We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Newquay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Ranked #78 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place to stay in Newquay!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I felt very welcome from the moment I walked into Belushi’s. I was in Newquay to learn to surf at the adjoining school. I stayed in a 10 bed, female dorm. Our view of the beach was gorgeous. The lively bar downstairs had different themes each night with good food and drink offers. The rooms were clean, breakfast was simple - cereals, toast and tea and coffee but good enough to set up your day. I will definitely be going back to Belushi’s on my next visit to Newquay! Thanks Jules and the team! Nina

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    11
    15
    11
See reviews for
2
25
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great spot! Close to the beach and the shops. We were a big group but the desk team talking to use like we are 6 was not a good start. The next day we had an early start. When we went to ask about breakfast we were abused by the (still drunk) bar manager. The bar staff were apologetic but couldn't do anything. Poor planning from our tour guides but St Chrisopher's could have capitalised on it but missed the opportunity. All in all a solid hostel but we left with a sour taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_kiwi_ladyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for a night during my recent hiking of the English coast. I stumbled in late in the evening to be greated by a friendly girl who checked me in and helped me to my room with the bags.

The beds were comfy although the showers could use a bit of a renovation. Security was also right on it when a couple of loud partygoers in my dorm decided to cause a commotion at 2am. They were extremely apologetic about this the next day and went out of their way to ensure that I was ok and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sscso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

All the Staff were all freindly and helpful and i thought that it can be a tough job in newquay so hats off to that! However the room was basic and the bathroom facilities too. Im used to staying in hostels as well as good hotels so i wasnt too offended at these things. The hostel had no kitchen or common room . The hostel DID have a good discounted bar with good food that was open all day and eve .It has a few parking spaces which is rare. The garden looked tired however the veiws are some of the best in Newquay.

Room Tip: All i know is the 6 Bed dorm has no sea veiw and its bathroom is poor. it did have hot water thou. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bram182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend for my friends stag do. The rooms are very basic & small. The bathroom flooded every time one of us had a shower & they smelt very damp due to no window or fans. The breakfast weren't 2 bad & I was expecting a lot worse after reading the other reviews. The breakfast consisted of tea,coffee,toast & cereal which was ok but if you wanted a fry up you would have to pay £7.95. The staff were ok & the view of the sea from our room was amazing. Overall our stay was ok & it was value for money but I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

You can check the surf out as you enjoy your included cereal breakfast in the bar. I've stayed there a twice.

It's ideal for those who are there with friends to just surf all day and get drunk in the evenings. Which is why we were there. They had 2 for 1 on food in January as well. The food in the bar below is probably the best and best priced on the whole of the West Coast and they have the silverware to back it up behind the bar. A major plus for us given the appetite you work up spending hours each day in ice cold water.

I can see where the other reviews are coming from in terms of cleanliness, but my experience wasn't as bad. And we were after a place that you could leave wet salty footprint through, not a hotel. They were polite and gave us a decent discount because we were a large group as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the TOP FLOOR, away from the noise of the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I can't Imagine that prison is any worse than this place. The rooms are sparse and rickety with paint peeling off the walls. The bathrooms (which contain the only toilets) are wet, dirty and have nowhere to hang your relatively very clean things. It should have been redecorated 20 years ago. So it has a certain ironic charm at least.

This would be ok if it was cheap, but at £31 per night per person, despite the central location, a 4 bed bunk seems very expensive.

Unless you plan to be drunk during your entire stay then this will be an unpleasant visit...the 10am checkout will test the patience of the most committed drinkers.

If you can stay elsewhere, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Newquay

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Address: 35 Fore Street, Newquay TR7 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Newquay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find St Christopher's Inn, Newquay perched on a cliff top, overlooking the beautiful Towan Beach. This stunning location on the southern tip of England is the perfect mix of sun, sand and sea. You'll also find the Escape Surf School in the same building - making this hostel in Newquay the perfect place to slip into a wetsuit and hit the waves. After a day of working out in the water, the on-site Belushi's bar and restaurant is the top spot to recharge and make new friends, as you enjoy the outdoor sun deck, summer BBQs, and all round good times. This backpacker base in Newquay doesn't just connect you to one beach - it's actually close to eleven sandy shores, making it the perfect place to stay when the Zapcat King of the Waves speedboat competitions roar into the area and smash across the sea. Another annual highlight in the area is the Rip Curl Boardmasters Festival when, for a whole week, you can hit the beach for surf, skate, BMX and bikini competitions galore - not to mention the best live music in Europe. If you follow the shores beyond the beach you'll find the ruins of Tintagel Castle - the legendary home of Merlin the Magician, Uther Pendragon, King Arthur and the one and only Knights of the Round Table. Another international tourism treasure in Cornwall has to be the nearby Eden Project - Britain's very first, self-contained biosphere and the cutting edge of all things environmental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing