We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and relax”
Review of the quies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the quies
Ranked #6 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly and relax”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My boyfriend took me to Newquay for a couple of days for a suprise and we stayed at this B&B.
He couldnt have picked a better B&B, we were greeted by the owner who was really nice and friendly. She showed us to our room which was a balcony sea view room, the rooms have everything you need including a huge comfy bed. The atmosphere here is so relaxed which was just what we needed. We will definitely be returning here!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louby2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    78
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
81
270
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We chose to stay at The Quies for a late November break and were not dissapointed. Having stayed in a lot of hotels around the Newquay area The Quies represents the best value for money by a mile. It offers a relaxed atmosphere great for young and old alike, it would also be a suitable destination for families. Our room was on the top floor with a sea view and balcony, for the extra few pounds it is an option i would highly reccomend, the view was great you can see over the town and out to sea. The rooms are spacious and modern, if i were to be overly picky my only gripe is that the "double bed" is actually 2 singles pushed together with a double sheet draped over the top which detracts the comfort and there is no bath in the shower room, apart from that we had an excellent room. The breakfasts are good quality and the games room is an added bonus. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, there is ample parking and drinks are available 24/7 which is a good touch. i will definately be returning to The Quies on my next trip to Newquay.

Room Tip: room 10 has a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Edgehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Excellent hotel with changing facilities for surfers, walking distance to town beach, superb with friendly welcome, wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights in september 2011. More than happy. Had a balcony room with wonderful views.

Room was modern, lovely ensuite.

Only drama were the stairs and luggage. Had help with the luggage and all was good.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony .... the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The English Home Counties
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The large breakfast saved us a fortune, as a pasty or cream tea was all we could manage to eat for the rest of the day. Hence, no expensive eating out. Also, activities are available, ie, pool, DVD's and games console, if the weather is a bit iffy, and you need to stay indoors.

Furthermore, found out that the Gaffer is Northern, from Chester, that might explain why this hotel is such very good value for money!

It is also reasonably situated for the town centre, but, about a 3/4 mile walk to Fistral Beach, through the town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Right-Stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Booked a couple of nights here before going on to Falmouth for a big family holiday. We were going to arrive late (1am) and so I asked if this would be a problem. I was told that it was no problem and was emailed the code for the front door and where the key would be. Arrived at 1am, used the code to open the door and got the key. There was a nice note saying that they were sorry to have missed us and also the password so that you could connect to the FREE wifi (I had expected to pay for this). On entering the room, I was pleasantly surprised by how modern, spacious and cosy it was. There was a huge modern ensuite, TV and also a DVD player. Very nice. In the morning, we went down for breakfast, which is probably one of the nicest cooked breakfasts we have had. In the evening, after dinner and a couple of drinks, we came back to the hotel but weren't ready to go to the room. There is a large area with a pool table, table football and also a retro style pac man and video games table, There was also a cooler which had beer, wine, cider etc which was at a very reasonable price. So, all in all, lovely hotel, great facilities, and very friendly staff/owners. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_and_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Visited Newquay 28/30th Oct 2011 to see our daughter who is renting a room in the centre of town. It was a special occasion as it was her 21st birthday.
Why am I telling you all this? Wait and see.

The hotel is a short, but steepish walk up from the town, not too arduous for a couple in their mid/late 50's. It has recently been done up and the room we were in was very well appointed and looked after, on the first morning it was cleaned and the bed made whilst we were having breakfast - never seen that happen before. Breakfast was excellent and again the service from the young waitress was faultless.

Back to the reason for being there. As I said it was our daughters 21st, but we didn't really have anywhere to celebrate it. No matter the Landlady was more than willing to allow us to hold a small present opening party in the dining room and even set it all up for us, we only had to light the candles and cut the cake. Ice buckets were also laid on for the bubbly.

There is a games room with free coffee and orange juice are on tap.

Would we stay again? You bet!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller-in-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the quies

Property: the quies
Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your the quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing