We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend retreat”
Review of Pendeen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pendeen Hotel
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Pendeen four nights, long weekend break. We had a lovely room, very clean, just the right size, room 6. Had a little trouble shutting the door quietly, as it stuck, hope we did not disturb anyone. Great view! stairs to room a little steep for someone with joint problems, but otherwise could not fault it. Lovely dining room, and table 6 had a view of the bay. Must not forget to mention Charlie, the young lady who served us each morning, good luck with your college course on "Travel and tourism", she was very pleasant and always served us with her lovely smile. The English Breakfast was great, and set us up for the day. How about a bit of colour in the garden though! With benches in front garden, there was a distinct lack of flowers.

Room Tip: Room 6, 7 and 8 have sea views overlooking Porth Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We read about this hotel in our local news paper and thought that we would give it a try. It was a very cheap offer and we did not expect very much when we arrived. But......
What a nice surprise. The hotel is an annex and is quite small in comparison to its sister hotel just up the road. It is fairly basic but it is kept very clean by Nicky and her team. Everyone who works there is very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but adequate, the parking was a bit tight at times but apart from that we had a great stay. The food was well presented and there was plenty of it. Overall a good budget holiday in a lovely location. I would have no hesitation in booking there again. Thank you Nicky and team .

Room Tip: Only one bedroom downstairs which is probably the smallest. Ask to go upstairs if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lordreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

WE have been going to this hotel for about the 4th year now. Its basic and comfortable and right near the beach. Its alot easier to get a small car in the car park as space is tight. Lovely cat and very friendly young staff. Unless you want to spend all day sat in your hotel room, this is an ideal base for surfing , walking and exploring the rest cornwall.
I note therehad been a few negative reviews. Im sure if any probelm is brought to the notice of the staff they will fix it as we have always found them anxious to help.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 back rooms over looking the orchard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avalonadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Very small room, even smaller bathroom. Tired and bit dated. Very strong smell of cat pee on the stairs up to the room. Breakfast was good, nice dining room. It was adequate enough for what we wanted. Cheap and good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sotoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Room 6 - bright and great view over the beach. Bathroom was small but clean and perfectly adequate.
Room clean.
Nice breakfast with plenty of choice.
Good location.
Parking could be a bit tight but always got parked even though the hotel was full.
Friendly and helpful staff.
As the tile suggests we could find nothing to complain about.
(If I was being really picky - remembering the price - It could do with some new carpets and a coat of paint)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCJJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is in a picturesque location, across the road from a lovely beach and walks. the hotel is clean and welcoming, Our room overlooked the beach and was very clean, tea and coffee facilities in room, nice comfy bed. Breakfast was very nice, good choice and excellent service. it is on a main bus route into Newquay 556 bus or if you fancy a stroll it takes approx 15 mins. our stay was cut short due to a family crisis but we enjoyed our short stay at the hotel and would definitly return in the near future.

Room Tip: we had room 4 which overlooks the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leighton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Like the previous reviewer, we booked a 3 nights stay through Travelzoo- this included a 2 course dinner in the first night and entrance to the Eden Project. The room was ok (we stayed in no 10), clean, bathroom clean but a bit tight (have found smilar size bathrooms in other hotels which charged more!) . We had a brilliant sleep, the matress did not feel uncomfortable at all (which is what we expected having read other reviews). This was really good value for money!
Parking was tight but we managed to secure a space each night. However I assume that this may be more problematic during summer holidays when there are usually more visitors. Really nice eggs at breakfast, helpful staff. There was a strong cat smell but only in the reception area and not in our room. Good location, close to beach and Newquay.

Room Tip: room 10 - we have not experienced much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
4.1 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendeen Hotel

Address: 7 Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Newquay
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pendeen Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing