as it did not give us time for the tent to be fully dry before packing but to be fair we did not vacate until 11.00 am as it took us a bit longer to figure out how to repackage the tent and no one hurried us. Thought the shop outside could do a lot more for campers as not a lot in stock so we used to shop in Asda or Sainsburys in Newquay and was not keen on the Mermaid pub across the road as too busy so we walked along the cliffs into Newquay if we ate out. There is a bus stop outside for Newquay if the weather was not good and we loved watergate bay for surfing which was a 10 minute drive away. For our first experience in camping we were over the moon and will add to our equipment so our next time here will be even more enjoyable. Would highly recommend this site.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Richard. Many thanks for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your first camping trip with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed there for a week at the end of July 2013 in our campervan. Thought the park was great and definitely would stay there again. Great access to the beach and Newquay itself. The facilities were superb: clean and well kept. The only negative aspect of our stay at the park was the congregation of kids outside of the toilet facilities until well after dark. Fortunately our pitch was far enough away from the noise but we didn't envy those in tents right beside it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here last week in July 2013 in our campervan 3 adults and 1 child.
Great access to beach just a short walk approx 500 m.
Pitches small which made it difficult to position yourself where you would like.
Toilet block clean and showers free with plenty of hot water.
Noisy site at this time of year with groups of children all milling around the toilet block generally being a nuisance playing football till very late, not what you would like when having a quite BBQ.
Asked if site had a noise policy .... No they don't .... What a shame, will put us off coming again.
One last thing you will be woken up at 4am with the seagulls scrapping over all the rubbish left out by campers overnight. This problem needs to be addressed!

Room Tip: Do make sure you have a standard number showing on your vehicle to the front as the barrier can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi there and thanks for your review. Just to let you know we do have several different sizes of pitches you can choose from if they are available. We do have some small pitches but also have pitches that are 13 meters wide and and 11 meters long. We charge by pitch size so you pay less for a small pitch and more for a larger pitch. Obviously as you stayed with us during the school holidays there would have been lots of children staying on-site. Interesting what you said about the noise policy because we do have night wardens on until 6 am every night making sure that if anybody is making excessive noise that they are told to be quiet. Anybody that ignores this and continues to be a problem would be asked to leave the site.. We also put the night wardens phone numbers up so that you can call them if you should ever need their assistance. If anybody ever has trouble with their number plate on entry then we give them a remote control fob that they can use during their stay. We hope this helps to address the points you made in your review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed hear for the first time in 2012, came back this year for another great week in newquay,
Porth beach is a very nice, clean camp site that is defiantly worth a visit.
We needed help by the receptionist as our electrical hook up wasn't long enough so they lent me one for our stay,

very grateful THANKS

John & Shell

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyP9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Beach Holiday Park

Property: Porth Beach Holiday Park
Address: Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porth Beach Holiday Park is Newquay's premier family and couples touring site. We are situated on the beautiful north Cornish coastline just outside Newquay. The park is only 100 meters from one of the best beaches in the county. We have 18 Static Caravans and 200 Touring pitches. Also onsite you will find our award winning shower complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Porth Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Beach Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing