We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cant wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #5 of 111 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“cant wait to return!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

just got home from a 2 night stay here and have to say was so lovely. the only little down point was being in the room right at reception could here people coming and going. But overall a very welcoming friendly hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    72
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
259
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 2cnd 3 night stay at the quies. We requested and was allocated the same balcony room that we had on our first stay.
For someone who lives in the midlands its such a change to be able to wake up and look out at the atlantic ocean.
The hotel itself was as good as we remembered. Alex met us on arrival and couldn't have been more helpful. She found us a place to park as the small carpark was tight for our large estate car, then offered to take our bags to the room.
The facilities in the hotel are unrivalled and the breakfast more than adequate.
This certainly won't be our last visit to the quies.
A big thankyou to everyone there who made our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Pay the small premium and have a balcony room if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scagway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and i recently stayed for 4 nights .Its lovely had room with seaview + balcony .Decor great, very clean, staff lovely ,Nothing was to much trouble parking a bit off a squeeze as car quite large so lady put cone out to ensure we had space when we came back at night. We will certainly go back as soon as we can.Breakfast very good value for money was excellent !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57pink1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just got back having spent 4 days with our 2 grandsons age 6&3. Being able to use the breakfast room to make and eat our lunch and dinner made the stay so much easier as the weather not great. The games room was very usefull to let of steam. The dvd's were great at bedtime. The room and facilities are as great as the other reviews. Very Highly Recommened

Room Tip: Had the family room, which is 2 bedrooms and a shower room in between
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Andy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a gem tucked away in Newquay. Very clean and comfortable. A charming owner. We had two rooms with a shared bathroom and one front door - which was perfect for myself and my two sons. The boys loved the pool table downstairs, didn't have time for the games station but we all enjoyed watching a dvd together in the evening. Breakfast was delicious - and substantial - and we decided to go out for supper but could have brought a take-away back and eaten it in the dining room, helping ourselves to beers and fizzy drinks from the honesty bar.

If I were going to Newquay for either business or pleasure I would definitely book back into this extremely good value for money hotel. We stayed the next night at an extremely expensive hotel in Constantine Bay - and we would all choose to return to The Quies rather than the other.......

Room Tip: Speak to the owner - she moved the bookings around so that everyone was in the room she felt would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I won't comment on the excellent facilities of this B&B as its all be said in previous posts. Quite frankly, it is a fabulous B&B that boasts a good location with onsite parking(car park is quite small but better than none at all!), comfortable rooms, fab breakfast and great value for money.
V highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Arrived to be greated by the owner, shown around the hotel and all the free facilities available, pool table, wifi, coffee etc, then taken to our room which was absolutely stunning, not sure the pictures really reflect the high standards of the room, bathroom as we were blown away by the quality!! We have stayed in MANY hotels in Newquay and have never experienced such quality at a very modest price!! In our opinion this felt like a 5 star hotel at a fraction of the price! Breakfast is superb with choices to suit all - totally recommend the Full English sets you up nicely for the day ahead! We have now booked a weeks break here for August and look forward to returning, we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - book it you will not be disappointed!! Thank you to all the staff and proprietors for what was a perfect Honeymoon for us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reseigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Newquay
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 111 in Newquay
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 111 in Newquay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Property: The Quies
Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing