We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girly weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Girly weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the second year I have gone to the Sands for a get together with my friend. The rooms are great, nice a large with a great view of the coast. Lovely evening meal on both nights, like the adult only restaurant. Spa treatments were great, friendly therapists and lovely rooms. This is a family hotel so don't come expecting no children and peace and quiet. But this doesn't mean a couple can't have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah310167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    178
    57
    20
    5
See reviews for
683
82
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is covering with two free wifi's. these cover the main reception area and some of the Suite bedrooms. Some bedrooms have hardwired connections thou I think there is a small daily charge for this.

The wifi was giving best (16Mb down/10Mb up) average more like (6Mb down/4Mb up). Except for one afternoon/evening the service was always available with 10-15 devices on the network. Mostly iPhones, blackberries, iPads and MacBooks.

The wifi is just about reachable from the rear gardens where the outdoor activities/outdoor pool are located.

The wifi is free and is not password protected or secure. Great but follow good security practice and use SSL or VPN for secure connections.

As for 3G. A Three Mifi dongle could pick up a HSPA 5bar signal from the front facing bedroom.

There is a PC in reception but is expensive. A few pounds for 15minutes usage.

Overall. 9/10 for Internet service. Only losing 1 point for the lost of service that afternoon. One of the best connected hotels I've been too in a while and FREE!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Sands Resort. There were children's activities and kids clubs throughout the day, which included a clown coming in, a circus skills evening, a disco, and hobby clubs, such as a pottery painting event, t-shirt making and more. There were lots of on-site activities too- a small zip wire, a adventure playground, a maze, a mini tennis court, a indoor pool, a very well kept outdoor pool, a tennis court, a playground, and a mini golf course. Sands resort also has a spa and very nice food- a buffet breakfast, and I tried the children's beef Cornish pasty- it was the best Cornish past I had eaten in a long time!! The rooms were also very nice. We had a 3 roomed suite- two bedrooms and a lounge. Each of the rooms had a tv and the lounge had a DVD player and a Playstation.
It was a brilliant week and I would happily return, especially in the warm weather in the summer!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you have little people this is an absolute must. We have been twice in term time with our little boy. The food is great, baby listening service is great. And the staff are very helpful. The pool is good and play areas. The rooms are of a high standard. It offers excellent value for money. Don't overlook Porth beach, the nearest one as it is ace. If it rains go down to the national maritime museum in Falmouth, outstanding! We spent 3 hours there with our son!!!!

Room Tip: 80 to 85 comfort suites are close to the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at Sands for a weekend break with friends. Breakfast was wholesome and the evening meals enjoyable in relaxing surrounding. Free WiFi with excellent coverage was another bonus to the otherwise clean and friendly resort.

Room Tip: Check the Spa availability before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at The Sands Hotel last weekend and were really very happy with the service that we received. Our room was cleaned to an exceptional standard, all of the staff were very friendly and professional. The meals in the restaurant were also of a very high standard. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB000000000000000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Last Saturday I attended Sands Resort as part of a group for a Spa day organised as a hen party. I can't recommend the Resort enough! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty - nothing was too much trouble.
We were plesantly surprised that we had a private room for us - which was absolutely perfect and beautifully decorated along with the rest of the hotel. Great to have somewhere to relax and leave your stuff when you are having ypur treatments or in the pool. The treatments were amazing - I had the shoulder, back and neck massage and it was incredibly relaxing.
The pool is lovely and very spacious - plus we spent plenty of time in the sauna!
Lunch was amazing - really tasty food at great prices. Perfect for everyone to choose what they liked - whether it was something more filling like a burger or one of their gorgeous paninis.
However, the thing I want to rave about most was the staff. From the moment they welcomed us to the hotel, they made us feel completely at home. Even the care they took at serving us lunch made us feel like VIPs! If you are thiking of havin a spa day in Cornwall, I thoroughly recommend Sands Resort. I certainly will be back very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing