We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

What a wonderful hotel, we took our son and mother so three generations!!! A lot of ages to keep happy but The sands certainly succeeded. Immaculate, friendly, well run and perfect for the under 10s. We were surprised at the quality of food as this hotel is rated only3stars, it was lovely and certainly having three separate dining areas for different ages/needs was a bonus .... Our son is 7 and we were pleased we didn't have to eat meals with the babies! I wrongly assumed dinner times would be buffet but instead a high quality 3courses served by happy staff. We opted for 2bedrooms and a lounge as our accommodation which came with 2bathrooms and a sea view, the rooms were not spacious but perfectly equipped , modern and clean. Overall we were impressed by this hotel and would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Call the very helpful reception, we spoke to many people enjoying the hotel and the rooms vary a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    175
    56
    20
    5
See reviews for
673
78
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Went here with so much hope and to a degree was left a tiny bit disappointed! When the holiday was booked a request was made for our rooms to be close to our inlaws unfortunately this wasn't passed on and we ended up at opposite ends of the hotel! This was dealt with by the staff although rooms were still apart! Although we cannot fault the quality of the food the menu was a little restrictive and on at least two nights we couldn't find anything to our pallets. The quality of the staff was a little hit or miss too, and have to admit saw lots of glum faces!
On a positive note, the facilities for children were top notch and those I can't fault, with free wet suit and bodyboard hire, mini golf, pitch and putt, play areas galore and kids clubs too. Trust me the children will not be board! Try the swimming pool it's worth the visit with child friendly areas.
In the main there are issues here but to be honest it wouldn't take much to make this a grand resort.!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wilkins1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We returned to Sands this year and were not disappointed . As previous reviews state this hotel is perfect for families. Our children are 6 and 2 and both were quite happy - given the gorgeous weather - to spend time playing in the hotel's play areas and the outdoor pools. Which made the holiday great value for money. Porth beach was also a firm favourite for seaside fun - and beach equipment and wet suits are all freely available to borrow from the hotel.
What this hotel does well is really ensures that everyone on the holiday has a great time. The choice of things to do within the hotel is really good as never seems too busy. Plus it's quite possible to have an adult-only dinner and not feel at all guilty since the kids are so well catered for at kids' high tea and with great evening childcare. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and we were delighted that both children begged to go to the evening kids' clubs! Again, staffing is everything and the girls looking after our two were brilliant!
The food was excellent and the kitchen (God bless them) happily prepared me something special every night as I was on a restricted diet. And how gutted was I as cheesecake, crumble and chocolate cake were carried past me as I stuck to fruit! We certainly found the food choice had something for everyone.
We opted for a Contemporary Suite so kids and adults had their own space and the rooms were spotless.
There is little to find fault with here given you would spend a lot more to go abroad, eat less good food and have to share a room with the kids!
We are hoping to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glad2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Myself, husband and 2 year old son stayed here for a 4 night break Tuesday to Saturday. The staff were amazing from the word go, showing us round, answering questions about things to do in the local area etc. Our son has a bear that he never lets go of and it fell under the buggy (that was hired to us free) while he was sleeping. We asked the staff if they could wash him, they had bear washed, tumble dried and delivered to our room ready for bed time! The restaurant staff were just as amazing accomodating our tired toddler, we found the early dinner worked best for us, then watching the childrens entertainment until adult dining, which was cute. The indoor pool was perfect and having a soft play and general play zone is amazing. Overall the stay was brilliant and we would advise any young families to stay and will be back ourselves too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
467 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Having stayed last year with two of our grandchildren we returned this year with another who is almost 2 years old. The hotel is a haven for children with lots for them to do inside and out. The staff can’t do enough to make your stay a good one but the thing that sets the hotel apart is the restaurant. Having fed the youngsters with afternoon tea the adults can relax and enjoy their dinner whilst the hotel staff “babysit”. The food is exceptional and even better than last year.
This place will take some beating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in peak season (the weekend of Boardfest) with our 2 kids aged 6 & 3. Without doubt, this is the best family hotel we've stayed in. A key feature for us was the room layout; most of the rooms have a separate sleeping area for the kids. Bliss! Plans of room layouts can be viewed online, which is really handy. Also the free baby listening service was amazing. Our children loved the kids's clubs, which again gave the grown ups quality time. The hotel is obviously geared towards youngish kids and nothing has been overlooked. Even when it's fully booked, the hotel never feels busy. There were never queues and we were able to book activities at short notice. Prices in the bar are really reasonable and most on-sight facilities are free, so there are no hidden charges. In fact, you could quite easily never leave the hotel whilst spending very little money. There's so much for young kids to do. The dining system worked great for us. Kids teas are served from 4:45pm and are buffet style. There was always plenty of choice, including fruit and veg. Then we packed our kids off to kids' club or used the baby listening service and enjoyed dinner in the adults only dining room. As anyone with young kids will know, the usual let down of a family friendly hotel is the food, but this isn't the case at Sands...I would say it's fine(ish!) dining meets school canteen efficiency. This is perfect for families. I have high standards when it comes to dining and used to work in the industry. Even I was impressed! Lastly, the best bit about the hotel were the staff; without exception, they were friendly, polite, helpful and seemed to genuinely enjoy their job. They could not do enough for you, especially the guys at reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nilequeen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

With so much for the kids to do, and such effort put in to looking after them, the grown ups can actually feel like they are on holiday. It was a challenge to get them out of kids' club, they enjoyed it so much, while the food in the adults' dining room in the evening was consistently great - best of both worlds.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJV2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
11.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing