We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sands Resort hits the right note”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2009

My second visit to Sands was just as good as the 1st, staff are very proffessional and genuinely caring.Loved the contemporary sea facing room and the great childrens entertainment/ activities allowed my wife and I to spend quality time together eating the fine food on offer. Definately will return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthLondonDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights (off peak) and my 2 year old son loved it which helped us to relax. The service from the staff was excellent and the facilities were great. My son loved the creche, pool, maze and outside play areas. The food was good too. Also our room was brilliant.
Sands is well located for Padstow and the beaches in Newquay.
Our visit happened to coincide with a large group of foreign tourists which worked well in our favour as the facilities were shared between a few families!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNMW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We have just returned from Sands, having stayed 4 nights during October half term, Myself, 65byear old dad and 5 year old daughter.

Plus sides: spacious clean room, outside pool view so quiet, lovely indoor pool which my daughter loved, and couldn't wait to get into, copious and good quality breakfast, friendly and helpful reception staff. Daughter also enjoyed the kids disco, and Dad sais music quiz was good.

Slightly less positive elements: we had dinner in restaurant on the first night for ease: £20 for poor standard 3 course meal, with only two choices for children, unappetising chicken pie or vegetable fish cakes. We didn't use the kids club, wanting to spend my holiday with my child, not without her, although lots of people did and the kids seemed to enjoy the activities. My daughter joined in what was advertised as a fancy dress party for Halloween, but which turned out to be one of the children's enterrtainers trying to be a strange cross between a TV presenter and a teacher, interviewing 30 kids on their outfits, and expecting all the others to sit quietly and listen, when all they wanted was to know who had won the price, and have a dance. All in all a painful and boring hour for adults and children alike - give it a miss!!

If you go B&B we would recommend the mermaid Inn on Porth beach for friendly atmosphere and good pub grub, with a great kids menu and activity pack which seemed to be different every day, and kept my daughter amused for ages. The BP garage on main road out of Newquay also has a great little sandwich shop attached to it, which we used each day for packed lunches when going out and about.

Overall we had a good stay, and would return when the weather is warmer, but would try to book in advance for a cheaper deal (paid £600 for 4 nights for 2 adults one child B and B) and would avoid half board!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hve79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We booked a 5 night stay here during the Oct half-term and I have to say that I have mixed feelings in writing a review. On the plus side, my two 8 year olds thoroughly enjoyed the evening activities run for the 8-12 year age group and Jane the lady supervising them couldn't have been more pleasant. We also found it helpful being able to borrow wetsuits and boards from the hotel - that worked well and no problem there.
However, that really is the extent of the positives I could relay about Sands. For years I have received emails from them extolling themselves as a high quality family hotel and this year, not being able to face an airport, we thought we would give them a try. Bearing in mind that we booked about 3 weeks in advance, it is important to say that this was no bargain break - so my expectations were I believe that things would be of a reasonable standard.
To take the accommodation first. We had a second floor contemporary suite - good sea view and nicely finished in the main room, albeit a good deal of noise from the road. However, the bathroom is miniscule and the childrens' bedroom is of poorer quality than that which my daughter had at a Brownie camp at a PGL centre. There was a small tv in this room but it appeared to have intermittent faults and channels fell out of tuning with great frequency - and YES, we did report this as a fault whilst we were there but it couldn't be rectified apparently. However, most disturbing were the enormous blue sparks that flew out when an attempt was made to switch the heating on. Again, this was reported to reception but we never actually found out whether the heating was safe to use or not.

Finally and most critically, the food is an absolute disgrace at the hotel. To take breakfast - it bears closest resemblance to a canteen. Bread for toast is laid out the night before and it that is used up, you will get what we had on a couple of mornings, bread straight from the freezer. Croissants have the texture of food that immediately crumbles away to nothing. Yogurts are of the cheapest variety and apart from a bowl of fruit salad there is little in the way of fruit. When I asked if there was something cooked available for vegetarians, I was directed to a vat of tinned tomatoes. Jams such as they are come in tiny plastic cartons. In essence this is an extraordinarily poor representation of what a decent hotel breakfast should be.

The childrens tea is just woeful. When we have stayed in establishments in this country that similarly brand themselves as family friendly, our experience has been that an effort is made to make the children feel special and that tea is something to look forward to. My girls just gave up in the end and we took them to eat elsewhere. The food was unappetising, little choice - pudding was something hot or a continuously repeated bowl of chopped apple and orange segments. No bread and butter, no jelly. Just once again, something that gave you the sense that no real thought or care had been put into making this an experience for children - instead it seemed as if cheap and not particularly cheerful was the order of the day.

Dinner in the dining room had little to recommend - indeed if you are vegetarian I would just say avoid this place at all costs - it is hard to make a bowl of pasta taste unpleasant but Sands managed it! My meat eating husband was similarly unimpressed by the uniformly cheap cuts of meat that appeared on the menu each night.

So all in all, this was a hugely disappointing stay - not one we would repeat or recommend. To add that we did raise concerns throughout with the hotel but no one seemed much interested.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xxzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We experienced amazing personal service both in planning and throughout our time at Sands Hotel. The Staff did everything conceivable to make our stay a happy and memorable one. Our family, including seven grandchildren of varying ages, enjoyed every moment of the holiday. The children loved the Ozone Club, they loved the fiendly staff , the swimming pools, table tennis, tennis court, pitch and put and football pitch. Fantastic facilities for all the family!

The bedrooms we had were all spacious, very clean, well designed and extremely comfortable. The food was excellent. We can't wait for an opportunity to return!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

If you've got young kids, go to Sands Resort Hotel, because everyone there is so friendly and accommodating. It's specifically marketed at families with young kids and has so much on offer. We were amazed by how many facilities and play areas were available to hotel guests, including football, 2 pools, croquet, mini golf, a wooden pirate ship and sand pit, a gym, and for mums there's the Ocean Spa for a spot of pampering. Sands has an outdoor cafe, if you want a snack or lunch, and a restaurant (the food is absolutely delicious and so fresh), and adult only lounges, as well as childcare clubs for babies to teenagers. The staff were so helpful and accommodating - especially important when you travel with small children. And to top it off, it's in a great location, perched on the cliffs overlooking the stunning Cornish coast. Rooms were perfect, too, with a much appreciated Playstation for rainy days. Go, because even on cold or rainy days, there's enough to do in the hotel to keep you busy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrowBonanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

A previous reviewer said that if you can get over the 70's architecture then this is a wonderful place. Well i would agree. This is a great family firendly hotel close too all the action in North Cornwall. The staff were extremely pleasnt and super helpful and the kids have come back wanting to go again, testament to a good holiday. My wife and i got to relax and thats why we went. Like all places there are a few niggles but overall they did a great job. Well done guys.

We stayed in the newly updated area and found that it accomadated the five of us no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $97 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing