We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic campsite in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic campsite in great location”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A great campsite, fantastic location. If you are looking for a action packed campsite then this is not the campsite. It is a lovely peaceful site and we were there first week of the summer holidays.
It has a great shower block, laundry room, washing area. Good pitches all flat, vary in size but then when booking, you book to what size you require.
Security is great, the beach is a couple of mins walk, fantastic walks from the campsite, 20 min walk along the cliff tops into Newquay, it doesnt get much better. We have stayed many times both with our caravan/awning and now with our tent. Well recommend this site.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley00145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    33
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
76
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

What can I say, Porth beach is the best, we have been coming for the last 4 years in June and September in our vw campervan and we always thoroughly enjoy our stay, we have Tryed other campsites but end up coming back to Porth , the pitches are roomy, the toilets and showers are amaculate , with baby bath and plug sockets for hair dryers snd straighteners , the site is kept very very tidy , dish washing facility's near the toilet block, laudrette on site as well, the staff are very friendly and very helpful, the beach is just across the road and the mermaid pub is also on the beach which sells fab food , the is a coastal path close by so you can walk into Newquay or watergate bay, lusty glaze beach which are all close by , I would reccomend this site to anyone as its just brilliant

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Camperbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Just got back after spending two weeks at Porth Beach Tourst Park. New to camping I wasn't sure what to expect, but the website gave me high expectations. The site itself is lovely, however, it literally was like holidaying in a car park as the vans were so close to each other. The target market is the family market but the park was in a nutshell, basic with just 4 swings and a castle themed slide, that's kids hit their head on all the time! Be careful when leaving the park with your children to, if you supervise them (the park recommends this but no body does) as there is no sign to motorists that the park is actually there and kids just run out, very scary!!!! All of the other sites I looked at had speed limits, and whilst the cars coming and going were not speeding, there should be a speed limit! What was most disappointing was the showers, although cleaned very regularly the sand and grass you had to clean out before even attempting to undress was a nightmare! The wonderful tapas bar close to the site does not allow children and be really careful when crossing the road from the beach to the site!!! Mega busy main road and no pedestrian crossing! Also, go for takeaways rather than jacket potatoe and butter, the park charges over £5 for a spud!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth Beach Tou... P, Manager at Porth Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hi Beverley. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for posting your review. We will certainly look into all the points that you have raised including signage for the play park. We are a small family and couples only site and as you saw we get extremely busy at this time of year. We only have room on site for a small play park so it does get very busy during the 6 week school holidays. As our park is opposite one of the best family beaches in Cornwall we do get sand in the showers, which we try to keep on top off, and as you pointed out the showers are cleaned and checked regulary. As we do not sell food on our site im afraid i cannot help you with the price of your jacket potato! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent little campsite, ideal for the short stay.
Right across the road from the sandy, child friendly safe beach of Porth. And 10 minute walk from Lusty Glaze.
Receptionist was friendly, efficient and polite.
Barrier had an a car number plate auto detection, so we just drove up to it and it opened. EASY>>!
We had enough room for our tent and car, pitch was clean, easy to peg, well maintained and flat.
The washrooms were faultless. Modern, super clean and top notch. Ideal for families as well.
It was a shame our sleep was interrupted throughout the night and morning with incessant dogs barking from over the next hill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank vortex_sponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a perfect area to have the most perfect campsite.
Situated a 2 minute walk from Porth Beach which even at low tide has area to paddle and swim in a nearby river. If you do want to go into the sea you can be sure to be safe with the RNLI lifeguards guarding the sea between 10-6. A perfect beach for the family. And at tea time you can be sure to get a good drink and a meal at the nearby Mermaid Pub (Pub on the beach). Porth isn't the best surfing beach in Newquay, the best is Fistral, where many of the worlds surfing competitions are held, which is a ten minute drive through Newquay.
Back to the site, it is ideal for couples and for families with many quiet spots near the very relaxing river which has many ducks and rabbits, and a small play area for children near the sink area and launderette. The facilities are excellent with some of the cleanest and warmest toilets, basins and showers anywhere in the country that are cleaned regularly to keep up the pristine conditions . There are bins dotted around the campsite for you rubbish and there are outdoor taps to wash wet-suits, fill kettles etc.
Porth beach is the best campsite that i have ever been to and that's why I've been coming back for 14 years and will continue going for quite a long time more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side of the site are very quiet and ideal for couples whereas the closer to the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Porth Beach is an excellent campsite. Ideal for couples. Ideal for Families. Friendly and welcoming staff. The pitches are all individually marked out, ensuring you have your own designated pitch space. The ground is nice and flat and even. The facilities include showers, toilets and washbasins. also Private washrooms. There are designated baby changing and washing areas. There are also electric sockets so you can use your own hairdryers, straighteners etc. There is a laundrette with washing machines (you don't need your own washing powder its already there in the machine for you) and good tumble dryers, plus a couple of irons. Out side the facilities block there are sinks to do your crockery and designated clothes washing sinks if you fancy a bit of hand washing! The facilities are kept excellently clean. Just near the entrance to the park you have two shops, one of which sells or your basics,milk bread snacks (tobacco & alchol) plus other bits and pieces. also just across the road from the park, literary a minutes walk is the Mermaid pub ( pub on the beach) here they do s good meal at a reasonable price. Porth beach is a excellent campsite and its many years of experience show. Oh also for those who are intrested you can get wifi here to at good prices. from a couple of hours to what ever you want. fab!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie-baby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We return to Porth Beach regularly year after year. Everything about the park makes you feel comfortable and welcome. The friendly staff greet you upon arrival giving you all pitching information and showing you to your pitch. They are on hand if you need help while staying and are all friendly and approachable. If you arrive early or decide to travel through the night there is a large car park where you can park before reception opens which is security patrolled.
The campsite is always clean and tidy, the shower block has to be the best out of any campsite I have ever stayed on, clean, heated and warm showers.
The camp is perfectly situated Just a 5 minute walk from the beach.
I would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in newquay. We will be going back in august for the 3rd time this year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greendolphin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 75 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Beach Holiday Park

Property: Porth Beach Holiday Park
Address: Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porth Beach Holiday Park is Newquay's premier family and couples touring site. We are situated on the beautiful north Cornish coastline just outside Newquay. The park is only 100 meters from one of the best beaches in the county. We have 18 Static Caravans and 200 Touring pitches. Also onsite you will find our award winning shower complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Porth Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Beach Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing