We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel facilities, food and service in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Having checked all the great reviews we wondered if Sands would live up to our expectations but It exceeded them. It's just far enough out of Newquay to enjoy the view of it but miss the bedlam and it's above Watergate Bay which is stunning. The hotel and rooms are very clean and modern. Our contemporary suite had a wonderful sea view. The hotel seems to be run by teenagers or maybe we are just getting old, anyway they were all cheerful and willing to please - what more can you ask? The food is excellent and we looked forward to every meal, 5* food in a 3* hotel and very reasonable drink prices.

The facilities are incredible, everything is there especially for children. Our grandson spent ages on the scaled down football pitch and tennis court. We didn't expect a the maze or the super 9-hole pitch and putt course. And no extras, bats, racquets, clubs, surf gear, everything was inclusive.

Overall an excellent choice for a family with children.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

This is a family Hotel positioned on the cliff side with breathtaking views of the surrounding coast and sunsets. The Hotel is set up to provide maximum convenience to young families with facilities such as baby listening in the evening and buggy loan along with hire of baby back-carriers etc. This does result in a busy atmosphere that might be a little overwhelming for visitors hoping for a quiet retreat although the busiest times (breakfast dinner etc.) are easily avoided. The Hotel also offers a spa, inside and outside swimming pools that are modest in size but clean and well maintained.

Facilities in and around the area are replete and there are many high quality visitor attractions. The headland walks to nearby beaches are also easily accessible and offer stunning views. The adjacent beaches are amongst the best in the UK.

On first look the external aspect of the Hotel is a bit daunting, perhaps reflecting the heritage of the buildings and a rather individual style of decoration, but don't be put off by the appearance. The standard of internal finish is high and the grounds are quite extensive and well kept. Parking was easy.

We found the staff very helpful, friendly and courteous. Baby-listening was invaluable for concerned parents who want to enjoy a “normal” evening. The restaurant and bar facilities are very good! We have returned once already and will do so again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS_Ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed at the Sands a few weeks ago. We were a bit nervous as we usually wouldn't stay in a 3 star resort but the reviews were very positive. We were pleasantly surprised. We had booked a contemporary family suite, which had 2 rooms, both with TVs, kettle, fridge. Bathroom was a bit small but fine, and everything was clean. Nice family friendly touches, like steps for kids to reach the sinks, and nappy disposal bins. The baby listening service was a boon, we preferred to eat without our children after they'd gone to bed. The meals were lovely, and it was definitely worth going for the dinner bed and breakfast option. Drinks were very reasonable, you didn't feel like you were being fleeced at every turn. Kids meal times were a good idea, they could make a mess and shout a lot and you didn't feel bad about it. They even had jars of baby food, which was great.
Facilities were good, the outdoor pool was shut when we were there, but it wasn't that hot anyway. Indoor one was fine, although I can see it being crowded at busy times, especially as there aren't many changing areas. The kids clubs were good and reasonably priced, and there was entertainment for children after their tea. Good play areas too. All in all, would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Had a lovely time - the play areas for children are great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPGFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Been to this hotel half a dozen times over the years - initially with my young children, latterly as 'adults only'. Great location, great staff - but twice now we have arrived on a Friday/Saturday night when there has been a wedding reception taking place, and, quite frankly, the thump thump thumping of the disco music until the early hours is NOT funny - even a TV and/or hairdryer doesn't drown out the noise. This seems terribly bad to me considering that it is mainly families with young children that this hotel is targeting - I don't know what the answer is, short of them building a separate extension for these function nights - but it seems an awful oversight for somewhere that otherwise caters so well for children.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlb664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you are wondering about going away to a hotel with young children and feel it might not be for you, think again, this hotel has everything you could think of and more to make your precious time on holiday an enjoyable and relaxing experience. If you look at the hotels website you will find all the information you require, they are honest about everything, but, I don't think they tell you enough about the excellence of their staff and the quality of their food, rooms etc. Also, as has been stated before, there really is no need to worry about the children 'letting you down', as the restaurant is designed to keep the little ones and their anxious parents away from the 'grown ups'. We have stayed in top quality hotels in a number of different locations, the only difference. as far as I can see, is the use of free slippers, expensive soaps etc. and towelling robes. As the slippers and the robes are not always a perfect fit, really The Sands offers a much better opportunity for value for money. I doubt anyone would want to go self-catering again once they have plucked up the courage to use this hotel. Oh, I nearly forgot, the best bit is they do not accept pets, a real bonus as we have allergic and asthmatic members of the family, it is amazing how the majority of places are 'pet friendly' and are therefore totally off limits for us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK0AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Purpose built family suites, baby listening while we ate wonderful 3-course evening meals, a great kids club, kids meals at tea time, free buggy hire, free wetsuit hire, plenty of buckets, spades, fishing nets, body boards, tennis racquets, golf clubs etc to borrow - I can't say enough about this place. The staff made it truly stand out, though - they were so friendly and helpful and it made such a difference. All for an excellent price too. We will be going again.....

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrsica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $95 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing