We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just perfect for a holiday with small children. We first experienced Sands for a week in May '13 following a recommendation from a friend, returned in September because it was so good. Following our May holiday, our 3 year old, totally unprompted, thanked me for taking him there and asked when we could go back.
The hotel has so many plus points that I can't list them all, but highlights for us are: the soft play room; the numerous indoor and outdoor play areas; the pool; beach kit available to borrow; location - easy access to beaches and attractions; exceptionally friendly and helpful staff; food quality and choice; kids club (some free time for mummy and daddy!!); seaview from rooms and, last but definitely not least, the listening service that enabled us to enjoy an excellent dinner as a couple every night, watching the sunset.
Highly recommended for families with small children. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    178
    57
    20
    5
See reviews for
682
82
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a lovely week at the hotel early September with our 2yr old. Really loved the facilities for both kids & adults. Great location for exploring Cornwall. Booked half board thinking we could always look elsewhere for evening meal if not very appealing, but the food was so delicious that we ate in every night whilst using the convenient baby listening service. Loved the kids high tea, and not once felt that children were not welcome. This is a family hotel and wonderful at that. Can't wait to come again in 2013 with our new baby. Only recommendations would be to serve dinner until slightly later in the evening, would be nice to offer cook to order adult breakfasts as option, and could have been a slightly more comfortable bed, but only minor points / suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the location which suited us. We only had one night and were offered an up-grade to a sea view suite which we thought was good value and we also booked the evening meal which was very good value if booked in advance, it was £13 each for 3 courses and the food was very good. The dining room was adults only and had a lovely view. We were a couple and as it was out of school holidays we thought it was fine but I would say this hotel is entirely focused on families with children. The room was very large, clean and comfortable although the tv was the smallest I have ever seen given the size of the room. The bathroom was functional. Nothing was very luxurious and had obviously been designed with kids in mind. There was a fridge which was useful and a very large shelving area between the two bedrooms which was very handy. There some confusion when we checked in which was sorted out but I did not think the young lady was very professional. All the staff were young and very pleasant. The breakfast was buffet which was good and again we used the restaurant for adults only. There was a large car park. I would say this hotel is great for families which is their main market. I would stay there again but would not go in school holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our party ages were 4, 6, 36, 40, 72, and 75. All of us had an excellent time at this deligtful familly run hotel. Breakfast was a very good buffet. The evening meall has varrius times so that all could enjoy the evening. We ate as a familly at 7.30 but by 8 parents who had put their young children to bed with a listening service were coming down to eat away from children in another part of the restaurant.
The grounds have many facilities for children. A maze, zip wire, swings,crazy golf and much more.
For older folk there is a very good 9 hole pitch and putt.
The out door swimming pool is closed at the end of September but the indoor pool is a good size.
There is a pool table, air hockey and bar football plus a couple of video machines those these all have to be paid for.
Considering it was end of the season the rooms were in very good condition.
It position, on the cliffs, about half a mile from Newquay.
Ideal spot for a familly holliday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic week at the Sands, & missing it already!

This was the first holiday since having our kids (aged 2 & nearly 4) that felt relaxing! The meal times are set up so that there is a choice of eating in kiddie chaos, safe in the knowledge that your kids won't be the only ones making a racket, or having some adult-only time in a civilised setting later on, with the help of the baby listening service and/or kids club.

Our kids loved the kids club, pool, soft play, bouncy castle & the outdoor play area, and we loved the spa, free wetsuit & body board hire, & the 3-course meals each night.

I agree with some of the reviews that they don't always get the food right (more dressings and much less onion on the salads would be a good start!), but it was generally a pretty decent standard, particularly for the price.

It's also in a good location near some superb beaches & lots of family-friendly days out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We picked this hotel for a short family break strictly based on the glowing Tripadvisor reviews and felt it didn't quite deliver.

We stayed 3 nights at Sands and and our initial impressions were the hotel lacked wow factor and made no statement but functioned in the manor it was designed to - purely family holidays. The hotel does a great job on providing an easy life for parents with plenty to do for young children. The staff were great and always very helpful. The food was ok, my wife didn't eat one of her main courses one evening we didn't say anything as the staff obviously care and didn't want to create any fuss. Not what I'd describe as a genuine restaurant experience.

Our room was ok decent enough space, view was a bit of a let down due to the busy road and compared to some we've had in Cornwall before. Bed was very soft and poor drying facilities for wet towels. A glass shower door made it difficult to bath our 2 girls, 7 months & 3. Sheet in the cot was poor and ruffled up straight away, a potential hazard. Baby listening service worked well.

On booking over the phone and discussing the hotel layout I chose to be on the ground floor(?) so we could access our room with a double buggy because there is no lift. However the person on the phone that took the booking didn't seem interested and failed to mention there is no ground floor and the sea view rooms can only only be accessed by stairs. After working this out on arrival I asked if we could go be moved to the top floor but by this point all those rooms had been taken - irritating!

It was a bit of a slog getting in & out with 2 young children and the clobber they need with all the fire doors along the corridors and no access for a buggy.

Spa was very busy due to local demand so book in advance if you wish to take advantage. The treatments we had were good.

Sands do try hard to create a great family holiday experience but it somehow doesn't quite live up to expectations. We were disappointed on arrival but could see positives through out our stay but not enough to bring us back. We did discover Watergate Bay Hotel which I think would suit our needs better. We had 2 fantastic lunches there in a stunning location with views to match!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Never thought it would be possible to have a relaxing holiday with two small children - this hotel has thought of everything to make it an easy, relaxing holiday for families. Lots of fun things to keep the sprogs occupied, fantastic facilities, rooms are spacious, modern and comfy, staff are unbelivably helpful, kids club was fab and the listening service - well to get to have a grown ups only dinner - what a treat!! The food was fab as well - and there was room service for when we didnt feel like living the little ones. Definately going next year!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing