We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six Stars!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #5 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Six Stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed at the Quies with my 10 year old son in February at the half term.
It was truly a pleasant experience, right from booking on the phone. Alex gave us easy directions to get there. Very accessible about 5-10 minutes walk up the hill to the bus Station, Train and Town Centre, beach, Aquaruim, and you can walk to the zoo as well.
Alex gave us a very warm welcome and helped us with our luggage, she kindly upgraded our rooms to a lovely suite at no extra charge so we could be comfortable. The room was very immaculate, warm and comfortable. You could take DVDs to watch in your room from the vast selection on offer if you don't feel like going out.
The breakfast was served by f.polite and friendly staff and there were drinks always available.
My son really enjoyed the game room which had, snooker, PlayStation and Sky. There is WiFi available and PC and printer to use.
I can say so much more about The Quies, must comment on the kindness of the hosts who were always very kind and went the extra mile to make it a warm, family friendly place. Nice, friendly and afforable-We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemissfavored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    72
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
74
258
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Spent 5 days here in early August when the town was busy with the suft festival. Hotel only two minutes walk down steep hill to main street and 2 minutes more to the beach. Could not have been made more welcome. We were given the family suite (double room,twin room and shared bathroom) which were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was enough to set you up for the day. Cereal, fruit, juice and a full english fry. A nice touch was free coffee,water,juice from the machine all day plus drinks in the fridge with an honesty box. Parking on site possible but a tight squeeze when full. Could not fault this place and great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Great value for money, in a central location so great for going into Newquay. Breakfast was huge and good quality. We had an adjoining room which was the biggest we have ever stayed in. I can't believe some of the prices we have paid in the past to stay in inferior places. I would really recommend The Quies!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is extremely good value for money! The hotel has a lot of little extras that make your stay very comfortable. There is free wi-fi, a computer and printer, free hot drinks at all time downstairs as well as the usual drink making facilities in the room, an honesty bar, facilities to bring food back and eat during the day, full freeview in all rooms, large televisions in rooms and a huge collection of DVDs for guests to take to their rooms and watch on the DVD player that every room has.

Our room was the double with a four poster bed. It was very modern and nicley decorated with plenty of storage space. The bed although beautiful wasn't the most comfortable thing I have ever slept on but we managed fine. The bathroom is well equiped and everywhere was spotless. All staff were very friendly and helpful and if the cleaning staff saw us leaving for breakfast, they would make sure our room was ready and cleaned for us for when we got back up which I thought was very nice! Noise wasn't a problem for us until the last couple of nights when we seemed to have a heard of elephants move in the room above us.

The breakfast is not the best I have ever eaten but is more than adequate and in line with the price. Not the best quality ingredients but there was a lot of choice and they were very accomodating to whatever you wanted. ( I am not a fan of fry ups and so often had a bacon sandwich or poached egg and beans on toast). Again the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful.

I have read in previous reviews that parking is the only negative here.....it was never a problem for us though. It is a small car park but at least it has one (many don't in Newquay). We always managed to find a space but there are lots of residential streets nearby so I imagine of there was a problem, you could find a space there. However, I was glad it was not me driving because it is very tight and I am not the most confident parker!

Overall a lovely hotel and well worth the money. I would definately return if I go back to Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My partner and I stayed here at the end of a week in Cornwall and had struggled to find somewhere which would allow us to book for just one night at the weekend - so were were rather uncertain as to what we would find here. We were given Room 1, which is on the ground floor right next to the entrance and also on the main road, so I was a bit worried that I wouldn't get a good sleep, as there were a lot of other holidaymakers and traffic passing - in the event, I was fine with my ear-plugs in, but the room was quite warm so we needed to keep the windows open - a tip would be to ask for a room which does not overlook the road, which should be quieter.

The room and bathroom were fairly small but all amenities were modern and fit-for-purpose. What made the stay were the the extra facilities available: a lounge with pool and table football tables, internet, various compter games and DVDs available - and a very reasonably-priced honesty bar, with free hot drinks available in the dining room at any time. This meant that there was a good mix of different types of guests.

Breakfast was promptly served (we were first in up!) and excellent vegetarian options were available for us. We had an early morning flight on the day of departure and staff were very helpful in booking us a taxi the night before. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very nice person meeting and greeting us, very helpful and friendly. Rooms all cleaned to very high standard. All rooms (we saw) very up to date. WiFi available. Tv's. Free soft and hot drinks all time. Free parking.
No complaints. Recommend 100%.
Thank for good time there!
Oh , and amazingly comfortable bed!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerlikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Had a very warm welcome from Alex, the owner, who was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, as were all the staff. Room was very big and modern with a trendy bathroom and great shower. Bed was big and comfortable and room was clean and lovely to be in. Large tv in room with Freeview and great facilities downstairs including free coffee/juice, free internet, guides to restaurants, pool tables & honestybox bar. Breakfast was substantial and tasty & a variety of people were staying in the hotel; couples, elderly groups and families meaning a nice atmosphere at breakfast. The only negative was that the walls were thin (heard snoring next door and squeaky floorboards) and there was lots of noise from road outside when the window was open (room was pretty hot)- a fan would be appreciated! Would DEFINITELY return to this hotel as it was great value for money!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel- quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Property: The Quies
Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing