We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not brilliant value for money...”
Review of Blue Reef Aquarium

Blue Reef Aquarium
Ranked #19 of 60 things to do in Newquay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From the local Cornish coast to the dazzling beauty of the Tropical Reef, Newquay Blue Reef aquarium has an exciting world of underwater adventure waiting to be discovered. More than 40 innovative displays vividly bring to life the sights, sounds and smells of the sea, whilst regular feeding displays, rock-pool workshops and informative talks provide a fun and fascinating day out. Visitors can enjoy the closest of undersea encounters with amazing aquatic life including seahorses, giant octopus, pulsating Jellyfish and fierce Piranha. At the aquariums heart is a spectacular coral reef display housed within a 250,000 litre ocean tank - home to exotic tropical species like black tip reef sharks and Omiros the rescued loggerhead turtle. As well as hundreds of brightly-coloured reef fish and a huge Southern Stingray. Enjoy the sheer beauty of the display by taking a journey through its very own underwater tunnel, as well as through a number of viewing portholes, a floor to ceiling window and even enjoy close encounters from the surface - where Omiros often likes to pop up to say hello! Situated on Towan Promenade in the heart of Newquay, Blue Reef Aquarium not only offers a beach on its doorstep but also an amazing experience, whatever the weather!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but not brilliant value for money...”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I liked this place. It's on similar lines to the Sealife centres, but a bit smaller. It only took about an hour to get around looking at absolutely everything.
It is a really good attraction, it's just I think it's a bit overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 302AndrewM302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    356
    301
    149
    70
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great attraction”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great attraction that is very well kept. Staff are knowledgeable and ready to talk and answer questions.
Quite pricey at £32 for a family of 4 ticket, although it is in a prime location on Newquay front.
Our two boys really enjoyed the experience as did we.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millyvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable -ignore the curmudgeonly reviews!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thre generations of the family went to the aquarium to celebrate 2 year old's birthday - her choice and really enjoyed it - beautifully clean, everything in tiptop condition. Loved the layout - very good use of space - and the nursery was delightful. Admittedly, it could perhaps get a bit too busy in peak season and might be a bit of queuing but we had no problems.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chebsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset. UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it has fish!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Enjoyable to see the fish & other marine life but did expect something slightly bigger, we paid around £40 for a family of 6 (one under 3) and unfortunately it took all of 30 minutes to get round.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Gabriel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I visited in April 2013 with my 9 year old daughter. I could see how other reviewers may feel it isn't good value for money with younger children as there were quite a few speeding round during our visit making it a short activity. However, we were fascinated from the start. There was so much to see in each tank and the information was really well presented so you knew just what you were looking at. We did half the aquarium then went to the cafe for a break (which was overpriced poor quality food from what we could see so just had a drink) then went back in. On the second time the octopus was swimming around. The turtle feed was great and the staff happy to answer any questions.

All in all a great couple of hours if you have children with you that are happy to take their time and read about what they are seeing. This is not an active hands on experience so don't go expecting that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LK858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Reef Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Blue Reef Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing