We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed with our 4yrs old & 1 yrs old in a pool suite. Good spacious functional room with a sleeping area for children separated by a short corridor to our sleeping area. Hotel decor and interior did make me think it was a bit 'youth hostel' or University halls of residence. Also the quality of the beds, mattresses, bed linen etc was quite poor which did affect our sleep. As did another family staying along the same corridor who had a total lack of thought or regard for other people's babies/ children who may be asleep.
Regardless of all that we still had a nice time. Top of the list were all the facilities for our children to use: indoor pool, outdoor pool (above ground - bit odd looking), soft play, playground, Maze, Zip wire, Tennis, etc etc the list goes on ... We were able to borrow for free anything for the beach like wet suits, wind breaks, buckets and spades etc which was brilliant. I strongly suggest body boarding at Watergate Bay - 3 mins drive away. Best thing for parents is you get to eat a 3 course meal every night in peace & quiet! We used the baby listening service for our baby and the kids club for our 4 yrs old. Amazing!
Had a couple of nice treatments too.
Would we stay again? Probably not. But only because we like to have the luxury surroundings & feel to a holiday. Which of course i know we'lll have to pay extra for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greentree-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in August 2013 with 6yr old and 3yr old. Had a great time, and really if this hotel does not meet your requirements for a family-friendly holiday in the UK then nothing will!

Staff were universally friendly and helpful. You could not ask for more. With young kids we want to stay somewhere where our kids can have some "down time" and we don't want looks from waiters/waitresses when they kick off at mealtimes because the kids are knackered and hungry, we just want you to turn a blind eye and carry on please. Thank you for your understanding, and I hope that we did not put all your staff off having their own kids in the future! Most kids are well behaved. You will be disappointed if you arrive here expecting a kid-free holiday, but then you should have done your research first!

This really is a top class hotel and we hope to return.

5 minutes walk to a nearby beach which has steep steps and no lifeguard, interesting rock pools and a good beach.

10 minutes walk to Porth beach which is fantastic for kids. Dogs are banned from this beach thankfully. My tip for your stay- you can drive to Porth beach with all your beach stuff and park right on the beach! Also the hotel will provide you with a packed lunch if you ask at the outside restaurant.

Thank you everyone at Sands.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being near the main road- not noisy enough to cause any bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently spent a week at Sands resort with my husband and 3 kids. I couldn't fault a thing and the kids said it was their best holiday they'd ever had! There was so much to keep them occupied that my husband and I were able to have a rest, sit back and relax for a week! We'll definately be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_-3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel as a business traveller on three previous times. Each time the room has become increasing worse. This one room 69 is the worse I've experienced in 20 years of travel.

It's tiny. See pictures. The bed is too small and in only 5'10". The noise from the main door and the constant footfall up the stairs hits every tired bone in my body.

I won't be staying here tomorrow. Shocking that they would put anyone in this room let alone a regular customer.

Eg The kettle cannot be filled from the sink as its too small. There is no iron in the room.

If you are a business traveller/group find another hotel esp in peak times. It's chaos.

If you are a family. Check you room first. They let you kids run riot they will love it here....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsResort, Manager at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.

You are quite right, we are not a businessman's hotel, (indeed in a previous e-mail to you in July we did say to you "we are not a businessman's hotel, we do have a lot of families here"). Having stayed with us 3 times already this year we would have hoped the family nature of the hotel to be apparent.

In peak school holidays when every room is let to families on their summer holidays it can be a lively place. The reason most families like us is because their children can run around having fun.

With regard to the room, when you booked it a few days ago we told you it was the only room available. When you have stayed previosly we have given you as big a room as we had available, this week this was the only room available. In our confirmation we ask you to look at the room on our website where their are photos and room plans to make sure you know what you are booking. The description for this room is "Small single room with bath room. Ideal for those on a budget or as an additional room for a teenager." The pictures show a small room. Had we another room available we would have offered it to you.

The bed which I have just measured is 6' 3" x 3' though I can see that as it is a small room it may look smaller.

We try to be as honest as we can about our hotel and its rooms and I'm sorry we failed to make everything clear on this occasion. I have accordingly refunded, in full, all your room charges to your account.

Had you come to reception we would certainly have understood you disappointment and booked you into another hotel.

Regards
Nicholas Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are a family with a 4yr old and a 6yr old. We have taken a holiday here at the beginning of the summer for the last three years, because we find it can't be beaten for a 'stress free' family holiday in the UK.
The children love it here and because of the layout, it never feels crowded.
The location close to the beach is fabulous, but the staff are also a highlight of the hotel. They are always smiling and genuinely helpful and caring. The food is a decent standard for the children and the adults - and we are a family who eats out at good restaurants a lot. You have to be reasonable about the number of guests they are catering for, and the standard is more than okay. Portion sizes were just about right this year, too. I have read a previous review about breakfast being in a 'small corner' and have no idea what the reviewer is talking about.
The best thing is the 'children's tea' and the use of very secure childcare clubs, so parents can have dinner alone for a change.
The grounds have plenty of things to do: a maze, two playgrounds, mini-golf, pool, croquet etc. They are well maintained and always being worked upon by gardeners.
If you book a big enough room, you will not be disappointed with the size. We like the contemporary suites, and the adult bed is the largest I have ever seen.
The only mild drawbacks I would state would be that the balconies (non-accessible) need to be cleaned - I agree that there was an unacceptable level of detritus there, as one reviewer had stated, and detracted from the otherwise stunning view of the sea. The second is that the entertainment needs to be varied from year to year. We are seeing the same - albeit great - acts over and over again to the point the children could remember what magic tricks were going to happen. All the same, they really enjoyed another great year, and we couldn't have had a better holiday. Thank you so much - you clearly understand what families need! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Read up on the different options - there are generous suites or standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 3 weeks at this wonderful, family friendly hotel last summer and ever since then, all our children (girl 5, boy 3) kept saying was "when can we return to the orange hotel". To be honest, it was all my husband and I kept saying as well. It has an official rating of 3 stars but should be 3.5. However, for the childrens facilities it is definitely worth 5 stars in our opinion. The staff are wonderful and everything is aimed at keeping the children safe and amused, which as every parent knows is all important if they are to enjoy the holiday as well. There is entertainment each evening at 5.45 for about an hour after childrens high tea, our children particularly liked the dancing and games evening held by the kids clubs girls. This year we made the most of the evening kids club so we could enjoy an adult only dinner each night. Special thanks to Cait, Gemma, Leanne, Katie, Jade and Theresa. Our children loved them and our little boy would often be curled up in a chair having a cuddle with one of the them when we went to collect at 9.15 each evening. The swimming pools are lovely, outside one especially nice when the weather is really hot. Both could only be improved by having life guards on duty. We chose to stay in a Contempary family sea view room (29) which had a wonderfully comfortable queen size bed and separate bedroom for the children. Lovely and spacious with a (slightly obscured) view of the sea. (Last year stayed in a Comfort Pool Suite and found the standard double bed too small and very soft.) A lovely team of girls come in to clean and make the beds every day. The buffet breakfast is lovely with lots of choice including cooked food, cereals, juice, toast, pastries, yoghurts and fruit. Dinner is just as good, 3 courses, although as a vegetarian I would have liked a choice each evening instead of just one option, having said that, if you check the menu and speak to the chef early in the day they will try and offer you an alternative. Favourite desert: banoffee pie, closely followed by the cheesecake with its daily accompaniment. Hubbys favourite: the crème brulee. We left this hotel feeling we had really had a holiday. We have already booked next years 2 week holiday. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleCaviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a very pleasant family resort catering for guests of all ages. Stayed with my mother (aged 90) who is a wheelchair user. Very pleasant stat with excellent food and very kind and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms good for families with children as well as a specially designed room for disabled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 433KateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $97 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing