We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff. Stunning views.”
Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed in room 216. moderate sized double room on the second floor, front overlooking the beach and park. On main road but the traffic noise did not disturb us as the bed was very comfortable and immaculately clean. There was plenty of hot water and shower worked well although if the back of the bathroom door had been wiped down and the floor washed it would have been better, everything else was clean.
This is an elderly hotel and obviously suffers from damp patches around so that some of the edges of the wallpaper were coming loose and there was a little mould around the window which would have wiped off with some bleach but we just looked at the stunning view and the sunset instead of the wallpaper!
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast served between 8am and 9am and arrived quickly, hot and was delicious.
So no complaints from us as the room was a reasonable price we expected it was not going to be gold star. Central, location.
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the views but not if some noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaureenEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having recently returned from a trip to the Narrowcliff , although in Cornwall Fawlty towers would be an apt description for this tired and unkempt hotel . Our room was a blast from the past it had not be updated in many years , no information pack, no hairdrier not even a bible in it to offer a prayer .The pink bathroom was dire had to go to local tesco for cleaning products before I d even venture in there . No basin in there either that was located in the room .
2 ladies in our coach party where not even booked in on arrival, they had to hastily find them somewhere in the hotel even suggesting they share . Shocking as the ladies had never met before.The staff did try their best in the dining room, there was no manager to give them direction.We were asked 4 times what we would like as our starter , we had already had it and were waiting for mains .No salt or pepper on the tables and no small spoons when asking for one the poorlad was clueless. The roof spaces in the passageway were home to homeless seagulls . What this hotel needs is to close and have a thorough deep clean and refurb before opening its doors to the paying public .

Room Tip: A seafront one as the views were spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Easy to find and very welcoming staff. Hotel is what it is, a little tired due to age. Having said that my single room was spotlessly clean and of a good size. Breakfast was OK. Overall, tremendous value for money and perfect for a stopover.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barfran2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Hotel looked tired and dated from the outside, got inside and things got worse. Had not seen a decorator for at least 30 years. Damp patches and old water marks everywhere, dirty carpets and a general smell of damp. The young waiting staff were friendly and did their best but were lacking in supervision. Hotel is in a great location but would not advise a visit unless you wish to be taken back to the set of faulty towers.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

shabby and dirty with filthy carpets..
the curtains fell on my head. soup spoons for teaspoons..
poor service and organization.. the manager was unavailable as he was also the chef..
untrained staff, without supervision.. dirty bathrooms.
there were only four staff for 89 people staying..
the rooms were very small, I had a twin room and had to put my case on the other bed..
the guttering was missing and we had pigeons in the loft..
I was part of a coach party from sunrise holidays Norwich...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARYTB372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Where do I start? The only thing I can say is that after staying there for 5 days at The Narrowcliff it was an experience to say the least. The entire hotel smelt musty & mouldy, our rooms had mould in some cupboards. The staff were friendly & helpful but the hotel needs a complete makeover because the location is gorgeous. Needless to say we won't be staying here again even if you paid me.

Hazel & Yvonne

Room Tip: Don't go here till it's been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chick1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Although the waiting staff tried hard it was a complete shambles from start to finish - wrong cutlery i.e desert/soup spoons on saucers instead of teaspoons, you had to ask for basic condiments such as sauce or vinegar. It took ages to get your meals - one morning got breakfast at 8.50 - breakfast was supposed to be 8.00 - 8.30 - in general the breakfast was ok but the evening meals left a lot to be desired - scheduled entertainment didn't turn up one evening - nothing to do as it had already gone 9.30. I hope you are a pigeon lover as they are nesting in the roof where the guttering is missing at the front of the building. Not all of the showers work properly, no hand rails to assist you if you have to get in the bath to use the shower - I am only in my fifties but had an accident and I would have preferred to have something to hold onto as I cannot use the bath I would have been unable to get out. The rooms were not cleaned properly everyday - I didn't see the cleaner with a hoover I only saw her emptying bins. The entertainment room could do with air conditioning and the whole of the hotel could do with redecorating and new carpet. At some point it must have rained in in the room I was in because you could see the water mark on the wallpaper.

Room Tip: My only tip would be - don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seaworld2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#29 of 37 in Newquay
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: $29 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing